We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Autumn Mountain Winery & Cabins(Brandon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brandon Inn(Brandon)
US$165
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swallow's Nest(Brandon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
184
11
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
11
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand suitebeautiful gardencafe provencegracious hostsbreakfast was deliciousold mansionfive yearsromantic getawayfresh fruitwood burning fireplacewine and cheeseentire weekendeach morningdaughter's weddingpastrybed and breakfastmade us feel
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2018

Planned a trip to Brenden for snowshoeing, although the weather didn't cooperate, our stay at the Lilac inn was great! Shelley and Doug were very genuine.
The property is amazing even though it's winter I can imagine how beautiful the landscape is in the spring/summer. There are two sitting areas on the main floor, one with a great fire place which we thoroughly enjoyed, both evenings we stayed. Our accommodations were in the Garden room, it has an updated bathroom and the bedroom / bed were very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent, with fruit and a bread offering, then a choice of two main dished.
They are also dog friendly which I think is great!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grdnT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018

Thank you for being our guests for your snowshoeing weekend. We are fortunate to have six working fireplaces in the Inn and they are always popular with winter guests.

We hope that you can come back in the summer times and enjoy our nearly two acres of perennial gardens. As you noted, we are indeed dog friendly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Wonderful building with historical features beautifully maintained. Excellent food. Bar is cozy. Comfortable rooms. Hosts make an effort to get to know you. Great place for group socializing. Hated to leave

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary Melvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2018


Thank you for being our guests and for your comments. We are so glad our Inn is still welcoming guests after a hundred years. As we mentioned, the building was almost torn down thirty years ago and it would have been a horrible loss. We feel more like custodians than owners and love having groups that can enjoy the ambiance of our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Pros:
- Beautiful B&B.
- Wonderful hosts/owners. Shelly was exceptionally attentive and remembered everything we requested.
- Excellent room with a wood burning fireplace.
- Breakfasts were very good.
- Library is a great spot to relax in front of a big wood fireplace.
- Overall a very charming, quaint B&B. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Cons:
- Room a bit dusty in hard to reach places, but was clean where it mattered.
- If you are there when an event is being hosted, it can be a bit noisy, but not excessive and not too late.
- Antique style tub faucets look nice but can be hard to get the shower to a stable temperature.
- Breakfast was omelettes two days in a row. Would be nice to change up the egg options (fried, poached, scrambled etc).

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank iDogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for being our guests for a romantic getaway weekend in one of our three fireplace guest rooms. We are glad you were able to enjoy the library fireplace, too. Our breakfast menu always includes eggs any style you like, plus omelets. So, we will be sure that you have eggs just the way you like for your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

From the moment we stepped inside, this once upon a time mansion had the feeling of comfort and charm. Doug and Shelly are wonderful hosts. Always offering with ideas, directions and of course their wonderful breakfasts. We had a suite with a fireplace and they always made sure we never ran out of firewood. The rooms are spacious and the beds very comfortable. The whole house made one feel that you were at home. So happy we found The Lilac Inn. Since we will be back and forth the next few months we do not have to look anymore for lodging. Highly recommend ! Thank you Doug and Shelly for making us feel so welcome!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank BarbaraW75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2017

Thank you for staying with us and we are glad you were able to enjoy the warmth and ambiance of the fireplace in your guest room. Even though the Lilac Inn began life as The Arches, a summer mansion, the owners had enough foresight to incorporate six wood burning fireplaces. We are very glad that you will spending more time in Vermont and look forward to welcoming you back to our Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Charming establishment in a sweet Vermont town. Our room was comfortable, very clean and common areas were welcoming. If you like to walk or hike on forest trails this location is well placed to find the perfect spot without a lengthy drive. The breakfast is wonderful and from scratch. If you are seeking a place for getaway you will be pleased with the Lilac Inn.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank KAS862017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilacinn, Owner at Lilac Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to leave a review. Our village of Brandon is both centrally located to explore Vermont, as well as, being close to the Moosalamoo National Recreation area with a wide variety of hiking trails. Our inn began life as a summer mansion, custom designed for entertaining and we have updated the rooms with modern amenities while preserving its historic character. We are so glad you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast and we look forward to welcoming you back as guests for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews