We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whispering Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

On our way to California, and after driving a long portion of the day, we were thrilled to find our motel for the night. We stayed in room 111, and it was immaculately clean, comfortable, and spacious. We had a complementary basket of goodies that included muffins, fruit cups, and packaged coffee mixes and hot chocolate to enjoy. The bed was exactly like ours at home. The AC was cold and it also had a microwave and a cold fridge. The room had a comfortable couch so that you didn't have to sit or lay on the bed the whole time. There was a nice folder with local info such as attractions to see and food suggestions. Highly recommend this establishment if you find yourself in need of place to spend the night near Hanksville, Utah!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sthrnpeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2017

Thank you for the wonder review. We hope to see you again if you are ever back our way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017

We were riding our motorcylce through the area and stopped here for the evening. Check in was easy. Our room was exceptionally clean, well maintained with modern decor, large and included a coffee pot, refrigerator, and microwave. There was no breakfast area, however, there were muffins, granola bars and fruit cups in the room. There were also mints on the pillows! The room included menus from local restaraunts. Chairs were arranged outside the rooms and provided a relaxing place to unwind and visit with others. Outside appearance is clean and well kept. Cons: small tv, good pillows but so so bed, poor wifi, and the ice machine was not working (possibly already emptied by others?). We felt that the room was worth what we paid and would consider staying in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D1a9v5i5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are grateful for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

We made reservations here after reading other reviews because we were riding our motorcycle and triple digit temperatures from Bryce over to Colorado we were not disappointed upon arrival the room was clean cool and refreshing check in with super quick the staff was awesome not to mention the personal touches in the room of the basket of snacks cold refrigerator and toiletries would definitely make this stop again

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to heard you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

This was our 10th year at this property. It is a reliable, comfortable , albeit modest, oasis in the middle of very remote country. Out here, one cannot expect 5-star service. But Whispering Sands offers clean, comfortable, well-appointed rooms that provide the traveler with every element of comfort you need. We are already booked for our 11th year next year.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsieurPamplemousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2017

It is always wonderful having your group stay with us. Thank you for the review. Looking forward to having you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

Hanksville was pretty much a must for our trip. Green River and Torrey added anothe 50 miles or so that we did not want. We were heading southeast and planned to spend the next evening in Blanding, UT, But we were planning on going by way of Bullfrog and crossing Lake Powell by ferry. So I phoned Whispering Sands and got an answering machine for which no call was returned. But I immediately turned around and book a room on the internet. The next day when we arrived in Hanksville at Whispering Sands a woman approached us and wanted to know what we wanted. I said I had reservations. I was told we could check in after 3PM. I asked about a restroom and was directed to the convenience store nearby. I had pretty well been told to get lost. So we went to Capitol Reef. When we got back this same woman was the desk clerk. She was polite and helpful. The room was an older room but it was clean and things worked as they were supposed to do. This hotel also had chairs out in front of the rooms. With the cars backed off ten feet, this seemed to create an atmosphere where people wanted to talk to each other. And the bed was oh so comfortable.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the "100" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank virgbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Whispering Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Sands Motel

Address: 90 So. Highway 95, PO Box 158, Hanksville, UT 84734
Region: United States > Utah > Hanksville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanksville
Price Range: RM252 - RM434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Whispering Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hanksville motel gives you a great central location in the grand circle of southern Utah's national parks; this is why Whispering Sands Motel is premium Hanksville lodging. Enjoy the Satellite TV, wireless internet, air conditioning, and clean/comfy rooms that do include Fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Whispering Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Sands Hotel Hanksville
Whispering Sands Hanksville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing