We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hanksville Inn(Hanksville)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Capitol Reef Resort(Torrey)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noor Hotel(Torrey)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$110
RodewayInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
US$129
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$120
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (445)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
176
198
55
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
198
55
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgoblin valleysmall townlake powellcapitol reefcontinental breakfastplace to staycabin roomsgas stationstan's burger shackstate parkconvenience storeremote locationworked finemicrowave and refrigeratorcoffee makerbeds were comfortableduke's slickrock grill
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

The Whispering Sands is actually a very comfortable motel, reasonably priced, clean, and a pleasant staff.
It's not luxury accommodations, but more than adequate and better than you might expect in this dusty little village. We used it as base camp for a hike into the Horseshoe Canyon area, and it proved a very good choice.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Really nice place in the absolute middle of nowhere. Nice little town with a decent restaurant no too far from the motel. Clean and attractive room. Laundry facility is a great feature. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the attached "cabins". Very quiet and convenient to the car.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfoot14b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I have stayed here several times over the last few years. It is clean, quiet, and at a good price. The staff are very nice and helpful. I've tried other motels in the area and been disappointed. I have not been disappointed with Whispering Sands. Great respite in Hanksville.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CrustyCurmudgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your review and thank you for returning to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

We had stopped in Hanksville during roadtrips in 2007 and 2011, but this was the first time we decided to spend the night here. The Whispering Sands Motel is a motel with small rooms and comfortable beds. It is a five minute walk to Duke's Slickrock Grill were we had dinner and breakfast. Apparently, Whispering Sands and Duke's are owned by the same person, just like half of the rest of Hanksville. This is an excellent stop for a traveller who is seeking a bed for a night.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Will de d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your review of our motel. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We stayed at this motel for 1 night when visiting Capitol Reef, Goblin Valley and Lake Powell. There aren't a lot of choices in the area and I chose this motel based on Tripadvisor and the fact that they offer a wheelchair accessible room. I found it difficult to reach someone at the hotel by telephone, so I made the reservation online many months in advance to guarantee a room. Note that the reservations must be prepaid, which made me a bit nervous. A couple of weeks before our visit I contacted the hotel to confirm the reservation and found email to be the best means. When we arrived on the appointed day, there were no issues- our room was ready and the manager was friendly and helpful (even when we locked the key in the room). This is not a typical chain motel. Rooms open to the outside and you can park right in front of your room. We stayed in one of the cabin rooms (#100) which was not huge but had everything we needed. It contained a comfortable queen bed, table with 2 chairs, storage cabinet with drawers and TV on top, easy chair, refrigerator, microwave, window-mounted heat & a/c unit, alarm clock, hair dryer, bedside tables and 3 lamps (in addition to ceiling light), coffee maker and ice bucket, and of course towels and washcloths. Management provided complimentary toiletries (soap, shampoo, lotion) and convenient, portable continental breakfast items (2 muffins, fruit cups, cereal bars, bottled water, coffee, tea and cocoa). The motel does not have telephones in the rooms but our Verizon cell worked fine. Power outlets were limited (most were occupied). There were 2 patio chairs for relaxing outside under the covered walkway. There are 2 convenience markets within walking distance and also fuel stations. There are 2-3 restaurants in town and there was a discount coupon in the room for breakfast at Dick's Slickrock Grill. We were able to pick up some groceries around the corner at Bull Mountain Market and eat in our room. Our room was on the end next to US95 but we were not disturbed by traffic noise. Note to travelers with disabilities: Room 100 was workable for my wheelchair but not ADA compliant. There is a low threshold into the room (1-2 inches) and a small step up from the parking surface to the sidewalk (might be able to roll around up onto the end of sidewalk through the gravel). There were no grab-bars for the tub shower or toilet, no hand-held sprayer, and the sink was too low to roll under. Space in the room was a bit tight but okay for one night (see my photos). Staff left a comment card in the room and I offered some suggestions. I hope they will make a few improvements because it's a nice place to stay. We were quite comfortable there and I thought it was a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CrankingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JenPei_72, Manager at Whispering Sands Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your review and insight. We appreciate others ideas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews