We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second visit to hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Visited hotel as a family 3 years ago before refurbishment, has it changed for the better no, unfortunately. Had a premium room on 3rd floor, always cleaned to a high standard.

The best thing about this hotel is that its so close to the beach and local shops and bars.

Not happy with the food, breakfast was the best meal, fresh omlettes and fried eggs.

Evening meal selection not good, on 10th August there was the option of turkey skewers my husband had one cut into it and found the meat not cooked just looked raw, another couple had already complained about it. This is really unacceptable for a four star hotel. Ithink the hotel is trying too hard with food choices, the food looks too fancy.

Went to see Pirates show while we there, really good and worth the money.

Would we stay at the hotel again, unfortunately no, this being down to the food.

stayed between 1/8 and 12/8

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are best but alot more expensive
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahhN8135EN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,282)
There are newer reviews for Zafiro Rey don Jaime
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 2,282 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Joined trip advisor purely to write this review, as I base a lot of my holiday bookings from trip advisor reviews and really feel the need to comment.

I have stayed in many 4 star hotels in my years of holidaying/travelling. The prices one can expect to pay to stay here are ridiculous when you compare it with what you can get in other parts of Europe. And it is by no means an equal comparison - this hotel simply does not hold up against its counterpart 4 star hotels.
In terms of decoration, rooms, pool etc it is simply not up to scratch and does not compare. Big shoutout to the photographer for creating a fantastic selection of deceiving images for advertising purposes.

Check in was swift, albeit from a receptionist who struggled to force a smile. Main entrance to hotel is lovely but unfortunately creates false illusions of grandeur. The moment we walked up the stairs (adorned with light fittings full of dead flies) we knew we were going to be disappointed. Corridors outdated, plastic numbers outside doors, often litter and mess on floor. Rooms are clean (on the whole) but very small - little to no storage space. Bathrooms basic but ok. Lovely view from balcony - not. Toilets downstairs in reception often quite messy, generally you get the feeling that the fittings and decoration throughout are old and in need of a replacement.

Food is fine, plenty to pick from. Long queues for bar at night but that can't be helped when there is so many people; seems like hotel is over populated. Battle to get sunbeds and when you do get one you're sat on the knee of the person next to you.

The rooftop pool is the one redeeming feature of this place, really is lovely and makes you feel like you're somewhere else. Just a shame when you have to climb back in to the minuscule lift to head back to the room you've been overcharged for.

When I'm paying for a premium double room, I expect a premium double room. Have stayed in far nicer rooms for far less/same amount of money. I know it's not all about the room but can't help but feel exceptionally ripped off. Yes, I travelled in peak season to a popular resort but have done exactly the same in previous years and never felt this disappointed. The hotel has a lot of work to do if they really want to compete with the better hotels out there and advertise themselves as a 4 star, and until they do I won't be back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank LindsayR1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

The hotel was good. The room is big enough for 2 pers. and are good cleaned daily. The cons about the rooms is that is a bit noisy, you can hear the neighbours and if the neighbours have their AC on and you dont, you hear a little zoom. The food and drinks are good. Much choice. The entertainment is great. For kids their is a lot to do. Every morning aqua gym. We had a great vacation and recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mtete2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed here in August 2017 with my partner for 7 nights, all inclusive in the 'Premium Double' room.

Check in was quick so we went straight into one of the tiny 30 odd year old lifts which just managed to squeeze the two of us with our cases in. The corridors to the rooms are out dated, with plastic room numbers, wooden door frames hanging off the walls, ceiling falling through every other day which is just filled in and debris left on the floor for days. Our room was small, with the bare minimum storage space. Bathroom was ok. Our view of the bins and rooftops of nearby shops was lovely.

Buffet was good, good food and a good variety. Expect to queue for quite a while at any time of day for a drink at the bar. Drinks menu is great. Entertainment is good. Expect the classic race for sun beds, which are hard to come by if you don't manage to get one. They are packed in very close to one another which isn't ideal. The rooftop pool and bar is the best part of the hotel. You feel like you're in a different hotel up there. Staff aren't rude, just not as friendly as you'd expect. It's in a good location, the resort is busy with lots of bars and restaurants which are all close to the beach and a short walk from the hotel.

I'm not a hotel expert so I'm not going to say this place should be a 3 star hotel, but it is by far the most underwhelming 4 star hotel I've stayed in. It just needs a facelift in certain areas, and for they money you're paying, you'd get more in Greece or the Canaries.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Blue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Visited here in Aug 2017. One of the best hotel we have stayed in. Quick check in, nice room but we had a teenager that had a sofa bed which was quite uncomfortable for him as the frame of the bed was protruding both sides.
Rooms cleaned every morning.

Food was lovely but had better choice in other hotels.
Drink menus is the best we have ever had. All branded spirits, Estrella lager in pints or 330ml bottles. Cocktails were out of this world. Ice creams, lolly's and tip tops available and water also.

Pool area very nice but beds very close together and umbrellas screwed into the ground so couldn't be moved. Problem with this is when you put it up, you might be shading the person next to you.
Snack bar at the pool which doubles up to the al a carte restaurant in the evening. The snack bar is lovely. Either sit down and get waitered on or you can order food to take away to the pool (pizza, burgers etc)
Al a carte is a must. 4 course meal which you can book once a week. Majority of the menus is all inclusive but you can opt for a t bone steak for 6 euros. It's Massive!!

Entertainment was very good. Top show every night. Best we have come across. Lots of tributes. If your a bingo lover then you will be pleased to know that most nights the prize was averaging around €70 a line and up to €350 a house. Well worth it. Tickets were €5 each. Entertainment usually starts at 10 and finishes at 11. Bar closes at 11.30.

Very happy with the holiday and hotel. Would return in the future.


Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank grggs9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.2 km away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
117 reviews
1.4 km away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
1.4 km away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.2 km away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,585 reviews
0.8 km away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#4 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zafiro Rey don Jaime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zafiro Rey don Jaime

Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa)
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: RM344 - RM909 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zafiro Rey don Jaime 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Within 200 m. from the stunning beach of Santa Ponsa, the Zafiro Rey don Jaime hotel features a wide range of facilities for children such as games, animation programme, pool, playgroung and much more, which make this exclusive 4-star resort the ideal accommodation for some family holidays in Majorca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zafiro Rey don Jaime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Zafiro Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing