We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must go!”

Root's Ski & Snowboard
Ranked #2 of 8 Shopping in Killington
Attraction details
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

Amazing! Super professional, super courteous, super knowledged, super experience. After having a horrendous experience at another ski shop down the road, we walked into Roots and received the best customer service. The employees were very helpful and so nice. Best of all, the service was so efficient! We were in and out and the entire process was so seamless. This is a definite must go when in Killington!!

Thank Marjorie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

3 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Came in for boot rental and received nothing but great service from ron ,the very nice and knowledable man who took care of us.I will always come to roots and will tell all my friends to go there too.

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Super helpful, super easy, amazing experience. We got in and out in ten minutes, with well fitted gear and some tips and tricks.

Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here today in search of ski rentals for the day. He is considered a type one skier I'm on the border of type 2/3 (been out a couple years with an injury) and we just wanted something basic to get us back in the swing of things. We noticed Roots was the least expensive with good reviews so we thought we would give it a try. I must say you get what you pay for. We rented boots only to fit on our own personal skis where the young man working did not properly set the brackets. We discovered this after one run at Killington where both our skis felt off. We decided to return the boots and head to northern ski works (best place ever) right up the road where they confirmed that the man didn't seem to know what he was doing. Thank goodness we decided to start on an easy run or something could have gone very wrong. Go to Northern Ski Works if you want safe reliable service and equipment that won't cause you to waste hours of your day. Just avoid it completely.

Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken R, Owner at Root's Ski & Snowboard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Emily B, Thank you for your feedback. We take great pride in our customer service. However, your claims are a mystery to me. First, our store policy is NEVER to rent ski boots only. Second, that is because we don't adjust any brackets i.e. ski binding that are not ours. Our policy is to send those types of requests to either Northern Ski Works or the Basin Ski Shop.
I don't understand your complaint it is contrary to all our store policies. Also we have no record of you Emily B renting from us as you describe. Cordially, Ken Root, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2015

Stopped by to buy a pair of snowboarding gloves. The manager gave me a discount on what it is supposed to be a descent pair of gloves but one glove broke when I adjusted it at the mountain. I wore them all day and stopped by the shop on the way back to see if they could exchange the gloves. Al, the manager was very rude and reluctant to provide any customer service stating that once merchandise is sold the shop is not responsible and that they do not do any exchanges for damaged goods sold.
I asked him to provide me with the manufacturer contact information and he refused to help with that too. I was respectful to Al he did ask me to leave the shop and that he was done talking. I shook hands with him and thanked him for the horrible customer service. I would never recommend any of my friends to buy or rent any gear from this shop.

Thank JEM2015Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Root's Ski & Snowboard also viewed


Been to Root's Ski & Snowboard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing