We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee shop and bakery!”
Review of That Takes the Cake - CLOSED

That Takes the Cake
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Reviewed 18 August 2012

So good even your mother will enjoy it (as did mine)! Great coffee selection too. Very clean. Run by a local family. Lots of baked goods but their breakfast is also wonderful.

1  Thank Kennedy323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

Bundy's made the coolest wedding cake. Looked great & tasted awesome. They also did the flowers for the wedding which were beautiful. They were easy to work with as we were planning the wedding from Michigan.

Thank sledrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portatam, Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Bundys was sold May 21, 2012. The business reviewed here is That Takes The Cake, in Port Aransas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I look forward to going to Bundy's every Sunday after church. The Bread puddin is to die for! I also enjoy the scrambled eggs with biscuit and gravy. The coffee is really good and fresh. If it is your first visit, you can help yourself to the coffee and proceed to the register to order. Unfortunately, no one is greeting you to tell you how ordering works. You are on your own for finding the flatware, napkins and even the water. It is a very small, quaint place. I enjoy the atmosphere. The service is just OK, they are simply too busy to acknowledge everyone that walks through the door.

I have a feeling that the "older lady" that previous reviews commented on, must be gone.

My final word: Try it for yourself!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patty2m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

This is a really cute little bakery, breakfast, and lunch place. We arrived at about 11am on a Saturday to find a few people in line ahead of us and they were running out of lots of things - pigs in a blanket, strawberry smoothies, muffins...to be fair, we were on the edge of lunch time, but it was still disappointing. The place is small with just a few tables, and the open ones were all dirty, so we had to clean and bus our own. It took a long time to be waited on and we got our food piecemeal.The smoothies tasted mostly like cold milk - I'm not sure if they ran out of fruit? The other food was good - chicken salad sandwich on a croissant was yummy, breakfast sandwich was also very good; the kids liked the pigs in a blanket. The place was a little bit warm and the servers seemed really stressed. It sounds like they are in a transition time between owners; this place has a lot of potential. I would definitely go back and give it another try.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doodlebug4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portatam, Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Bundys was sold May 21, 2012 and is no longer open...the restaurant that is reviewed here is called "Eats Port A"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We ate breakfast her three mornings and it was great, staff is very friendly but they run out of stuff quickly so get there early.

Thank Debra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portatam, Owner at That Takes the Cake, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2012

Bundys was sold May 21, 2012...the restaurant that was reviewed here is called "Eats Port A"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed That Takes the Cake also viewed

Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
Port Aransas, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing