We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a mess, Hotel under major renovovation/construction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn - South Jordan - SLC South
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in South Jordan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I have stayed at this hotel many times and never had such a mess. The hotel is under a major renovation to change to a Holiday Inn and the construction inside the hotel and on the outside is major. the noise, the re-routing of guests to get into the hotel with no handicap entrance or parking with a ramp, the dust on everything and the fruit fly's in the dining room are just too much. When I booked multiple rooms for our family stay for 4 nights I was not informed of the construction or any change to the hotel. I also confirmed our reservation 3 days prior to arrival and again not informed. When we arrived it appeared the hotel was closed, we went in a construction entrance to a temporary office where I asked why I was not informed I was told they are suppose to tell people but it seems this is not happening. We were offered a soda and or a candy/nuts to help offset the mess of the hotel. The dining room has fruit fly's all over the food and your breakfast. The rooms were fully remodeled and very nice but getting to them was a little challenging due to the uneven floors ( torn up carpet/tile) and the dust every where was unreal. The staff was nice and kept apologizing for the mess and inconvenience but I would really like to have been informed prior to my arrival and given the chance to go somewhere else. The construction crews were working on the front of the hotel and our rooms were also on the front of the hotel so at 7 am we had the crane lifts beeping outside our windows and the crew began cutting off the siding and windows of our rooms with us inside trying to sleep and get dressed. I really had higher expectations of the Country Inn Suites/Carlson Hotel Chain to treat the guests better. When I asked if we were getting double points or a room discount due to the construction I was advised they could not do anything. Well I will think twice before returning to a Country Inn again.

Room Tip: Another hotel while this one is under construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 320 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2016

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Pj H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 September 2016

I was disappointed that the fact the hotel was under extreme renovation was not disclosed. For the price it was still okay, but overall I still would have expected a discount, or some sort of heads up about the construction. The whole Lobby was in shambles, and my children couldn't even walk down to the pool without extreme worry and discomfort. The Breakfast was good though!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank 28adrianep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The hotel was under construction or refurbishment inside and out. Very dusty and messy inside and out. The breakfast room was infested with flys or fruit flies. We were not told about the construction until we arrived and thought that the hotel was closed. I had to go inside when I found a construction entrance and called for someone to attend the temporary front desk. Finally someone arrived and I asked if they were open and he said yes. I had reservations and asked why we were not told about the construction. Well he said we can offer you a water, soda and your choice of candy bar for your inconvenience! Our family had a block of three rooms reserved for four days and no one was informed. In the morning we were awakened by construction cranes outside our window using a saw to cut into the siding with workers behind our blinds.

Room Tip: Pick another location or wait until construction complete. Its going to be a Holiday Inn hotel, not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Jordan
1.2 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Salt Lake City/South Jordan, UT
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sandy
0.4 km away
Sleep Inn South Jordan
Sleep Inn South Jordan
#4 of 6 in South Jordan
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hampton Inn Salt Lake City/Sandy
1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City / Sandy
3.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Salt Lake City Draper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn - South Jordan - SLC South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn - South Jordan - SLC South

Address: 10499 S Jordan Gtwy, South Jordan, UT 84095-3915 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Salt Lake City South Towne)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > South Jordan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in South Jordan
Price Range: RM 396 - RM 671 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn - South Jordan - SLC South 3*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Holiday Inn South Jordan. Salt Lake’s newest and most modern Holiday Inn hotel. We are located just minutes away from all of Salt Lake City’s major attractions and business, landmarks, outdoor activities, world class skiing at Alta, Brighton, Snowbird, and Solitude Resorts, as well as shopping, museums and events. Business and leisure travelers can unwind in our modern rooms featuring plush pillow top beds, free Wi-Fi, work desks, 43” flat screen televisions, plus microwaves, mini fridges, and gourmet coffee, so you can work and relax in comfort and style. Our new South Jordan hotel features everything you need for an enjoyable, stress free stay. Our business center, 24/7 market, indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness center are available 24 hours. Got a spill? We offer dry cleaning and onsite laundry services. We offer complimentary shuttle services to nearby destinations. Hungry? Enjoy delicious cuisine at our full-service restaurant and bar, open for breakfast and dinner, where kids eat free. With convenient access to UTA Front Runner & Trax stations our South Valley hotel offers quick access to the Cottonwood Ski Resorts, City Creek Center, Temple Square, South Towne Mall, Thanksgiving Point, Cabela’s, Salt Palace Convention Center, South Towne Exposition Center, Gardner Village, Rio Tinto Stadium, and Corner Canyon Equestrian Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn - South Jordan - SLC South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Salt Lake City/South Towne
Country Inn & Suites Salt Lake City/South Towne Hotel South Jordan
Country Inn South Jordan
South Jordan Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing