We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing if you are not German”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IFA Altamarena Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Firstly when we arrived we noticed Jandia itself has a stunning beach and the town and shops are a good mix of restaurants, tourist shops and boutique shops and the staff in these are very friendly. on arriving at the Hotel reception we were assumed to be German and I didn't feel it was really that welcoming and the wait for service was pretty long. The hotel itself has a pleasant appearance in the foyer and pool area , but the rooms are tired and bland with very little natural ventilation on the ground floor. It is very close to the beach which is a bonus (as it is golden sand and goes on for miles) , but the beach itself shelves fairly steeply and the waves are often strong so not good for people who are not decent swimmers. Morro Jable is only 10 minutes walk along the beach front and this is a small town with a more Spanish feel to it .
The All Inclusive food was ok, but I don't think I would do it again as you feel obliged to stay around for most meals. To be honest it is German cuisine in a sort of Spanish style and pretty bland and the AI drinks are pretty limited and you need to pay an extra 8 euros a day for premium drinks. We knew Jandia was predominantly German tourists , but everything in the hotel is geared towards them aswell and my wife and I weren't really welcome and they like to stare at people and push in all the time so you just end up doing the same back. Just to top off the stay we had 6 euros taken from our room from my bedside table by the cleaners the day before we left. I explained to the reception my disgust at this and said I would have left a tip at the end of my stay with a thank you note not by my bedside table with my watch and glasses. the reception staff made a note of it , didn't apologise and 1 hour later the money was just left on my bed. All in all not a great first impression of Fuerturventura and an even worse one of IFA Altamarena Hotel. So obviously I would not recommend this Hotel and would never return.

Room Tip: in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deegarkingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, Public Relations Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear deegarkingsley,
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. First of all we would like to apologize for your inconveniences. The mixture of age and nationalities of our guests can not and will not be influenced by the hotel. At various times it´s always different. We offer a wide range of activities and are equipped to just let everyone feel comfortable. Young and old people and every nation. Very important to note for us is everyone is welcome in our hotel. No matter what age, nationality or miscellaneous.
We receive your annotation about our Housekeeping and will report it to the hotel manager.
With kind regards and sunny greetings Your IFA Altamarena Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2017

Hotel was in good location and received excellent welcome from Reception staff who had saved lunch for us due to late arrival.
Overall view of the hotel was that it met it,s 3 star rating and no more but seemed very popular with it,s main guests who were German and who took over the reception for card playing in the evening.
Dining room was very canteen like with long tables and the few staff seemed to be constantly setting the tables for the next meal, this was possible due to all the food and drinks, including alcoholic, being self service. You question the quality of the food when one "stew like dish" was labelled "cow" and the lunch and evening meal seemed to be the same dishes.
The pool area was satisfactory for the number of guests staying at the time but we were warned not to leave towels on the sun beds before 9am as the Gardener/Security man would hide them.
For anybody travelling with First Choice expect to be dumped off the coach by the driver and not to receive any visits from a representative which probably shows the hotels position in the Thompson hierarchy for the island

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANITADAVID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, Public Relations Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Anitadavid,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we thanks for sharing your experience.
We thanks for the time taken for the rating.
We hope to welcome you soon again at the IFA Altamarena Hotel.
With best and sunny regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I enjoyed every minute at this hotel except for the moment we left.

Food was good, rooms were good, location was good. Everything was good, except for the choice of cocktails on the all-inclusive, that was limited to only two or three cocktails, which was disappointing. But apart from that small minus point, everything was great.

The hotel has a policy of no towels down before 9:00am. This was a great policy and everyone seemed to benefit from this. The staff were always helpful and appeared to be hardworking.

The hotel is right on the beach, so you can easily be on the beach within a minute or two. As with most beaches in Fuerteventura, there are naturists, nudists, all over tan seekers further along the beach towards the lighthouse.

The hotel is right opposite a whole line of shops and the terrain is very flat all along the beach and promenade, so if you hate walking up hills, this hotel is perfectly positioned to avoid this.

We didn't encounter too many British people on this holiday, mainly Germans, Dutch and Spanish. So if you are British and like to socialise with British people, even though you are abroad, then this place may disappoint you.

All things considered, this was a wonderful place to stay.

:)

Room Tip: Sea view room is preferable, as the road can get a bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, Public Relations Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Nigel O,

We would really like to thank you for taking your time and writing on Tripadvisor a positive commentary about your recent stay in our hotel.
We appreciate that there are also clients enjoying and giving value on our service in our Ifa Altamarena Hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact us again in order to organize your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017

We booked a winter sun holiday and were recommended to this hotel by friends. It is a bit of a jaunt to the hotel, as it is nearly two hours from the airport but the location is worth it. The front has a range if shops, everything you could need really. The back leads to the fabulous beach and boardwalk. The staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food is plentiful and varied. You would have to be extremely picky to not be able to find something suitable for you - there is even a diabetic section. Drinks are served between 11am and 11pm with lots of variety. The rooms are light and airy with a great little balcony. We asked for a quiet room when booking and that is exact what we got on the third floor, best views up there too. Would be happy to holiday there again.

Room Tip: Quietest rooms on top floor with good views too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, Public Relations Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2017

Dear Carol W,
on behalf of the whole Altamarena Team we want to say ·thank you· for your positive feedback.
We are always trying our best to make the stay of our guests as enjoyable and pleasant as possible.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holidays staying in our hotel and it would give us a great pleasure to welcome you again.
Sunny regards from Fuerteventura

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Just arrived back after 5 nights stay with several other friends. The main issue with this hotel is lack of staff, leading to poor service in all areas.!! Food Luke warm, unfriendly bar tenders, items paid for either missing or not available. Slow service generally all round throughout our stay. All staff appeared unhappy and stressed. We were told the hotel was full, so why were there so few staff?
It was a shame as the hotel was in a great location and next to a lovely beach, but has let it self down, you cannot blame the staff they worked very hard, management desperately need to sort this issue. I would rate this hotel as a 3* plus, if service improved may be a 4*.
It has great potential but was very disappointing throughout the week of our stay. Shame

Room Tip: Pool side view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TollyUKsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IFA_Altamarena, Public Relations Manager at IFA Altamarena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017


Dear TollyUKsurrey,
Thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel.
First of all we would like to apologize for your inconveniences.
We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our staff and service.
Our staff is evermore endeavored to fulfill every wish of our clients and make their holidays as enjoyable and unforgettable as possible.
We gladly accept suggestions contrary to our service and to take notes to improving.
We do hope to welcome you in the coming season to show you how better we can do.

with best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
1.7 km away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
494 reviews
0.7 km away
MUR Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
MUR Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartamentos
Sol Jandia Mar Apartamentos
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
944 reviews
1.6 km away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
13.6 km away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Altamarena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Altamarena Hotel

Address: Avenida Saladar 28, 35625 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly lti Hotel Altamarena)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Morro del Jable
#4 Luxury Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range: RM576 - RM1,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Altamarena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Altamarena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lti Hotel Altamarena
Lti Hotel Morro Del Jable
IFA Altamarena Hotel Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing