We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't fault it”
Review of H10 Conquistador

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Conquistador
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 10-21st July. This was our first visit to this hotel as we normally go self catering. We had travelled back from Tenerife last year and a fellow traveller had stayed here, all inclusive and couldn’t recommend it highly enough. Bearing this is mind and mindful that everybody’s impression of a good hotel/holiday is different from everyone else’s, we gave it a try. So we decided to go for half board as our fledglings go their own way now, so all inclusive doesn’t suit us, different if you’ve got kids wanting a drink or something to eat all the time. The hotel was undergoing some refurbishment at the entrance and also the lower level where the restaurant and pools area are located. This area was redecorated and a new wooden floor laid. There wasn’t much disruption and as we spent most of our day (and most nights) poolside. Works finished around 5pm each day.
The hotel has 8 floors and private rooms for privilege guests though the poolside area with fancy sunbeds are reserved for these guests and is quite small, it sits right in the middle of the large pool, accessible via bridges, a bit like being in a goldfish bowl.
The rooms themselves are nice and clean, one thing we liked was the air conn could be left on even with the balcony door wide open. Towels changed every day which I thought was excellent, maid’s always very pleasant and always said hello.
Rooms had a safe, but it cost around 6 euros a week, can’t remember the exact amount. TV had plenty of channels and no charge.
The biggest majority of guests were either German or Spanish. As usual the Germans can be quite pushy and arrogant, but we find that they are like this with their own countrymen/women, so we just ignored them and didn't let them intimidate us.
Restaurant… My wife is an extremely fussy eater so we were a bit concerned prior to arriving if there would be anything suitable for her. We needn’t have worried. Breakfast had an enormous selection. From cereals to all types of bread, cheeses, fruit and hot cooked stuff as well. In fact anything you wanted was there. They also cooked omelettes to order with a choice of filling. Twice a week they had bottles of champagne where you could enjoy a glass (or two) with your breakfast. As we were half board we never had lunch in the restaurant but poolside bar was the usual snacks, toasties, hot dogs etc. A chef was in attendance every day.
Evening meal was from 7:30-10:30 and was also excellent, plenty of choices with hot or cold food. Meats cooked to order included lamb chops, steaks, pasta dishes. Also available was pizza and chicken and all types of stuff for kids, including chips, hamburgers etc. Deserts were also in plentiful supply. If you wanted wine or water with your meal it was additional. Wine 8 euros per bottle or 1.90 euros for bottle of water.
The restaurant can get busy and you might have to wait. Busy times are 9-9:30am and 8-8:30pm so try and avoid these times.
Poolside bar opened until 12:30am each night. Price list gave a list of what you got if you were all inc and what you had to pay for. Draught beer and all soft drinks (except tomato juice) were free as were some spirits. If you wanted whisky you can still get it free (house whisky) with all inc but if you want a slightly better known whisky eg Ballantynes, this cost 3.30 euros. For paying guests beer was 2.80 a pint and large dry wine was 3.30.
Poolside games were excellent for kids and adults. From aqua gymnastics to water polo and volleyball. There is a lifeguard in attendance every day and also security personnel patrol the hotel and poolside at all times. A hotel photographer is poolside every day and takes loads of pics which you can see next day on the hotel PC in the foyer. If you want to buy a pic it costs 8 euros for an 8x10 size, but there’s no obligation. The day we left there was a champagne and foam party, so we missed this, pity. There is also a Sangria making demo every week and paella making. The paella was 5 euros per portion but the sangria is free. It’s made up of fruit, brandy, vodka and 15 bottles of champagne and you could have as much as you wanted, free!! Beware it’s quite potent.
Evening entertainment was quite good with a kids disco on every night from 8:30-09:15. Sunday nights might make you want to discover the town as the entertainment is 2 guys calling themselves ‘The Oldies’, playing Sinatra songs etc. Nothing against Sinatra… but for a busy holiday resort full of youngsters and their parents, I don’t think so.
The entertainment staff on site were excellent, Raphael was quite funny, he spoke at least 7 languages fluently.
As has been mentioned before in previous reviews there is still a culture where if you want a good sunbed position you have to get up early and reserve it. Pointless complaining, everyone does it. So if you can’t beat them, join them. To get your choice of sunbed you need to be down at the pool for 7:30am at the latest. There are around 250 beds, so enough to go around, and there is no charge for the blue/white lilos or towels.
There was no internet available, we were told it was broken. I think it was disconnected temporarily as it was located around the area where the refurbishment was going on. No problem there, we just walked down the road 200 yds to another H10 hotel (Las Palmeras) and used the internet there. 1 Euro for 10 mins.
At the time of our visit the place was very busy, tho this is the way we like it. If you’ve kids and they like the pool, this is an excellent hotel. If you want a quiet holiday best not to go here mid July but certainly recommend this hotel and we’ll probably go back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms very good, don't see the advantage of privilege rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AJOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,040 - 3,044 of 5,920 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

Worst hotel we have EVA stayed in. Hotel very nice clean staff friendly but other guest mainly spanish and german was rude we had towels thrown on floor wen we went for lunch. Sat down for breakfast put coffee and juice down come back with food to find table cleaned away and arigant family told us we was not sat down so they took table. Food was not cooked pork every nite pink all way through food does not resemble pictures it was discusting we had to eat out a few times it was so bad. We went allinc all snackes and cocktails for incl are premade there for discuisting were paying guest was made fresh ours was just help your self at back of bar dry bread and other dry foods we paid priviliged wat a laff they is no wifi not once did it work every time we asked they was going to fix it Neva happened they is 24 priv rooms so they is about 50 to 70 priv guest but only 6 single sun beds on roof and 2 double. says no reserving but every time we went they was towels and no guest the priv room is lovley and plenty to drink but closes too early 830 pm wen we stayed in select hotel it's 12 pm. Our bath water was brown wen we asked why we was told it would be fixed but was not our toilet only flushed every hour. They is no privacy in rooms as balcany is so low you can see straight on to bed in other rooms we paid a lot of money for allinc and privilige and it is only holiday I have EVA wanted to come home from Tenerife was great love it and we met other british family that has same complaints as us and I Neva normaly put on review but on this hotel I have to becouse it's so not what we expected.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ilovetenerifex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

we are going to this hotel in august this year for our honeymoon. ive stayed at this hotel many of times when i was younger as a child, the last time being about 15yrs ago. my afamily and i stayed at this hotel 3 times a yr for 6 yrs and found it an excellent hotel for a holiday, but i am now an adult in my late 20's and i am abit haprihensive after some of the reviews. please can people who have stayed here recently let me know what they think of this hotel and if they had an enjoyable time there. this would really help us out as this is our honeymoon. thank you.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jadehardman1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

rooms in hotel was modern and clean but the food and entertainment was apalling !!!the restaurant did not cater at all for the english there was no rep at this hotel so we couldnt speak to anyone about it . ended up eating out every night and we were all inclusive !!!!!never again .

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dawnangell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Once again an enjoyable holiday! The food was of a very high standard with a fantastic choice to suit all tastes. We had a beautiful room with both pool and sea views. The staff were pleasant and very helpful especially Customer Relations. We will be back again in November.
Peter and Carol Martin (Mature couple)

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lyn072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de las Americas
0.5 km away
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
Cleopatra Palace Hotel
#12 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,104 reviews
0.6 km away
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
Mediterranean Palace Hotel
#26 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,097 reviews
0.1 km away
Europe Villa Cortes
Europe Villa Cortes
#7 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Sir Anthony
Hotel Sir Anthony
#4 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
640 reviews
0.3 km away
Spring Hotel Bitacora
Spring Hotel Bitacora
#11 of 59 in Playa de las Americas
3,586 reviews
22.4 km away
Dragos Del Sur
Dragos Del Sur
#5 of 10 in Puerto de Santiago
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Conquistador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Conquistador

Address: Avenida Rafael Puig 36, 38660 Playa de las Americas, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Playa de las Americas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#6 Family Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#10 Spa Hotel in Playa de las Americas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de las Americas
Price Range: RM702 - RM2,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Conquistador 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea in Playa de las Americas, with direct access to the promenade, H10 Conquistador has just been revamped, giving it a very bright and modern design with a maritime feel. You'll be amazed by the extensive range of services offered by the hotel: Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services, for stays with that extra touch of exclusivity, Despacio Thalasso Centre, our Health and Beauty Centre for pampering yourself during your stay, and our wide variety of gastronomic options, including new eateries such as the Italian restaurant La Vita e Bella, the Teppanyaki Sakura and the specialised coffee shop Mike's Coffee.​ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Conquistador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Conquistador Hotel Playa De Las Americas
Tenerife Conquistador
h10 Conquistador Resort
Conquistador Hotel Tenerife
Hotel Conquistador Tenerife
Conquistador Tenerife
H10 Conquistador Tenerife/Playa De Las Americas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing