We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Salt Ash Inn(Plymouth)
US$78
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Killington Grand Resort Hotel(Killington)(Great Value!)
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Woodstock Motel(Woodstock)(Great Value!)
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jackson Gore Inn(Ludlow)(Great Value!)
US$154
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birch Ridge Inn(Killington)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Happy Bear Motel(Killington)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$172
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
24
17
10
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
17
10
4
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My husband and I were looking for a secluded resort where we could relax and at the same time enjoy many of our favorite activities. We feel fortunate to have found Hawk on the advice of friends who have stayed there. We swam both indoors and outdoors, exercised in the well equipped fitness room and kayaked on the beautiful lake, exploring both the lake and the winding river which feeds it. On our first night there we dined at the River Tavern and had a lovely meal and excellent service. The next morning, was drizzly, so after a hearty breakfast in the Tavern, we spent the morning in the very comfortable library reading. Fortunately the weather improved and in the afternoon we hiked along the river in the scenic nature preserve on the resort's property. We were given a map to follow but were still surprised when we came upon a lovely open grassy area with a good sized swimming pond and small beach. On our last morning we rented bicycles at the recreation center where the staff was very friendly. We explored some of the resort's other sights, including the stable area where we watched the grazing horses and then explored a section above the stables where a few of the Hawk homes are sited. Our lovely, spacious room, in a wing of the resort called Amherst, was very comfortable and clean. The staff at the resort was both friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return soon!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz073Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

This is not a hotel, and certainly not a resort, but a motel and not a very good one. For a room and breakfast, they charge $310 per night and I'm kind of embarrassed to admit that we paid that much for this little. It isn't worth half that. By no stretch is it any kind of resort. There are grounds, but no outdoor furniture, except in tiny, cramped quarters around the pool, and at outdoor tables right next to it-- for what the motel's website calls "dining under the stars." All these seats were off limits to its guests, because they had a wedding party booked in, but they didn't tell prospective guests areas of the hotel were off limits when they made their reservations.. Paying guests were shunted aside. "You can't sit here, there's a wedding," we were told. So there was nowhere to sit down and read a book, or just enjoy the outdoors.
The motel claims it has boating "on the property." This would be a state lake down the road they don't tell you about unless you ask, and one you're meant to drive to. You can't even see it from the motel. You can't see the brook either, although it's right nearby. This is because they didn't bother to landscape or trim out any trees to make the brook either visible or accessible. There is no place to be at this place.
The rooms are fine, the way they are at better motels, like the Holiday Inn. But the noise!
We couldn't enjoy any part of this place because the wedding guests were screaming and shouting on the property until all hours of the night, joined by staff from the hotel who were riding around the property on vehicles that sounded like motorcycles, and were incredibly loud. As loud as the wedding guests were, the motel staff was louder. And ruder.
The so-called lobby looks like the waiting room of a dentist's office.
We've been going to Vermont every summer for at least 20 years and this is probably the worst place we've ever been. It has no Vermont flavor and no charm.
If you want to pay four star prices for a two star motel that gives guests one-star treatment, this is your place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OvertheRainbowCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

This is a charming, somewhat old looking inn with lots of Vermont atmosphere and set in a beautiful place near a creek and with lots of green space around it. The inside is not new and sparkly like a Marriott but it's still very well kept and I think the oldness adds to the charm. For example there's wood paneling on the bottom of the walls but it doesn't look brand new like it just came out of the factory. For me that just gave the hotel more character, but if you want a hotel that looks like a big city 4* hotel this isn't it (try the Woodstock Inn instead). The heating unit is somewhat loud, but it's also very effective so we let it run for the evening and then turned it off before we went to bed and we were fine, but then again it wasn't very cold. There's a small fridge even in their "standard" rooms which is very convenient. There was also free Internet in the rooms.

The grounds look beautiful. There was a lawn where people were playing lacrosse, and a creek with a little bridge over it. Our room was overlooking the creek and it looked very peaceful.

The inn is in a somewhat remote area so make sure the restaurant is open for dinner. They close on some days of the week in the off season. Also make sure you get reservations if you're coming at a busy time because they have very few tables. The dinner at the restaurant was good and reasonably priced; entrees were about $20; the staff was very warm and friendly. For the included breakfast you can order as much as you want from the menu, even combining what would normally be separate meals. Again the food was great. And the restaurant has these huge windows (basically the whole walls are windows) overlooking the creek and it's very peaceful and pretty.

Plymouth didn't seem like much of a town, and the inn is somewhat in the middle of nowhere, so if you're looking for a small quaint town to walk around in and do shopping this isn't it (again, try Woodstock if that's what you want). If you want to be surrounded by quiet nature then you'll like it. The inn is about halfway between Okemo and Killington on a very scenic route.

The pool is the best part of this place. They have an indoor and outdoor pool; the outdoor one was closed for the cold season when we went; it's overlooking some trees and it must be beautiful in summer. You can get to the indoor pool by walking through a connecting corridor from the main inn so you never have to go outside, unlike with many other Vermont hotels, which is great for winter. There are bathrobes provided in every room and we just walked to the pool in them in the evening and again in the morning before breakfast. Very convenient and we'll be back here just for the pool! There's no hot tub, just a sauna next to the pool.

Overall we loved it and we're already making plans to be back. It's great for people who like charming inns surrounded by lots of nature.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Location is excellent-We were there for the autumn scenery, so it was excellent in that regard. I thought the room was on par with an upgraded motel. Floor had parts in my room which sagged when I walked over them (I am 130 lbs for the record)-Buildings had a weird configueration. Staff was friendly-Service at the restaurant was a little spotty, but they tried. I stayed two nights as part of a Tauck tour, so I don't know exactly the price on this room- I WOULD NOT pay 200 -300 a night for accomodations here, however.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolAnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2008

We were married at the Hawk in June 2008. I can't say enough of how wonderful, down to earth and accomodating the staff at the Hawk are. While searching for a place to be married in VT, we came across many properties that had this wedding package or that wedding package. The Hawk had none of that. They asked us what we wanted and made sure it happened. I don't think there was a single request we made that they said no to or didn't try to accomodate. They were extremely reasonable in terms of cost. The wedding/events coordinator, Jessica, couldn't have been more helpful, organized, responsive and on top of every detail and simply a pleasure to work with.

The food by Chef Marc Scott is outstanding. He strives to make sure everything is right and really really cares. His food is creative, beautifully presented and simply delicious. He does a great job paring food to wines.

He and Jessica and the property manager, Kelly, are emblematic of the team spirit at the Hawk. I noted that all the staff performed their tasks to impeccable detail, were flexible with changes and even pitched in and helped out others to ensure our wedding was perfect. They worked very well with all our vendors (cake person, photographer, music etc) and as things came up, or needed to change, talked to us about them, asked what we thought and worked really hard to make sure we were happy.

Our guests loved the Inn and all the activities that are included (pool, hot-tub, bikes, canoes, kayaks, and other activities). Looking back now, I am just so happy that we chose to have our wedding at the Hawk. It is a beautiful Inn, well cared for, wonderful grounds, located in a beautiful setting and run by people that take pride in what they are doing. We will always cherish the memories and look forward to going back again and again in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Beegreen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews