We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
9
7
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
7
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Stopped here on Saturday night, May 28th. We had been driving all day and were hungry and wanted to find a "local" place to eat at. After checking "Google Maps" we were directed to another restaurant in town but it was closed for a private party.

We had noticed the Danville Inn as we drove in to town and saw the sign stating that the restaurant was "open".

The first question we were asked when entering the small but very Vermont dining room was if we had a reservation. We stated that we did not but we were quickly seated to a table. After ordering beverages, we were advised that they were serving a buffet dinner at $13.95 per person. We felt the price was quite reasonable but we did not expect the quantity or the quality of the food they offered.

The buffet included: fresh roasted turkey, ham, roast pork, roast beef, Rosemary chicken, lasagna, meat balls, baked beans, seafood newburg, turkey divan, sweat potato souffle, home made chicken/vegetable and salad with the dressing of your choice. There was also fresh bread and rolls with butter. Yes, $13.95!

They offered several desserts at an additional cost but the choices were plentiful as well.

The atmosphere was excellent and our meal was complimented with live piano music.

We found the Danville Inn by accident and we are glad we did.

Note, buffet prices on the weekends are $13.95 per adult and $11.95 on other nights. Children are $6.50 and $5.50 respectively and the buffet changes nightly. IOf traveling along route 2 in Vermont and you are hungry and close to Danville, do yourself a favor and stop.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2016

This wonderful gem is located on the main road in Danville, which made it very easy for us to visit our daughter in Walden. The owner, Steve, pays attention to every detail to ensure your stay is just perfect, and with a full service dining room in this lovely old home, there was no need to find another restaurant for breakfast or dinner (make dinner reservations!) Unfortunately, the nights we stayed at the Inn the restaurant was booked solid for dinner, but we were able to enjoy two delicious, very generous breakfast buffets. We can only assume that dinner at the Inn is just as tasty and delightfully prepared. The Danville Inn and Restaurant is a happy place to eat or stay!

Date of stay: December 2015
1  Thank DoroAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2015

We were invited to dinner to celebrate out 50th wedding anniversary. Our cousins had been before and raved about the food and atmosphere. They were spot on! It is warm and cozy, beautifully decorated, intimate. We enjoyed a fabulous buffet with many choices, all delicious! We will definitely be back, they have a breakfast buffet that is next on our list. A gem, don't miss it! We are local so we didn't stay at the inn but if it's anything like the diningroom it will be great. Very reasonable rates were posted.

Date of stay: October 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Whenever I want to go out for breakfast this is where I go. The food is sooo good! From the homemade bread to the best pancakes you'll ever have! Weekends they also have a yummy breakfast buffet where u can also order from the kitchen (eggs, toast and pancakes to order). I absolutely love this place! Service is excellent and the owner is wonderful!

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TMurray84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I ate here and stayed with my sister at the inn. The drink recommendations were on point, and, though I was planning on prime rib, I was not heartbroken to hear they were out, because I had been lured by the charms of the buffet table. There was an offering of 3 soups including and extremely good gazpacho and a borsched to die for, the salad bar was very nicely appointed with at least 2 homemade dressings, and beets both in salad with horseradish and pickled, fresh greens and fresh croutons. The sweet potato souffle was particularly delicious. We sampled the chicken and the seafood newburg, both were good.The fresh bread had a wonderful texture, topped off with fresh butter. Yes! no room for dessert

Room tip: Old style victorian charm, mens and womens bathrooms. Only double beds, on 2 bed rooms room D has a small balcony
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Catherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews