We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Seafood ”

Dirty Al's at Pelican Station
Ranked #9 of 50 Restaurants in Port Isabel
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Best seafood restaurant in port isabel Texas, owned by the Salazar family owners of original Dirty Al's on south padre island
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

Stopped in here on a Tuesday around 4:00. It wasn’t very busy and we were seated right away. Our waitress took our drink order and it was happy hour. We started with two appetizers for the four of us. A dozen raw oysters and New Orleans shrimp. The oysters were large, fresh and plump. The shrimp were large and tasty. I had the Pelican combo with fried oysters, shrimp and fish along with fries. It came to the table hot and everything was tasty. Everyone else enjoyed their meals. We will stop in again.

Thank Ron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Thank you for visiting Pelican Station. We are pleased you enjoyed the food. Happy hour is the best time to stop by and enjoy a drink! We looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

I have eaten at Dirty Al’s on the island before and the food was always decent. This restaurant has the same owners, but it has more scenic views and the building is classier (clean tables). It almost has a rustic church feeling with all the wooden floors, rails, etc. The seafood was fresh, cooked well, and tasted great. The portions are huge, remember this when you order. I made the mistake of ordering way too much. There is a nautical theme and it has a large tv that plays sports. The staff were friendly and attentive when we went there, but it wasn’t busy. The biggest complaint I had was the cost. It was a little pricey for surf and turf. Granted the portions are big, I didn’t feel it was worth the money. The best part of this place is the train car in the front, my kids loved it.

Pros: ample seating, fresh seafood, and friendly staff

Cons: expensive and not a great beer / wine selection

Thank johnhansen1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joriu1965, Director of operations at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

It might be somehow late ,but we still owe it to you, because you took the time to express your contentment or disappointment and we want to make it right so if you had a good experience we are happy and please accept our apologies for a bad experience If we didn't meet your expectations . We appreciate your comments because it will help us to correct the wrong and hope that you give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

One of my favorite dining spots in Port Isabel. Al has popular selections from his other eateries...all excellent. I love watching the pelicans on the breakers. Enjoy the nostalgic fotos of the railroad and area. Bring your catch for the chef to prepare. You won't be disappointed.

Thank loscorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

We are glad you enjoy the food, the view and the decor. We appreciate your recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

I enjoyed very much the place, recommend it for the food and also for the location and the view. The place is very well refurbished to look old fashion style, while very well preserved.

Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joriu1965, Director of operations at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

It might be somehow late ,but we still owe it to you, because you took the time to express your contentment or disappointment and we want to make it right so if you had a good experience we are happy and please accept our apologies for a bad experience If we didn't meet your expectations . We appreciate your comments because it will help us to correct the wrong and hope that you give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

It was my wife's sister and brother-in-laws 50th anniversary. We came with a group of Saturday night with a reservation. We were seated immediately as the table was set up and ready for us. We ordered in shifts as eating was not our real priority and it took us a while to figure out what we wanted. We started with drinks and were unsure on appetizers. By the time the drinks came we were ready for the appetizers. We got several including peel and eat shrimp and a couple of combo platters with 4 items each and oysters on the half shell. The fried mushrooms and seafood stuffed jalapenos were great. The oysters were fresh and delicious according to the oyster eaters in the group.

Between the group we got a wide array of dishes and everyone seemed to like what they got. I had the fried shrimp and oysters. My only "complaint" is it comes with french fries and the only option is a salad substituted for an additional cost. Other meals come with garlic mashed potatoes and I would like to have been able to substitute onion rings (which I could not get the crew to make a part of the appetizer platters).

The server was initially very attentive, but as the evening wore down so did she. But when asked was always willing to accommodate. She even brought the celebrating couple a piece of cheese cake to share.

The restaurant is one of several owned by “Dirty Al” in the area and a tv played a loop of commercials for the establishments which included watching several of the dishes we had order being prepared. That was interesting.

There were several large groups and the restaurant accommodated them all. This is not a place to go if you are in a hurry or if you are looking for a cheap meal. But the food was good, the atmosphere positive and it has a nice view of the bay. I would certainly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank billybob76511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirty_Als_Mgmnt, Public Relations Manager at Dirty Al's at Pelican Station, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We are pleased your large party enjoyed the food and service. The restaurant is quite spacious and accommodates large parties. Unfortunately, you are right the food slows down a bit because of it. We are glad everyone enjoyed their meal. Keep us in mind for all other celebrations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dirty Al's at Pelican Station also viewed

Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Port Isabel, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Dirty Al's at Pelican Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing