We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
100
5
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
5
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive chef canadian border next morning quebec city an appetizer special breakfast delicious homemade every bite great surprise family reunion friendly hosts cooked perfectly great meal northern vermont worth the trip new england comfortable rooms
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on our way back from Quebec City. FritZ and Paula were our hosts. Friendly, comfortable, and delicious meals. House itself wonderful, and a big plus is location of Derby Line village. Fascinating history. The village straddles the border between USA and Canada. Sorry we didn’t stay two nights to explore the village.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CarmelF68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

What a gem of a place!! This wonderfully cozy and charming inn and restaurant exceeded any expectations! We stayed for 2 nights and wish it was longer!
Paula and Fritz were gracious and friendly hosts, really attentive.
And the piece de resistance was the scrumptious dinner. Every course better than the next. Having just been to Vegas,
the food compared to that we had at Hell’s Kitchen. My main course was sway fish stuffed with crab while my honey had the Oktoberfest special, 3 Austrian specialties. If you live close by whether in Vermont or over the border, so worth the trip!

Date of stay: October 2018
Thank Anitacruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

This small inn on the Canadian border is just outstanding. Fritz and Paula are the ultimate hosts in every way. The rooms are charming and the inn staff lovely and efficient. The restaurant is as authentic Austrian/German food as you can get (I'm Austrian). I finally found an answer to my schnitzel craving, as Fritz, a decorated chef, knows his way around the kitchen and uses a lot of local purveyors and the freshest ingredients. The service is perfectly timed, friendly, and if you are lucky, Fritz will come into the dining room and play a tune or two on his accordion. For such an out of the way location, it is definitely worth the drive from either side of the border. Some Canadian friends came for dinner from Quebec, a very short drive, and were absolutely thrilled with the experience. Trust me, you can't go wrong either staying here, or just for a wonderful meal, so if you are anywhere in the area put this gem in your GPS. I will definitely be back.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cruisinsusan17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Have dined at the Derby Line Village Inn many times over the past five summers. Chef Fritz and Hostess Paula always make the experience inviting and delicious. GREAT Austrian/German cooking -- plus lots of fresh seafood and seasonal selections. Service always friendly and efficient. And prices very reasonable. Not to be missed if you're in the Northeast Kingdom any time of year!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Derby Line Village Inn is a hidden gem and we hope it remains thus. The Inn is charming in size and decor, the food is excellently prepared in every way, always hot, attractive, fresh and served by charming staff. In this wilderness of restaurants at the top end of Vermont it is indeed a jewel. The owners are experienced restauranteurs and devoted to ensuring a great meal and a good time.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank rodc198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews