We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Real Deal”
Review of Sam's Steakhouse

Sam's Steakhouse
Ranked #2 of 45 Restaurants in Ludlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$29
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Steaks, seafood and salad bar are our specialties. Dry aged steaks - porterhouse, bone-in ribeye, bone-in sirloin, filet mignon, hanger steak, and prime rib. Seafood selections include oysters, king crab, hi tuna, scallops, lobster tails, salmon and shrimp.Prefer comfort foods? How about pot roast, meatloaf, mac & cheese, chicken teriyaki and baby back ribs. Always a crowd pleaser is the Surf & Turf Combo. We'll help pair the perfect bottle of wine to complement your dinner. Visit us to enjoy Ludlow's finest steakhouse!
Reviewed 19 December 2016

Sam's looks like every other small town steakhouse with a salad bar and a big TV over the bar. However the food here, especially the steaks are a major cut above. They dry age some of their cuts and you can taste it. Even the prime rib, not from the dry aged section was excellent. One of our party had the Faroe Island Salmon and it was fabulous, flavorful and not overcooked, slightly pink in the center. The fries were not soggy or feh, common in these types of joints. They were really crisp and you wanted to eat every single one. The sald bar was fine. The good quality oil and vinegar were very much appreciated as were the seeds. The bread was quite good too.
Not cheap but quality meat costs. The bone-in ribeye was $39 but it easily fed two. Also that ribeye came with a side and the salad bar so the three of us got out of there for under a hundred with one beer. That is really terrific value for this level of quality. This restaurant really cares about quality.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GrillMeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Found this restaurant on TripAdvisor. Listed as #1 restaurant in Ludlow, VT. They weren't lying. Plenty of parking. Plenty of seating. Clean inside. Great atmosphere. Good for groups or a romantic night out. Steaks were great. Filets. All our apps were really good as well. Bob was our server. Awesome and funny. Overall a great night out. Food was amazing. Would definitely go back.

1  Thank Pil255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamsManager, General Manager at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2017

We appreciate your feedback, and are so thrilled that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to serving you time and time again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

We have been going to Sam's for many years through various ups and downs. The latest incarnation is terrific. The menu has a great selection of dishes and the prime rib is tastier than ever. The salad bar has an ample choice of fresh items. The restaurant has been redecorated in a very attractive, yet comfortable, way. Service, as always, is very friendly and efficient.

2  Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2016

heard and read alot about this place and lets just say its a little misleading. the salad bar was ehhhhh the cocktails were far from special however i did have a five star server whos name was kevin he walked me through the menu and satisfied all my needs

3  Thank heather l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILoveHospitality, Owner at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

I am sorry you did not feel we lived up to our reputation during. We’ve taken your comments to heart and have made some very recent operational improvements to ensure we are delivering the kind of experience that makes Sam’s a favorite in Ludlow. I am pleased, however, that Kevin was helpful and pleasant. Please give us another try. I think you’ll be pleased now. Thank you. ~Paul Olson, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016

Restaurant is good. ....Salad bar very good...Service very good
Visited After Thanksgiving in November
Was So Disappointed...No Early Bird.
Do Realize You Want To Cater To Ski Population....But.......
How About Us Older Locals that are on fixed incomes?

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank happypotter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamsManager, General Manager at Sam's Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We're so thrilled to hear that you enjoy the Salad Bar and overall dining experience here at Sam's.

The Early Bear runs seven months out of the year and was created with our beloved locals in mind. We hope you'll take advantage of our new VIB Membership which entitles you to 10% off of every meal for the entire year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sam's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Sam's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing