We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Vermont "Country Store"”

J. J. Hapgood General Store and Eatery
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Peru
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: J.J. Hapgood General Store & Eatery is a purveyor of basic provisions and dry goods, local produce, meat and dairy products, cheese, charcuterie, penny candy, fine wine, cocktails and beer. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily, with apres ski specials in the winter and late-night outdoor dining in the warmer months. The wood-fired oven turns out delicious pizzas with creative toppings and baked goods daily alongside cheese and charcuterie boards, sandwiches, salads, espresso, and other coffee drinks. We serve Vermont Craft Beer and Wine by the glass as well as to take out. Cocktail Bar open Thursday- Saturday Night. Call for extended weekend hours and live entertainment. Full Dinner Menu available Thursday- Sunday from 5-9pm.
Reviewed 1 January 2017

JJ Hapgood's is a fairly recently remodeled country store in scenic Peru, Vermont, right down the road from Bromley Mountain. The staff are very friendly, helpful. They have a variety of delicious breakfast sandwiches, lunch meals, and a great pizza selection, among other things.
The prices are reasonable. The company is good. This is real Vermont hospitality!

1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2016

Amazing breakfast, unique quirky gifts, incredibly nice staff - the 4 meals we shared:
breakfast special of fried chicken topped with a fried egg and cheese on a biscuit; bacon egg and cheese on a biscuit, oatmeal pancakes, cider donuts. Everything was really good. The store is adorable. I loved it. I will say, this isn't a destination - I wouldn't necessarily go out of my way to visit, but when I'm in the area, this is a go to breakfast spot.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nancybny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Eat inside or out in this quirky little place with lots of history. Unusal menu with many gourmet dishes. Very good wood fired stove pizza

Thank wesbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VermontJetsetter, Owner at J. J. Hapgood General Store and Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you for your visit and your review. I am happy that you enjoyed our wood fired pizza and our unique atmosphere! Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016

JJ Hapgood's is a very nice General Store and eatery set off the main highway. We had their cider donuts which were the best.

Thank mrcuddles12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VermontJetsetter, Owner at J. J. Hapgood General Store and Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2016

Thank you for your visit! We are happy you found us because we are off the beaten path. The donuts are superb and go great with our lattes and FTO coffee. Please come again and say hello! Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Very doughy. We tried 2 kinds. Ate a little and took home the rest where we eventually just threw it out. We tried it again for dinner off the menu and it was very good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VermontJetsetter, Owner at J. J. Hapgood General Store and Eatery, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2016

Hello Lisa, I am sorry that your pizza experience was not your favorite. I appreciate the feedback. We are pleased that your next visit for dinner was great! Please come again and always feel comfortable to bring any concerns (of course we strive for it to always be excellent and hope it is positive from here on in) to my attention. Cheers- Juliette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed J. J. Hapgood General Store and Eatery also viewed

 
South Londonderry, VT
Peru, Green Mountains
 

Been to J. J. Hapgood General Store and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing