We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
369 results
Traveller rating
80
84
73
57
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
84
73
57
75
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 369 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

After checking several hotels in the town, we came across this hotel. The location was excellent and easily accessible. We will definitely stay again when we come to San marcos. We really enjoyed the breakfast and the staff was helpful as well.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank DelilahChavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. On behalf of our entire staff at Howard Johnson. we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2018

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We found this online as we were traveling thru San Marcos for 1 night. Their pictures do not represent these rooms. We tried to get our money back and they refused unless they sold out. The room smelled like smoke, fresh stains on the floor, you had to use your shoulder to open the door. The bathroom door knob was screwed on, there was a dryer sheet on the bathroom vent, mold everywhere. DISGUSTING! I can't believe Howard Johnson let's this place use their name. And we paid $150!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Knop_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

I do apologize for the issue with your overall experience. This is disappointing to hear being as that we have a very organized system as to how we address and resolve all hotel and guest related issues in a prompt, timely manner. I am not sure as to how this fell through the crack, but given a second opportunity surely we would love the chance to restore your faith here at the Howard Johnson. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

checked in on fri with service dog (disabled vet)... tried o make us pay pet fee, stopped that but they made us move from 1st floor room to 2nd floor because of "possible dog dander" (was unable to find other rooms else wheres n if did would forfeit $ due to last min cancel)...had to have family help me up stairs most of the weekend... checked out sun morning n was told was paid up (for original price fri) n no other charges... got home sun night n found after we left that they went n charged us pet fee..
U.S. Department of Justice
Civil Rights Division
Disability Rights Section...
People with disabilities who use service animals cannot be isolated from other patrons, treated less favorably than other patrons, or charged fees that are not charged to other patrons without animals...Allergies and fear of dogs are not valid reasons for denying access or refusing service to people using service animals....

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jfrede609026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kim8610, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson by Wyndham San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

We sincerely apologize for the issues and lack of service you experienced during your recent stay with us.it was most disappointing to see your feedback, as the entire team works very hard to provide clean,comfortable accommodations and superior customer service to all our guests.which did not happen with you.we are truely sorry,and hope that you will consider giving us the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.Thanks mikep general manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews