We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base camp hotel for Capital Reef and San Rafael Swell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

If you are sightseeing Capital Reef NP or the San Rafael Swell the Whispering Sands Motel in Hanksville offers a good, basic place to stay.
The rooms are clean, with ac/heat, wi-fi and extra roll-away, if needed. Because the price is very good, during most weekends, this hotel is full, so book in advance.
We liked the staff, very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmassion_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 300 of 421 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

People don't drive into Hanksville by accident. It is not a tourist destination. I was pretty glad to see any motel open, and was quite surprised at the good rates at the Whispering Sands. Then we saw the room and were very happy with our choice. We got a clean, comfortable, spacious room with free wi-fi, fridge and everything we needed. The lady owner who checked us in reviewed the 2 restaurants nearby. There is a laundry room for guests, we parked right at the door, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilfromDayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Knowing now what this place is like I would have drove straight through to where we were going. The deadbolt had been removed from the door and the only thing left was the locking knob that did not work all the time. Slept with our luggage jammed up against the door.
The room was big enough and clean with a decent bathroom but the rest had seen better days in terms of worn out. There were no extra pillows in the room and we only discovered this after the office was closed for the night. Did not have a good sleep on that bed.
The heater/fan was noisy and had to turn it off.
Staff had a take it or leave it attitude at the desk. The only saving grace was it was cheap.
First thing next moring we were on the road again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

I guess this is the best you can get in the landscape around it. You have to drive far to Capitol Reef National Park to get lodging and if you add the price factor, then this motel in Hanksville is an excellent choice. What was impressive was the cleanliness and the size of the room. The staff appeared a bit aloof, but they were descent enough to charge us zero for a day when the room service was not able to come. As for Hanksville, there is not much to do there except if you use it as a base to get to Bullfrog Bay on Lake Powell, where lodging is more expensive, and then continue your drive to the Capitol Reef National Park

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheGlacierist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We came across this motel by chance, it was an excellent find, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susanpan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hanksville
21.6 km away
National 9 Inn
National 9 Inn
#1 of 2 in Wellington
31 reviews
0.6 km away
Duke's Slickrock Campground & RV Park
39.9 km away
Sunlit Oasis
Sunlit Oasis
#6 of 8 in Torrey
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range: RM296 - RM558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing