We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base camp hotel for Capital Reef and San Rafael Swell” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whispering Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good base camp hotel for Capital Reef and San Rafael Swell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you are sightseeing Capital Reef NP or the San Rafael Swell the Whispering Sands Motel in Hanksville offers a good, basic place to stay.
The rooms are clean, with ac/heat, wi-fi and extra roll-away, if needed. Because the price is very good, during most weekends, this hotel is full, so book in advance.
We liked the staff, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmassion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    168
    46
    10
    4
See reviews for
70
178
24
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
257 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

People don't drive into Hanksville by accident. It is not a tourist destination. I was pretty glad to see any motel open, and was quite surprised at the good rates at the Whispering Sands. Then we saw the room and were very happy with our choice. We got a clean, comfortable, spacious room with free wi-fi, fridge and everything we needed. The lady owner who checked us in reviewed the 2 restaurants nearby. There is a laundry room for guests, we parked right at the door, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. catharines
Level Contributor
356 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Knowing now what this place is like I would have drove straight through to where we were going. The deadbolt had been removed from the door and the only thing left was the locking knob that did not work all the time. Slept with our luggage jammed up against the door.
The room was big enough and clean with a decent bathroom but the rest had seen better days in terms of worn out. There were no extra pillows in the room and we only discovered this after the office was closed for the night. Did not have a good sleep on that bed.
The heater/fan was noisy and had to turn it off.
Staff had a take it or leave it attitude at the desk. The only saving grace was it was cheap.
First thing next moring we were on the road again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
1,443 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I guess this is the best you can get in the landscape around it. You have to drive far to Capitol Reef National Park to get lodging and if you add the price factor, then this motel in Hanksville is an excellent choice. What was impressive was the cleanliness and the size of the room. The staff appeared a bit aloof, but they were descent enough to charge us zero for a day when the room service was not able to come. As for Hanksville, there is not much to do there except if you use it as a base to get to Bullfrog Bay on Lake Powell, where lodging is more expensive, and then continue your drive to the Capitol Reef National Park

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We came across this motel by chance, it was an excellent find, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susanpan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanksville
0.0 km away
Ticaboo Resort
Ticaboo Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Powell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
27.4 km away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.6 km away
Duke's Slickrock Campground & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Property: Whispering Sands Motel
Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price range (per night): RM332 - RM607
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing