We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway in Vermont”

Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom
Ranked #4 of 61 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$40
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Owned by an ACF "Vermont Chef-of-the-Year", serving quality food for a moderate price & open 7 nights a week! Patio seating available in warm weather. Choose from a lunch, bar or dinner menu in a casual atmosphere. We also carry a late night menu on Friday and Saturday and will gladly do take-out food anytime. STEAK, SEAFOOD, SALAD BAR, SPIRITS, SPORTS BAR...Raven's Den Steakhouse and Taproom has been met with overwhelmingly positive reviews. The restaurant is spacious and welcoming with its simple, clean rustic/industrial design. Some unique features are: an all-you-can-eat salad bar with seasonal local produce (included with your dinner entrée), craft cocktails, relaxing seating area in front of a large stone fireplace in the taproom, wines-on-tap, award-winning wine collection with one of the largest (& guaranteed fresh) wines-by-the-glass list. There is an attractive taproom (lodge-like) ambience offering craft cocktails, 11 beer taps & hard cider, 5 wine taps, plus 4 HD televisions to watch the game. We have a professional & friendly staff who look forward to serving you.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great food, great service! Greeted warmly as soon as we entered! Very accommodating with my husband on crutches! Looking forward to visiting again in the future!

Thank Muriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you, Muriel. "Great food and great service" is a nice summary of your experience. We serve prime rib every Saturday and Sunday night and are open for lunches on Saturday and Sundays - see you soon! ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I celebrated my birthday here with my family. When I called to make a reservation, Nancy, the owner, was very friendly on the phone. I requested a 7:30 pm time, and she asked if I could do 7:45, which was fine. I asked for a quiet location, and when we arrived we were seated about 8:00 pm in a very nice booth. Music was playing, and we were greeted right away by a friendly man who did not give his name. Service was attentive and actually quite fast for cooked to order, high quality meals. I had a 7oz. filet mignon. I added the "surf" = 2 shrimp and a bernaise sauce for $5 more. My tender, lean portion was cooked perfectly to the medium rare that I ordered. I actually gave my shrimp to my son, and thoroughly enjoyed the sauce on my beef. The meals are served with a generous portion of sides: beets (they were ok), ginger carrots (yum), green beans (crisp and bright) and potatoes (sorry to say that I did not like them at all). Nice presentation with all of the colors, but something unique might be fun. Anyway, my husband enjoyed his beef stroganoff, and all 5 of us liked the salad bar. It was well-maintained with fresh items. Surprised that there was iceberg lettuce (maybe that was because of the recent romaine scare though?). The maple balsamic was REALLY good, so smooth. My daughter-in-law thought it was a little too sweet, but I did not. My daughter and husband liked it, and I would buy it if they ever packaged it for sale. There were other homemade dressings from which to choose, along with many toppings. The decor of the place was very tasteful and clean. It was not too noisy, which is important to me. We sat on the far side in the room with the salad bar. For dessert, our waiter recommended the fresh, local glazed donut with caramel salt ice cream. YUM!!! Most places are so stingy with the ice cream, but their a la mode was generous and VERY good! The 5 of us had 3 to share. On our way out, we got a chance to chat with Nancy and her maitre d' who were both so down-to-earth and interactive with us as they ate their late night dinner. Definitely give this place a visit. It is not cheap, but you get what you pay for as the quality and service are above par.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HSR112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello HSR112 - we appreciate your very thorough review of our restaurant.
To quote you: "...you get what you pay for as the quality and service are above par" is a very nice compliment, so thank you. We may bottle our salad dressing someday, but not this year. Please come see us again soon ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Although I miss the Beef wellington, the Prime Rib is excellent. Have been enjoying the food here since it opened. One of my favorite restaurants in the area. Food is always the best and the staff and owners are wonderful. A great way to spend a cols Saturday night.

BMcD
NJ and Vermont

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bmcd2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello - you can still get the beef Wellington, if you call us in advance to let us know you want one. It will be waiting for you when you arrive. Be sure to let us know if you want a 10 oz or 7 oz filet in the Beef Wellington when you call. Give us 24 hours advanced notice (or more). We look forward to your next visit. Thank you for the kind review. ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

If you are traveling through Manchester Center, VT, be sure to check out Raven’s Den Steakhouse and Taproom. You will be pleased you did! Whether it is winter, summer, or sometime in between, (we have eaten there for dinner during all the seasons,) the surroundings are always casual, warm and inviting. Owners Ed and Nancy are there every night to welcome you and make sure your visit is one that will demand a repeat. The wine and beer menu is extensive. The food is outstanding beginning with the salad bar. The ingredients there are cool, crisp and savory with many selections of vegetables, toppings and dressings to make each plate unique. We find one of the house dressings made with maple and sesame to be particularly delicious. The entrees are wonderful… We have tried several of them and have always been extremely satisfied. Our favorites include any and all of the tender cuts of beef, the smoked ribs, organic salmon, chicken picatta and green curry noodle bowl. We both agree, you cannot find a better baked potato! The portions are reasonable and have allowed us room to share one or two of the fun desserts during our visits. My husband likes the glazed donut with sea salt carmel ice cream, maple whipped cream and carmel drizzle and I like the smoked cherry and chocolate with warm bing cherries, chocolate gelato, maple whipped cream and cold hickory smoke, two original creations. We look forward to our next visit and highly recommend this delightful restaurant to others.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow! Terry, thank you so much for the wonderful review. We appreciate the in-depth description of our restaurant and menu, which really helps others who are looking for a nice place to eat to get a feel for our place. We can tell you are a real "foodie". The donut dessert you describe is our most popular and the salad bar is unique in this area. We appreciate the review. Come see us again soon. ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

My husband and I visited the Raven’s Den for NYE dinner. We had 7:30 reservations but arrived a bit early and had a drink at the bar before we were brought to our table. We were sat at a table right by the front door and although we weren’t happy with the table we didn’t say anything. This restaurant crams as many people/tables as they can which makes for a not so enjoyable dining experience as it was like we were dining with the people next to us. The French onion soup was very good. My husband ordered the NY strip and I ordered the Filet Mignon. Both steaks were cooked perfectly but they came out very cool as if they had been sitting for a while. Also, nowhere on the menu does it list sides so we were left guessing what would accompany our steaks. I was hoping and kind of figuring since it was a steakhouse that we might get a baked potato but they both came with a small portion of oddly colored fingerling potatoes and three different vegetables. Offering a ala carte side menu would be preferable. The glazed donut dessert was good. Not sure if we would visit Raven’s Den again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy S, Owner at Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Robin, It sounds like you must have come during the holidays. Admittedly, we do seat a lot of people during the the holidays and it may seem chaotic at times, but it's the nature of things in a resort town. Normally, it is fairly quiet. I'm happy to know that your food was delicious in spite of the amount of people visiting us; it speaks to our very capable and awesome kitchen staff. Your server is well versed on our extensive menu and can answer any question you have regarding entrees, sides, recommendations, etc., so please don't hesitate to ask. We hope to see you again. Safe travels ~ Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom also viewed

Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 
Manchester, Green Mountains
Manchester, Green Mountains
 

Been to Ravens Den Steakhouse and Taproom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing