We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
15
25
8
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
25
8
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We was vacations two weeks in Playa del ingles, in front of our hotel was this beautifull Sahara beach club with swiming pool, everydays we was there becouse the prices for drink are cheaps,people work there are nice, also they have Happy Hour all day and beach 20 metters, sooo we will return in next vacations.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Dani F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

A very nice place. Old, but lately new renovated. Calm place for middle age and old people. No noise during day, evenings or nights. Bungalows around a the pool and high palm trees make it looks very nice. Staff were very helpful and service minded.
Pool should be better cleaned. It did not seems clean enough for us, so we stayed on the poolside.
The lock on the bungalow door was not very safe, if I may say so. The information book laying on the table in the living room recommend to lock the door and put the door chain on and keep you values in the safe when you go to sleep in the evening. The door lock was very difficult to lock with the key from the inside, because the doorlock was too close to the doorframe. There is a high wall around the resort, which makes it difficult to strangers to enter the resort, so In my opinion there was no great risk for burglary, but if the managements feel so, they should let the costumers get the safe free of charge ( € 2,- /day )
In addition the charge you for wifi. - most other hotels do not charge you anymore for wifi.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gøsta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

This is a place with some 50 self-sufficient bungalows each containing a bedroom, living room with a kitchen, and a terrace. The kitchen was well equipped, the rest (living room/bedroom) were of 2-star quality, so do not expect miracles. Also, there is no breakfast/half-board, you are expected to cater for yourself, and the same goes for laundry and such. The reception closes at around 3PM, from then on you are pretty much on your own.

Nevertheless, everything was clean, the staff was helpful, the green area in the center looked very nice and the ambience was much better than -- I think -- we could get for a similar price in most hotels in the rather overhyped tourist area of Maspalomas/Playa del Ingles. We were also just next to the dunes which are very charming, too. I understand that the resort's guests are primarily German-speaking. Grocery store is just across the street. Private parking is available.

If you are looking for something like that -- a simple, self-sufficient vacation, in a green "oasis" next to the dunes -- you will enjoy your stay. Just make sure you do not expect a 4-star quality and services around the clock.

Room Tip: Try to not get to the edge of the U-shaped area and neither near the center. There is a bunch of bungalows that seem to face the street (see the area near the main entrance), I have not checked it out but would probably try to avoid that, too.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juro80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

A resort with guaranteed sun, sandy beaches, a wide choice of nightlife and entertainment - Playa Del Ingles. But.....high quality, quiet and peaceful, no "Benidorm Brits" to spoil the atmosphere....for that you need the Sahara Beach Club.

We have just returned from two weeks in this superb 50 self-catering bungalow complex which is separated from the dunes of Maspalomas only by a quiet pedestrian promenade. It is used predominantly by German speaking clients covering a wide age range (weighted to the mature) who clearly value the high quality facilities, perfect location and peaceful ambience offered by the Sahara Beach Club (not to be confused with similarly named properties as the review in English headed "Awful!!!!" clearly has, as there are no similarities whatsover to her description).

Our bungalow (No 2) faced the pool with views across the lovely and well-kept palm filled garden to the ocean. There is a patio with table and chairs, ideal for breakfast or any other meal, and a front area with 2 sunloungers for our personal use which can be moved anywhere in the garden to sunny or shaded spots. Lounger cushions are also provided along with large towels.

The kitchen/lounge area is very well equipped - oven, microwave, fridge etc - and has everything anyone could reasonably require. There is a sofa (convertible to a bed if necessary) and large flat screen TV. The bedroom has two good comfortable full-size singles making a huge double bed and plenty of storage space. There is no air-conditioning but a fan is provided and the bungalow is well ventilated. There is a good powerful shower in the bathroom.

There is a regular, very efficient, maid service and the sheets etc were changed several times during our stay.

The pool was perfect, offering lap swimming or shortish lengths at the deep end and a shallow end and island for the kids - although out of school holidays they were a rarity. It was always possible for us to find a quiet time for a swim.

The location is ideal. There is only one side boundaried by the (usually) quiet road with footpaths on two sides and the neighbouring property on the other so it is very peaceful. The "back door" from the garden opens straight onto the pedestrian promenade and you can be on the dunes and on your way to the beach in moments. The Riu Palace, the resort's top hotel, is a stone's throw away and is a useful marker, especially from the dunes. In the evening it is an easy stroll down the promenade to a brash but entertaining beachside development of restaurants, cocktail bars and shops. The Cita Centre is close at hand with clubs and bars to suit all tastes as well as more shops, whilst Ave de Tirajana is just around the corner offering a gentle uphill walk to some good restaurants, tapas bars, supermarkets and, eventually, the Yumbo Centre.

There were no downsides for us. Our fellow guests were unfailingly polite and our guten morgerns and abends smilingly recieved. Reception staff Gini and Jezebel speak excellent English and were able to offer good advice in response to our queries.

So why aren't there more UK visitors? Because you will have to make a bit of an effort to make a booking. At the time of writing there are no UK companies offering a booking service. After checking availability by e-mail I was required to send a deposit of €200 which I did via internet banking. A small charge but an easy process. When the payment cleared all was confirmed by e-mail and we paid the balance on arrival. For 2 weeks the total was €807, about £630 at current exchange rates and an absolute bargain since the German customers seem to pay more through their travel agents.

Sunny and hot, Playa del Ingles itself is still the interesting mix of Brit brashness - don't miss Ricky's Cabaret Bar in the Yumbo - and Scando-German qualty that it was when I first went nearly 20 years ago but there are now some decent restaurants - we enjoyed Las Cumbres and Dino's Tapas terrace amongst others - and the cost of eating out, entertainment and travelling around (a runabout from Pluscar for 2 weeks £138!) is very reasonable. For all that, it's the Sahara Beach Club that will bring us back.

Room Tip: All but a handful of the bungalows off pool/garden view and, although this is not guaranteed, I would always request it when booking.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Maspalomas and Playa de l'Inges are full of big hotels without grace, but as you enter the gate of the Sahara Beach Club you can forget everything: you just have to stay in your comfortable bungalow looking at the palm trees and gorgeous flowers in the gardes, take a bath in the swimming pool (cleaned every morning), or simply exit from the other gate which let you directly on the famous soft dunas of Maspalomas, and after a very nice walk you get to the beach (which is not as crowded as the others).
You just have to go out from this paradise to go to the market, which however is just in front of the hotel entrance.
Everything was clean, quiet and perfect, and the kids (2 and 6 at the time) enjoyed every single minute there.
And the price is unbeatable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AntonioP75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews