We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,986)
Filter reviews
6,986 results
Traveller rating
4,217
2,046
512
141
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,217
2,046
512
141
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no alcohol gift shop sunset and sunrise valley floor navajo nation top floor unobstructed view lives up to its name front row rooms face the sun rise private balcony full moon place to stay visiting monument valley trading post jeep tour
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 6,986 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2019 via mobile

My husband is very ill and want to see the Mittens. He's had a picture of them on his work computer for years.

We finally got to the room. (PRINT your confirmation number. They will not take it from your cell phone.) My husband went to open the drapes and was greeted buy the stunning vista of Monument Valley. The Mittens were right in front of us.

The room was clean and comfortable. Having that view from the balcony was worth every penny.

Beware the dinning room is over priced and the food was pretty awful. Recommend driving the 26 miles to town for Navajo tacos. Also the gift shop grossly overpriced and poor quality. Save your cash for some of the Navajo artists at the roadside of the Valley floor.

You can take a tour or drive yourself on a 17 mile loop. We drove ourselves and it took most of the day because every few feet I had to get out and take pictures.

Very glad we were able to make the trip.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank 399irenet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2019

We aren't big spenders but it was totally worth it to stay at The View. To wake up and watch the sun rise over exquisite rock formations from your balcony is heaven! We had a king suite that was especially spacious and lovely. The service was great and the restaurant was so convenient after a long day in the park. They only serve guests after 7pm so we never had to wait long. The food is fine, plentiful, and very inexpensive.

We were bummed out though that our king suite #130 was the only room that didn't have a truly unobstructed view. There's a big dirt berm right in front of the balcony that prevents taking a good photo of the panorama from there. Avoid that room if you want to take pictures from your balcony.

If you like to stargaze go on a moonless night and get a 3rd floor room, king or queen, as far from the restaurant as possible (to get away from the lights from the patio). Not only is the view even better, but the 3rd floor balconies are partially open so you can stargaze from them. And oh boy the night skies are amazing at that altitude in an area with almost no light pollution! I think the 2nd floor rooms have pretty good sky viewing, too. Since our balcony was completely covered we found a spot outside to stargaze.

Another advantage of staying at The View is that you're already past the park gate and can drive into the park easily when the light is best, early or late.

You will have to wait in a long, slow line to buy your pass and get through the gate to the hotel (and park) initially, so allow an extra 15 minutes for that. If you leave and return, expect to wait even if you already have your park pass. We got yelled at for trying to drive through like locals do. The #1 thing that could be improved for a better visitor experience would be to clearly mark and use the middle lane for people who already have purchased passes, which are good for 2 days.

Room tip: 3rd floor rooms have even better views and open balconies for stargazing
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019 via mobile

Definately the best place to stay in or near Monument Valley. Expensive but the location is absolutely worth it. Personnel is very friendly, accomodation is comfortable, food is okay. Do not expect an indulgence of luxury, but do expect a comfortable place with magnificent views from both your room and the public areas.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brigitte1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2019

This is one hotel that I could visit every year as the view from any of its rooms is spectacular. We stayed here in 2016 and the only change that we can see is in the gift shop , where there's more jewellery on sale. The facilities in the room are the same, with coffee/tea machine, a fridge and a microwave as well as a terrace to just sit and admire the view during the resplendent sunset. We did not eat lunch or dinner a the restaurant but our impression of breakfast was that it was better than the last time we stayed at the hotel. The service as also good with the staff genuinely interested in helping the guests.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019

Staying here is like being on a Western Movie set - the hotel is very well designed, with terrific views of Monument Valley yet blending into the surroundings.
Our room had a great view of the valley and was comfortable.
Dinner and breakfast were average at best, though service was good.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews