We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
59
52
39
34
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
59
52
39
34
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanchecking instaff was friendlyeggs and sausagecleaning staffcalled the front deskone night staybooked this hotelolive gardenwould stay here againbusiness tripgalvestonmallmainlandfreewaygulfshampoo
Filter
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Very clean, quite and affordable. The rooms were awesome very clean and a mix of traditional and modern look. It felt like a home away from home. Would love to be back in the same hotel if i am again in the area. Liked the Staff as well very polite, neat,professional and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GreatLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWPLUSTexasCIty, General Manager at Best Western Mainland Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Thank you for your recent stay at Best Western Plus Mainland Inn & Suites. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and strive hard to make sure that everyone’s stay feels like a home away from home. Thank you again, we look forward to seeing you.
LaKeysha Williams, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and enjoyed every minute. The front desk ladies were so very helpful with every request that we needed (from extra blankets to shopping and restaurant referrals). The pool was excellent and our grandchildren had a ball! The breakfast included waffles and even biscuits and gravy one morning as well as fresh fruit and muffins, cereal, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RLCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I'll start with some pros to be fair: 1) this is one of the few places in the area where you can get two queen size beds (as opposed to two doubles) in a room; and 2) you do get a microwave and a fridge, which is pretty good at this price point. It's pretty much downhill from there. There was an absolutely overpowering smell of cleaning chemicals. The rooms, carpet, and furniture were dark, the sheets were damp, the bathroom was dingy, and the back entrance (a heavily traveled area) was constantly wet , slick, and moldy due to dripping condensate. The walls and floors did not provide acceptable sound isolation. While it's not fair to say that this property is run down, it certainly is getting there. My wife insisted that we leave after one night. If you do decide to stay here (or at the neighboring Hampton or Fairfield Inn), it is only 15-20 minutes to Galveston. Note that there isn't terribly much in the area other than the Mall of the Mainland, which is half dead anyway.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlaiseCrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Hubby and I stayed here while visiting someone in the hospital down the street. The hotel looks very nice on the outside and in lobby. The hotel staff was nice while checking in as well.

When we got up to our room, it was a little stuffy inside, and the air conditioner unit made a loud rattling noise the entire time. It was hard to hear anything over the rattling. There was very minimal furniture inside the room - including not having the clothes bench that is usually near the closet.

We went down for breakfast at 7:00 AM, and the food had already been picked over.

Basically, even though we were only there for a few hours to get some shut-eye, we would probably find another Best Western to stay in for next time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lonestarbassclarinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2009

This hotel was 15 minutes from Galveston (however to get anywhere on the Island it is more like 30). The rooms were very clean and spacious and the staff wonderful. The only problem I had was that the cleaning staff was in the hall at 8 making quite a bit of noise. It might not seem like to early but we were on vacation and wanted to sleep late! Other than that the hotel was great.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maybird82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews