We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Adult hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunprime Atlantic View
Ranked #10 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Adult hotel”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The hotel is relatively newly renovated (2008 i think) and appear as neat and tidy exterior, with lovely soft sofas in the lounge and nice and decorative design.

The pool is nice and clear. There is no noise from children and teenagers as they are not welcome here. Lots of sun chairs and plenty of room at the pool side. A little water gymnastics once a day is refreshing.
Spa with massage and sauna costs extra, but here is not especially large, nor exciting. Prices remain somewhat high. In contrast, the gym’s for free, where there are treadmills, elliptical cross. Muscle machines and dumbbells.
Rooms are reasonable size and feature the most needed for 2 people. There are simple decorative items on walls and cabinets, but not flashy. The furniture is fresh in color and fine and decent. Beds are (i think ) of the Scandinavian standard, fairly comfortable. However, it is not double beds, but beds are put side by side. There is great no noise at or near the hotel at night.
Refrigerator and hard dry are the rooms like iron and kitchenware. The bathrooms could use a renovation very soon, because although they are still nice and functional, they begin to suffer from the general lack of quality performing on Spanish buildings.

The view from the rooms facing south are beautiful and very hot. There people can sunbathe undisturbed on the terrace during the day, and play cards at the little light on the wall at night.

The food is delicious and inviting if you go eat the package they offer. However, the meal is not overwhelming, but varies in both size and quality. We found their evening dining package very nice and welcoming. Buffet is like at other Spanish hotels (boring after 4 days)
Breakfast food is however very delicious, although there have been cut down to supply the last few years. It’s not allowed to take food out of the restaurant, just like tea and coffee after breakfast costs money.

Parking is available on the doorstep of the hotel in a large roundabout. No problems here, except when there is a carnival.

Evening entertainment is typical of charter hotels, “A man and his guitar - Perhaps with a singer”.
Bikes can be borrowed against a deposit.
Very helpful people at reception, who will listen to your wishes and problems.

We can warmly recommend this hotel to couples without children. 4 out of 5 **** stars from here.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    404
    104
    18
    9
See reviews for
99
736
27
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed for 3 weeks in August and had a very enjoyable stay.

The rooms are small and it is worth the upgrade to a suite as this gave a small lounge and separate bedroom. A good sized balcony and our room overlooked the small pool at the quieter end of the hotel.

The grounds were small and the hotel compact, but it never felt crowded despite being full. The restaurant was good and had a pleasing range of food each night. Service in the restaurant was good.

Pool and communal areas were kept spotless. Rooms were well cleaned each day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the small block overlooking the small pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank cuttlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slagelse, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is the forth time, me and my wife stay in this hotel. First of all, because it is handicap friendly, second because of the spa and wellness facilities. Overall, the hotel might not be five star, but the apartments are very nice, the cleaning is perfect, and the staff and service is in top. All facilities are working perfect, clean swimmingpools, good spa, lots of sun-beds and no kids - if you like that. The redtaurant has a very good breakfast buffet, with everything, that you could wish, but in general, the a la carte menus are few and quite expencive. The bar is exceptional, and don't forget to try Amperos dry martinis - among the best in the world, although stirred and not shaken!
The guests are mainly nordic, many from Sweden.

Room Tip: There are some rooms in the floor plan suitable for disabled people, and wheel-chair accesible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Fantastic and friendly staff!!!!
The breakfast are to die for, and the hotel stand out from the rest of playa the ingles 80s décor with modern décor and facilities.
No children around the pool make the stay relaxing, and combined with the double showers in the bathrooms the hotel are perfect for a romantic holyday!!!!
The waiter Tony made the stay even better!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank mozkito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed with my husband for 2 weeks at the hotel during January 2012. We were shocked when we saw our room for the first time. We have paid an extra to get a junior suite with a garden view. In reality what we got was extremely small room with a view on a pool area and 2 trees. I was assured at the reception that it was the right room type for what we paid. I am afraid even to think what does a usual room for 2 look like. The balcony has no sun during a day time and it is very cold to stay there. Our room was the last in the section so it bordered with a noisy road. The noise is constant; there is no soundproofing at all. When someone went outside beside our door it sounded like they were actually inside our room. There were not beach towels, bathrobes or slippers when we got the room. So I went to ask a maid that cleaned the rooms on our floor. She didn't understand a word of English so she called reception and I explained the problem to them and they translated my request to her. She apologized in Spanish and brought them. So, if you don't know what should be in the room, you won't get it.

The safe was broken and it was exchanged after 3 days of complaints. After every complaint (we did 3) a man came to repair it. The first one exchanged the batteries and had punched the safe box a couple of times after what with a gestures (he didn't speak English at all, the same as all of the cleaning staff ) he offered to test it and that was it. The safe worked for an hour and then wasn't responding. After third complaint we were asked what are we doing with it?! Nobody asked us if the safe was actually repaired (punching is not repairing). So on the third repairing the safe was exchanged with another one.
The room itself is worn out. Walls are dirty. They have black marks and foot prints (!). The shower is very old. The only product is a generic soap/shampoo. The room's and bathroom's floor is extremely cold. If you want that sheets were exchanged you need to take them off and put them into a basket. The dust was never cleaned during 2 weeks so it was like 1 cm layer. We are just lucky we have no asthma. The bed is very hard and my back was aching every morning. Pillows are very lowsy.

Prime kitchen is some kind of a joke I didn't get. We bought inclusive for 2 weeks (breakfast 10 lunches and 10 dinners). The breakfast is very simple. I saw a better selection in 3 * hotels.
The staff is making the appearance that they are serving you. You get your coffee during the breakfast from them but your will be lucky to get it. Sometimes you need to chaise them to get coffee or milk. Lunch is something to avoid. The starters buffet is so limited. There is salad, cucumbers, paprika and tomatoes. Sometimes there is a tuna salad or Greek salad and some kind of small breads with stuff on them. You can select one of 3 dishes. Once I have a misfortune to order tortellini with spinach. I got ravioli with some meaty filling. When I complained they said they were sorry. And when I came to the dinner waiter found me and very seriously said that the spinach was in the sauce (which was yellowish with cheese) and that I shouldn’t have complained. Imagine my fun when for the dinner we had cannelloni with a spinach filling. Overall dishes are very primitive, a lot off potatoes which I don't eat. I usually get better lunch at my workplace canteen 8 €.

The menu is the same for the week days. We stayed for 2 weeks so every Monday was the same menu and so on. The wines (you get 1 glass during lunch and 1/2 bottle during dinner) are very primitive, 1 sort of red and 1 sort of white. But the staff is making noises for you to taste it every time you order it. Yeah, for 2 weeks every day the same wine... After a couple of days I drank only water as the only reasonable option during the lunch. Dinner has better food. It served after 18:300 which is really late for me. So the best food was tasted not eaten. The staff during the dinner only brings you your drinks (wine, coffe) and takes away dishes. They succeeded to fail at that too. One day we were sat but no one was at our area to take the drink orders. We went to take our food, again no one to bring our drinks. The same situation was at the tables in the same area. I found a waiter, explained the situation and asked for the drinks. I got as an answer that he doesn't serve our area (like I care) but he served us our drinks. After 10 minutes another waiter actually came to our area and started to take orders.

January is an awful time there. Cold wind was all the time. There is nothing to see at Playa del Ingles. The shopping is awful. We went to Las Palmas for one day and that was much more interesting.

The best part of this vacation was spa and fitness. The stuff at spa and fitness was totally Swedish which explains for me the difference in service level between spa and the hotel. Spa was quite expensive but worth it. I bought 50 min to try it and came back to buy a 175 min package. The fitness classes were very good. There is something for those who never go to gym (basic yoga and water gym) and for those who like some hard trainings (circuit and power step gave a very good work out). The gym equipment is very limited.

The reception stuff is helpful and some speak many languages (in addition to Spanish and English some of them speak Finnish, Swedish and German). The Thomas Cook airlines are great. The check at the hotel for our flight home was really helpful. During the flight we have no problems and the crew was very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Rooms at the main building have sun and are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Milla52819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.3 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,486 reviews
1.6 km away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,346 reviews
0.4 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,234 reviews
1.4 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,239 reviews
0.6 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Atlantic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Atlantic View

Property: Sunprime Atlantic View
Address: Avda de Gran Canaria 48, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa)
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#8 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price range (per night): RM497 - RM935
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunprime Atlantic View 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Atlantic View is a popular adults only hotel with a good location in Playa del Inglés, close to a few of Gran Canaria's best golf courses. The hotel has a lovely pool area with three heated pools and offers a variety of activities if you want an active holiday. You can also indulge yourself with a spa treatment or enjoy a good meal at the restaurant followed by a cocktail at the bar. Sunprime Atlantic View is the perfect option if you want to treat yourself to a restful and enjoyable holiday in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sunprime Atlantic View Suites And Spa
Sunprime Atlantic View Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Sunprime Atlantic View Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing