We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aikens Lodge(Kanab)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$127
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
72
64
19
16
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
64
19
16
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade muffinsthe managersbit outdatedgreat managementgreat conversationgreat charactermom and popseen better dayswi fieach morningmini fridgechain hotelsmotelcassiepbcerealneon
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016

we stayed at the fun and sun motel in mid sept for several days and had no complaints. this is a 1950's motel with it's quirks, not a holiday Inn. our room was clean with a mini fridge, free wifi and cable. breakfast consisted of fresh homemade muffins, pastries, cereal, coffee and tea. Don was very helpful with things to do in the area. the only negative is that if you are a big person, the shower stall is tiny, but that can't be helped. for Kanab, which is a very popular destination, this is a great bang for your buck

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank paulandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We reserved a family room two weeks in advance by phone. We gave our credit card number twice and were given the room number as confirmation. When we arrived at the motel at about 5:30 PM, we were told that we had no reservation because we had not given a credit card number. We made it clear that we had a confirmation number and had given our credit card information. At that point, we were told there were no rooms available and were asked to leave. We had to travel an hour and a half to find another hotel.

The next morning, our credit card (which they "didn't have"?) was billed for lodging (which we didn't get). After a number of calls, the credit was given.

Ou advice: book at your own risk.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Aubreyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonandCassi M, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

You can put this review all over the internet and it won't change the fact that I have the last word! Out of 3 years and 3865 guests a year which would be 11,595 guests that stay with us here at The Sun N Sand Motel this has happened twice (really just once and you but yours was your fault). But it does not change the fact that when you came into my office at 5:30 pm that day, you gave me the wrong name and that is why you did not have a reservation with us. I tried to told you that I did not have that name on the list and that's when your attitude came out and you got nothing but a long drive somewhere else! So when the name that you made the reservation with did not show up that night I charged your card and when I put two and two together I stopped the charges on your card. Then your bank called me the next day to inform me of the charges I told them I have all ready taking care of it, so for you to make it sound like you called me several times before it was taking care of is just a lie to make me sound bad. All in all with the attitude you showed me in my office you weren't getting a room with us anyway! The moral of the story is don't come in my office with a attitude and when you put your opinion online there is always two sides of the story! Go head and put this every where you need to feel good about yourself it won't help! Now quit crying and move on with your life, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We took a room here when a change of plans brought us through Kanab at last minute. There was nothing else available in town so we took the room despite the high price. The room transported us back to about 1940, and the mattress probably actually was that old. Free breakfast was pathetic. Don't stay unless your only option is to sleep in your car.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonandCassi M, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2016

I will say the same thing that I said on booking.com to you. I would think of it this way, if you would have planned ahead you might not of got the last room in town. The smart people had a nice room. As far as the breakfast goes, pathetic is a harsh word. The fact that most people say great things about my breakfast says a lot about you, now don't it? I guess I could have made you a full breakfast and bring it to your room.I think that your just mad at yourself for not planning ahead and need to take it out on someone! Now try and h ave a great day, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We booked this hotel for 2 nights and yes it needs some work but its clean good size fridge the best bed we have had in 7 weeks in the USA . Anyone who lives in hot desert area knows that evaporative air is the best and a ceiling fan also is a bonus. The breakfast was better than most chain motels cereal toast coffee OJ muffins jams peanut butter and a great place to talk to other guests and learn bout the world . The big selling point for us was the use of a bbq to cook our dinner and their are shops within 200 meters ,and don will help with salt pepper etc and cooking utensils. All in all we really enjoyed our 2 nights thanks Don from Stuart and Sue

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfg62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Highly misrepresented. We arrived late or would have changed motels. First, the bathroom window was missing. Yes, literally, no window. There was a sunscreen mesh thing nailed to a frame shoved in the hole but could have been easily pried out. There was a mini blind but left us feeling vulnerable with no privacy. The bed area had a window that didn't close all the way. We actually barricaded the bathroom door (just in case). After a temperature over 100 degrees that day, there was no A/C and the room was stuffy. The shower head came out of the wall about chin high, and neither the TV or frig worked like they should so we didn't get to use either. At check-in, he said in response to the bad reviews online that he would fix anything wrong if people just made him aware of it. In this case, he knew the condition that room was in and he told us it was his last room. The really POOR decision on his part was to overcharge us. We reserved a one queen bed room one day in advance but at check-in he says, "even though you asked for a one queen I got you in a two queen" like he was doing us a favor but then charged us the higher rate. They advertised a breakfast but we can't rate it because we left as soon as we could and never went to breakfast. Seriously, go somewhere else if you want to get what you pay for and a good nights rest, worry free. We have no reason to review this in any way other than what we experienced. We thought the online reviews sounded "vintage, quaint" but it was old, dirty, unsafe and then we were deliberately overcharged.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trombley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DonandCassi M, Manager at Sun-n-Sand Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

I'm sorry you feel this way. I will have to say that when you came in my office late that night and told me that you had a reservation with us, I told you that you did not (you never gave me a C/C number to hold the room) and that I still could accommodate you seeing that the town was full and there was not a room for 100 miles. I told you that the only room I had left was clean but that it was in the process of getting fix back up from a previous renter (so I was not going to rent it out that night)! You had no problem with that at the time but now I see you did have a problem with it! As far as the TV and Refrigerate It would have worked if you plugged them in! I do not feel that I overcharged you seeing that I gave it to you for a queen price which is a lot cheaper that a Double Queen price! I would also like to say that there is a 8 foot wall that runs along the back of the motel that is locked and has no access to anyone but me! There is A/C in the room and it works just fine! All in all the only " POOR" decision I feel I made that night is to rent that room out to try and help someone that needed a room! Very sorry you had a bad stay with us but remember that there is always two sides to every story, Don

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews