We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey but great atmosphere and food.”

Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Great relaxed restaurant. View of the ocean. Food was fresh and very tasty. Chips and salsa excellent. Family had the salmon and loved it. I had the coconut shrimp. good size and great flavor. Would eat there again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dheld1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you! We're delighted you enjoyed eating at our little beach-side Cafe. I adore our wild caught salmon....it's sooooo yummy!

Thanks for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate it!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Boys went off fishing so looked up spot on beach for breakfast. This is it. Cafe on the Beach. Located at a quaint hotel on the beach. Good only surpassed by service

Thank Christy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you! We sincerely appreciate your review. We love love love to delight our guests.
Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

great place to have breakfast. eggs ben are second best after Edison in NY portions big as usual kids loved this place.

Thank CSB1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

We're so pleased you enjoyed our traditional Eggs Benedict! Try the BLT version next time (thick-cut bacon, real lobster meat, and fresh tomato). Yum!!!
Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with other Trip Advisor readers. We sure appreciate it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This restaurant has the best beach views! The food is fresh and well presented. Service is good. Especially like the blackened shrimp tacos and tortilla soup. Their grilled red snapper is the best.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Birdbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

We're so happy you enjoyed dining with us! There's something very special about the unique combination of delicious freshly prepared food, great service and a breathtaking view of the beach. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other Trip Advisor readers! We sincerely appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

We stay at the Palms every time we visit South Padre and we eat at the restaurant many time. Our most recent visit was the last week of June and we ate breakfast 5 out of our 7 mornings there. The Eggs Benedict is the best we've ever had; it's such a huge serving that my husband and I usually split it. My new favorite is the Breakfast Taco (I had it with chorizo). It is ginormous!! And probably the best breakfast taco I've had. Combine all that with some mimosas and enjoy the gulf breeze and the view and you get a wonderful experience. We also eat lunch and dinner here on occasion; we do like some of the other restaurants on the island for dinner, but the Palms is second to none. Not to mention the convenience when your room is a few steps away! Miss the meals there already - can't wait for the next. The resort is our favorite place to stay as well and you can't beat the convenience to the beach.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DenvBroncoGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tmetty, Owner at Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Oh my!! Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It makes all of us happy to know that you enjoyed the entire experience of staying and dining at The Palms Resort and Cafe on the Beach. It has always been our goal to offer guests a unique experience at our little beachside get-away. Your review is everything we strive to be, every time! Thank you for sharing .... and thank you for "making my day"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort also viewed

South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
South Padre Island, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Cafe on the Beach at The Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing