We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Garden Inn New Braunfels(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$84
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New Braunfels(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott New Braunfels River Village(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites by Hilton New Braunfels(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$114
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites New Braunfels(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WorldMark New Braunfels(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$256
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lamb's Rest Inn(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gruene Homestead Inn(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Resort at Schlitterbahn(New Braunfels)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$331
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
9
9
4
3
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
9
4
3
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2015

Surprised to see all the bad reviews on here. I go to Billy Goats almost every year and absolutely love it. Yes the campsite is kinda small but there is plenty of room for a good time. Actually leaving this week to be down there for the 4th (hope the river is open!) with a big group and I can't wait!! People don't understand why they close the bathrooms during the day! ITS TO HELP YOU! I don't want trashed bathrooms and showers so I appreciate the fact they close them to outside drunk guest. Cant wait to see y'all in a few days!

Chance

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Way over priced and the people that run this sorry crap are rude and crazy. We will never go back! Restrooms and showers should be open to the people that stay at the campsite. We paid for 2 nights and left the next day......

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Leelee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, General Manager at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

As stated in previous reviews: We are comparable in price to most other camps on river road
and we close the restrooms to clean them - typically when most of the camp is out tubing, there are porta pottys to use, that are kept clean as well. And with that attitude everybody was glad you left, you brought the negativity to the camp - cray/cray!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Brooke and her husband were wonderfully nice to my family and I. The over noise and out of control people were not to be found....of course you had your few peeps that were up all night partying but hey it's the 4th...what else is expected!??!! If you are not in to having a great time, meeting new people or relaxing in the river then this great place is NOT for YOU!! We appreciated everything the owners did and even shared a few laughs with them. I will be coming back!! THANK YOU TO THE OWNERS FOR THE FUN DELIGHT FOR MY KIDS AND FAMILY!
-I only have 1 recommendation...outside the cabins it would be awesome to have water spigots but other than that sweet setup ;-)

THANKS AGAIN!

Nicole

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Happy you stayed and enjoyed the 4th. Sorry that spigot was temp out of order.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Had a blast. Owners were very friendly. They will go out of their way to make sure your comfortable. Its small campground but very enjoyable. Perfect place to party on the river and meet new people. Hubby and I will be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank April H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Yes we are small and that makes us rather unique, especially when everybody is respectful. Glad you had fun!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got home from staying at Billy Goats over Memorial Day weekend. Our first time staying there. Liked the fact that it is a small camp ground and not a tent city. Camp site trash, showers, bathrooms and porta potties were all clean every day. Every camper I met was friendly and fun to visit with. When the music got loud early morning and someone complained, the lady owner immediately addressed the offending party. Owners and staff are very friendly & accommodating. Our thanks to them for making our stay fun and enjoyable. Already planning a return trip to BGG.

"Pinky"

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goattx, Owner at Billy Goat's Gruff Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2014

Thanks "pinky" glad you had a good time. Sorry about the loud music, we try but there is always someone that tries to push the limits. Everyone have a great time, please be kind and respectful to your neighbors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews