We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
146
41
11
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
146
41
11
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hill country weekend breakfast wooded area nice grounds yogurt new owners my husband and i close to town beautiful property wedding trees deer texas square fox bedding deck
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Booked one of the "QUAINT QUEENS" for a blended $122 a night rate (only extra fees to the rate were 6% state sales tax) for a weekend while attending a family wedding. I think 3 things are critical to a hotel stay so always prioritize reviewing the property location, a good night's rest, and a good morning shower:

LOCATION: 5/5. A 5-minute walk to downtown Wimberley having nice grounds laid out with trees and little ponds and a great outdoor feel (inclusive of some mosquitoes - bring your spray)

GOOD SLEEP: 5/5 Comfortable bedding, good functioning HVAC (wall-style unit unfortunately so a little loud and localized), ceiling fan (nice touch!). Walls are a little thin between rooms but as long as neighbors aren't throwing down too much of a party, probably OK.

SHOWER: 4/5 Nice and hot. Good pressure. Shampoo/ conditioner/ body wash containers in the shower. But the bathroom is probably the most dated part of this property - the removable shower head handle is mounted at about 4.5 feet high, and some of the components are rusted and aged. All very clean but just circa-1980's.

Other Comments:
- You can tell there are some great bones for this place to be really awesome when the upgrades by the new owners are finished. Definitely an old motel style with a line of 19 front doors all facing the outside parking lot. Some of the gutters have holes and leak onto the sidewalk, making some sections slick. Some trees overhanging the walkway so a few of us bumped our head (they did have a warning cone but put it on the ground so you are looking in the wrong place!).
- No breakfast available on weekdays but is served 8-10 on weekends with homemade egg dish (fruitatas), homemade pastry (Scones, Muffins), and fruit/ yogurt, and beverages. You do have in-room coffee.
- Nice gathering room for get-together, games, etc - a nice perk.
- Free WIFI (we didn't try it)
- Friendly management and very responsive to email.

Overall, this was about what I would expect for the price we paid, is a much more local experience and better than staying at a chain Fairfield/ Hampton/ Holiday property. We enjoyed the Wimberley Inn and would stay in the future if we were to return.

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank usflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time. The Inn is walking distance from town. They have lots of outside patio space and it's all shaded. The weekend brunch is delicious and ample. The new management is very friendly and make sure you are comfortable. Wifi and coffee are strong, Texas hospitality at it's finest. The rooms are classic and clean and we felt like we could hang and chat or do our own thing. Our toddler had a great time running around, too. Will definitely stay here when we visit Austin again. It's nice to be close to Austin but also be able to enjoy the Hill Country.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank skornelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Stopping overnight and lucky enough to find a room at this cute Inn. Reasonably priced, clean, quiet and close to shopping and restaurants. Young man at the front desk recommended a new pizzeria named Community down the street and it was awesome. They also had free breakfast which consisted of several types of frittatas, scones, fruit, yogurt, and muffins in a nice dining room. There was also wonderful coffee! Definitely will plan another stay!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cindyw3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

A treasure of a small inn near center of business yet tucked away and private in wooded area. Large clean rooms (19 rooms) and several decks that overlook woods and stream bed. A resident gray fox family (kits live under the central deck) greeted us. Excellent breakfast Saturday and Sunday in a communal dining room. Home baked Pastries & delicious savory bread pudding accompanied great coffee. Great for romantic weekend, or take several rooms for family reunion or travel with friends. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank skysherry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WimInn, Owner at Wimberley Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your stay! It's wonderful to hear your positive feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Peggy, Dan & Sophie
Wimberley Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

My family (2 millenials, a toddler, and a crawling baby) thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Wimberley Inn.

The rooms were cozy, pitch dark at night, and well-insulated from noise. The view from our Deluxe Queen room was beautiful and, most importantly, we slept SO well.

Even though it's located off the main road coming in from Driftwood, you couldn't hear the traffic one bit, and the buildings and sidewalks were far enough from the road that we felt safe letting our kids run/crawl around.

We enjoyed exploring the property, and had the chance to see plenty of birds, foxes, and deer.

The only drawbacks - the mosquitoes were just awful in this wooded area, especially around the pond, and some guests left their underwear to dry on the trees by the common area for a couple days. But both of those things can be easily fixed.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel, especially the larger queen suites, to young families and couples looking to be close to town.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews