We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Halibut!”

Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Owned by an ACF "Vermont Chef-of-the-Year", serving quality food for a moderate price & open 7 nights a week! Patio seating available in warm weather. Choose from a lunch, bar or dinner menu in a casual atmosphere. We also carry a late night menu on Friday and Saturday and will gladly do take-out food anytime. STEAK, SEAFOOD, SALAD BAR, SPIRITS, SPORTS BAR...Raven's Den Steakhouse and Taproom has been met with overwhelmingly positive reviews. The restaurant is spacious and welcoming with its simple, clean rustic/industrial design. Some unique features are: an all-you-can-eat salad bar with seasonal local produce (included with your dinner entrée), craft cocktails, relaxing seating area in front of a large stone fireplace in the taproom, wines-on-tap, award-winning wine collection with one of the largest (& guaranteed fresh) wines-by-the-glass list. There is an attractive taproom (lodge-like) ambience offering craft cocktails, 11 beer taps & hard cider, 5 wine taps, plus 4 HD televisions to watch the game. We have a professional & friendly staff who look forward to serving you.
Reviewed 27 July 2015

We were planning on steak, but the Halibut looked too good to pass up! The food was not only presented well, it tasted very good! We enjoyed the fresh salad bar and could have easily made that a whole meal. It was not crowded so we did not understand being seated in the bar area where big screen TV was distracting thus the "very good" rating. The waitress was attentive and friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phillip_Phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

We will happily seat guests wherever they want to sit. All menu's (dinner, bar, lunch) are available anywhere in the restaurant, but there can be a different "feel" if you sit in the taproom where the BIG screen TV's are versus in the dining room. We are proud to appeal to a variety of tastes. Please do not hesitate to share your seating preference with the person who is seating you and we will happily accommodate you as best we can (sometimes all the seats are full in one room or the other). We want your experience to be the best it can be. Because of your review, I have asked the servers to always ask about seating preference before escorting patrons to their tables. Thank you for the great feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

We decided to go to Ravens Den without much planning ahead (unusual for us), but we are so glad we did. The waiter recommended excellent dishes including the duck for me and the elk/antelope hybrid for my husband. He couldn't resist after hearing the meat comes from a free range area in Texas and each is killed from a helicopter by a sharpshooter to avoid stress hormone surge! Both dishes were expertly prepared and were very flavorful and tender. The maple cheesecake with blueberry sauce was also wonderful. Best food in town so far, friendliest folks too.

Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Yes, we get our game from a ranch out west that is extremely humane in how they take the animals, which is appealing to us for a number of reasons. The result is a more flavorful, less "gamey" meat that we carefully prepare to maximize flavor and tenderness. Thank you for trusting us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015 via mobile

My family and I went to the Raven's Den twice during our vacation. One was to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary. The food was amazing, everything cooked to perfection, and the service was outstanding. The owner came over and talked to us. She brought over games and coloring books to keep my 6 year old nephew, 9 year old nephew and 10 year old daughter busy. Every attention to detail was made. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

It was a huge pleasure to accommodate your family. We often get requests for large party reservations and we are happy to accommodate them when possible. We will also provide a cake for you, if you wish to celebrate something special. Also, we bring our high standards to your doorstep by catering off-site functions, so please keep this in mind for future events! Come see us again and Happy Anniversary to your folks - I'm sure they are very proud of the family they have created.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2015 via mobile

We were visiting family in the area. We are from Nashville Tennessee and don't know too much about the restaurants in Manchester so we pulled in and gave it a shot. What a great surprise! I can honestly say it was the best steak I've ever had in my life and the crab stuffed shrimp was incredible. The muscles as an appetizer were divine. The service was spectacular, the wine selection is amazing as well as the beers. Frank took care of us and was great. We've found a new favorite place! Must go!













Thank ejkopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Our NEW patio will be opening soon, so not only can you enjoy the delicious food, but you can do it outside, while looking at the Green Mountains. It will be especially great during foliage time. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

This was our first outing with all of our kids and their kids. We had four grandkids under the age of four. It was the first time this restaurant had needed three high chairs.

Tom the waiter could not have been more patient, tolerant, understanding and professional. He added greatly to our overall experience.

Toss in some Anadama bread and their salad bar would remind you of the Sirloin Saloon back in the day.

Make sure you pay this place a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DowntownBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Your kids were awesome and you are welcomed back anytime! Thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing