We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Palm Garden Apartments(Morro del Jable)
US$124
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
IFA Altamarena Hotel(Morro del Jable)
US$175
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Jandia Golf(Morro del Jable)
US$162
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Ocean World(Morro del Jable)(Great Value!)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Villas Monte Solana(Morro del Jable)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (535)
Filter reviews
535 results
Traveller rating
299
169
46
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
299
169
46
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb blocksea viewhalf boardmobility problemslarge corner bathsmall fishing villagetaxi transferbeautiful beachlounge arearoad noisecliff faceno tea and coffee making facilitiesbreakfast and dinnerjunior suiteswould strongly recommend this hotelsalad buffetsound of the waves
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 535 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Had a wonderful 10 nights here. Quite a long transfer time by private taxi, but our driver was very chatty though his English was limited. Better than my Spanish I have to add :) Very nice man.
The staff at Palace Jandia are lovely and very helpful. A predominantly German guest hotel, but this wasn't really a problem either. Just thought I'd mention that because some people may not like it. I can imagine some feeling isolated. Our room was a little dated, but ok. It was huge in size. Couldn't fault the food at all and I'm vegetarian. Plenty variety and well cooked. We had a slight problem with cockroaches, but we reported it and had no problems after that.
Beach was great though not for the faint hearted. Quite a lot of naturists, though you surprisingly get used to it very quickly. Doesn't offend me, but again...it may offend some.
Had a look around the turtle hospital, left a donation. Nothing fancy about it at all, but they're doing good work.
Took a jeep safary to the southern tip of the island and around to Cofete beach. Had a great time. Recommend doing this very much along with a trip out on Odyssee 3 to see the dolphins. Great fun and the captain is quite funny.
Had a fantastic trip and would recommend it for anyone looking for some peace and relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bluemaz1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We have just returned from the Riu Palace in Jandia, Fuerteventura after a wonderful holiday. We have been before several times and the very high Riu standards are still being maintained. Though now quite old, the hotel is very well maintained and spotlessly clean. As always, the staff couldn't be more helpful and everyone greets you with a cheery 'Buenos dias' or 'Hola' every morning. The standard of the food is excellent and it is possible if on half board to ring the changes with an al fresco meal on some nights of the week, subject to prior booking.
The hotel is built into the volcanic rock on a steep hill so there are lots of stairs which would not suit the less mobile.
The hotel is right on the beach and within walking distance of the nearby town of Morro Jable, where there are many quaint bars and restaurants.
This year we booked with Jet2 who were excellent, with very good flight times, but I see from next year's brochure that they are not featuring the Riu Palace which is a shame - Thomson (now Tui), who also use the hotel have much worse flight times.
All in all a great hotel in a wonderful location - I would recommend it unreservedly!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Sub_52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Spent another fantastic week at the Riu Palace Jandia.
This was our second visit to this little gem of a hotel.
Reception was very helpful and gave us a room in D block.
This overlooked the stretch of beach and a fabulous sea view.
This hotel though is not for people with mobility issues as there are loads of stairs.
Restaurant service and food quality exceptional all staff very attentive.
This is a must visit for those people who recognise the quality that the Riu brand gives you.
We will return.

Phil Harrison

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank philiyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

First visit to Jandia.
Taxi from airport included, don't be put off by long queue, lots of taxis and it moves quickly.
Hotel is lovely, staff friendly, rooms very large with super balconies. We were in A block over looking the pool area and the sea, great.
Food is fantastic, lots of choice and hot. Drinks are responsibly priced and measures are very generous.
The beach is lovely, stretches for miles, clean with lots of cafe/drink stops along the way.
Sea is every shade of blue and nice and warm.
Winds are much lighter than the top of the island 27 degrees every day.
Will definitely be returning to this lovely area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 653Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

My partner and I stayed here for one week to celebrate a birthday and had a really lovely time.

We booked a package trip with Thomson and the hotel is sold by them as an A La Carte property so the trip included a private taxi transfer as standard. In Fuerteventura, the taxis that TUI uses are not specialist and are simply the local taxis for the island. We had to queue outside the airport terminal for about 20 minutes waiting which was not too bad. A taxi would pull up and the people at the front of the queue would jump in. There was also someone supervising this so there was no queue jumping. The journey took about one hour and the taxi went well over the speed limit, hitting 144kmh in a 120 zone but we didn’t at any time feel unsafe.

We arrived at the hotel after dinner had started and we were checked in quickly by a friendly receptionist and given the rundown of the hotel. The in room safe was 20€ for one week. We were invited to go to dinner but we went to our room first to freshen up.

Our room was in block A on the top floor and overlooked the pool and beach. The hotel is divided into several lettered blocks. All the rooms in the hotel are large and would be considered junior suites in other hotels. Amenities included two large comfortable beds pushed together to make one large sleeping space; a minibar, flat screen TV with an English news channel and a large semi-circular tub with overhead shower. There was no iron, board or kettle provided. There were also two reclining deck chairs on the balcony. There was free Wi-Fi for use on up to four devices. This was available all around the grounds with excellent signal.

We proceeded to dinner and were offered first or second sitting. The times changed while we were staying and are now 6pm first sitting or 8pm second sitting. You are given a table at dinner which is yours to keep for the duration of the stay. Breakfast you may sit at any table. During our first dinner the Sub Director of the hotel came to our table and introduced himself and would always say hello if we saw him around. He came to see us most evenings at dinner too to check we were having a pleasant stay.

The food at both meals was exceptional. Breakfast was the usual variety of eggs, sausage, bacon, breads, cereals plus cold cuts of meat, cheeses, yoghurts and pancakes. Coffee and tea were served to the table or you could make this yourself. Dinner had an excellent variety of dishes including a carvery every night, sometimes even two different meats. We had duck, turkey and chicken over the course of the week. There was also a very good salad selection each evening with dressings including alioli. The desserts were also popular. Drinks were not included at dinner and were priced accordingly for the category of the hotel. On my partners birthday we were given a bottle of cava to enjoy after the meal and our table had a candle on it when we arrived to dinner. There was a snack bar for lunch by the pool and you could charge purchases to your room and pay at check out. There is also two bookable dinners available in an area of the bar but this was never explained to us or offered and the menu was not very well advertised so we stuck to the buffet for the duration of the stay.

The only downside I would say about the meals in the hotel is the pretty bad labelling of dishes. There were usually three fish dishes on at dinner but one of them was never labelled and you had to guess what other dishes were too; this included on the salad buffet as well as the hot food. Breakfast was also badly labelled as lactose free milk was labelled on the buffet but the other two jugs of milk were not – this is very unfriendly towards allergy sufferers and I found myself avoiding eating certain dishes as I just had no idea what they were. The English understanding of some of the chefs and waiting staff in the restaurant was limited however this was not a real problem as everyone was friendly but if you were unsure about a dish that was being served and wanted to find out what it was then you may have been a little stuck.

The pool area was very quiet and a little too peaceful for us; there was zero atmosphere there. It was almost spooky as the only noise was the wind and you felt like you couldn’t have a conversation here in fear of interrupting other guests’ peace. The pool was also very cold and there was very rarely anyone swimming. There is also a Jacuzzi on the terrace but this seemed to only operate at certain intervals. There is a lifeguard on duty who sits next to the small gym. There is also a spa but we did not use this.

There is a gate to access the promenade running behind the hotel which leads directly on to the beach. Turning right out of the gate you come to Morro Jable which is a quaint little town with a marina, pleasant bars and a Eurospar supermarket to get supplies. Turning left out of the gate will lead you along the promenade to the other shopping areas, including HiperDino supermarkets and perfume shops. Aloe Vera is a popular product which most shops seem to sell here, including the local tat shops. There are also bars and cafes along here too.

The beach outside the hotel is fabulous, which seems to stretch for miles and has clear blue waters at the shore. However you need to be aware that it can get extremely windy here and this can leave you covered in sand as it blows up and around all over. There are wind breaks around the pay to use sun loungers but they seem to bring little relief. Two sunbeds and a parasol cost 13.50€ which is quite steep if you like to go to the beach most days so we would buy a few drinks at the beach bar and sit in the sun there, much more economic, merry and relaxing too!

The evening entertainment in the hotel consists of different singers who perform around the pool area. Due to our room location we were able to “enjoy” this from the balcony, although most evenings the music was of the German Schlager variety and not really to our taste.

We booked an excursion before we travelled with TUI to do a 4x4 safari. Part of the trip was a visit to Cofete which is located on the other side of the island and can only be reached by a dirt road. The journey throughout the day trip was slow as we drove on dirt roads the whole time. The beach at Cofete is spectacular and the trip also included a stop off at another beach for some sunbathing, a paella lunch with water and wine and a look at the lighthouse at the very south of the island. There was a slight disappointment as Cofete is home to the Villa Winter which is shrouded in conspiracy theories. I thought we would get the chance to wander around the outside but we did not venture close at all to the site and only stayed by the beach. But it whetted our appetite and we may go back ourselves to do this in the future.

The hotel was at 100% occupancy the day of our departure and we were not able to keep our room after midday but the hotel offers a shower room to freshen which we used, located near the ping pong table around the pool area. When we checked out and paid our bill we found that two out of the seven dinners we had we were overcharged for our drinks. When we pointed this out the bill was rectified but this was only as I had kept the customer copy of the carbon paper receipt from dinner. If I hadn’t then we wouldn’t have known any different and would have simply paid the amount showing on our bill. There is no TUI UK advisor at this hotel so if any problems arise you have to call their 24/7 Holiday Line. The taxi pick up transfer times are put in the back of the TUI UK folder so make sure you are aware of this.

The guests here are 90% German with the rest being mainly English and a few Spanish. This was not a problem at all for us but the staff do assume you are German initially but the receptionists were all well able to converse in English. The clientele was mainly over 50 and there was not a single child in the hotel all week that I saw. I would say the hotel definitely suits couples who like peace and quiet but would never recommend this hotel for children as I simply think they would be too bored with the peaceful atmosphere. The really big downside I could see for this hotel is the amount of stairs around; we really were quite shocked at the amount. There are many flights to the beach depending on where your room is located and the lift service is fairly slow. This was no problem for me or my partner, as we are fairly fit and are able to walk briskly around but for the less mobile this would definitely be an issue.

We have stayed previously at Riu Palace Tres Islas in Corralejo and very much enjoyed it but found that we liked this hotel more. The beachfront location is stunning and the Morro Jable area is so tranquil and slightly more upmarket than Corralejo and would not hesitate to return here.

Any questions just drop me an email.

Room Tip: A block have good views
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank davey_baby100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews