We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely exterior; hopelessly dated interior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm
Ranked #1 of 6 Quechee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

I rarely write negative reviews, but in this case I need to because this inn really should and could be better. I've seen this inn for years from the outside, which is lovely and charming, and so when I needed to be in the area it seemed a good choice. But the reality is that the interiors are pretty awful. The corridor leading to my room was worthy of Stalinist Russia. The bedroom was better, with classic country furniture, but the linens were rough, and the whole just lacked refinement--though I was favorably impressed with the choice of toiletries. Staffing lacked a more personal touch. The food at breakfast was mediocre at best: Nothing to compare with other local properties in Woodstock and Quechee. On balance it was more redolent of staying in a motel than in a classic country inn. To the owners: This place needs your attention and your personal touch!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CavalierJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017

We found this restaurant on Google map because our first choice was filled up over the Labor Day Weekend. What a nice surprise. That seated us immediately. We had Steven as our server. Very pleasant and professional and very down to earth. What a great employee! The food was pretty good. The Lobster Bisque was decent, but the amount was a bit skimpy. The rolls were good and served with butter. Salads, filet and the flounder florentine with lobster and spinach excellent. The service wasn't all that fast and that may have been the bes part of the night. We didn't feel rushed and enjoyed a peaceful dinner at our pace. We all had the mixed fruit cobbler with vanilla ice cream. Yummy!!!!! Try it and you will probably like it.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank RADARSHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Director of Sales at Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review. Steven is indeed a wonderful employee. We are very lucky to have him. We are also very glad to hear you found us on google maps! We certainly want our guests to have a relaxed dining experience with us. We hope next time you are in town you stop back again.
Happy Fall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

The Quechee Inn at Marshland Farm is a farmstead dating to 1793. Country Antique is the spirit of things. Our room was large but stale and it could use some freshening up with quality bedding and better bathroom lighting. Hallway carpeting is old. The window air conditioners are a bit noisy. Breakfast was very good and generous. They have weddings onsite every weekend during the summer and they have a big tent off of the barn for that. Very good hiking and ski trails are nearby. Take a walk to the spectacular Quechee Gorge.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

A warm welcome, and a comfortable room was just what we needed after our trip, and this was both of those. The room was delighful, comfortable and bright.
The breakfasts were very good, and the bar area was pleasant, though we chose to sit outside with our beer and stare at nature.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QInkeeper, General Manager at Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thanks for your nice review. Everyone enjoys the Inn in different ways, glad you chose to enjoy the beautiful grounds outside!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a moderately price Vermont B&B with a bar for an evening cocktail, good restaurant and nice breakfast included. But very important was location to Woodstock, VT (one of the most charming little towns in NE) and a traditional "old world" feel. This Inn came through with flying colors for us. They highly recommended Simon Pearce glass shop and restaurant to us for lunch which was perfect. Would stay here again in a heartbeat...!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank gemlac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QInkeeper, General Manager at Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Fabulous! We like that title. Thank you so much for your nice review. One of the best things about the Inn is it's proximity to so many great places in the area. To enjoy dinner and a cocktail her in the Common Room only adds to the charm. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quechee
1.3 km away
Quality Inn at Quechee Gorge
12.3 km away
506 On The River Inn
506 On The River Inn
#3 of 6 in Woodstock
436 reviews
13.7 km away
Kedron Valley Inn
Kedron Valley Inn
#5 of 6 in Woodstock
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
304 reviews
5.5 km away
Hampton Inn White River Junction
Hampton Inn White River Junction
#1 of 8 in White River Junction
664 reviews
16.3 km away
Sleep Woodstock Motel
Sleep Woodstock Motel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm

Address: 1119 Quechee Main St., Quechee, Hartford, VT 05059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Hartford > Quechee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Quechee
Price Range: RM533 - RM900 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1793, the inn was originally the home of Colonel Joseph Marsh, Vermont's first lieutenant governor. Since that time, the historic residence has been expanded and carefully restored to maintain as much of the 19th century character and charm as possible, while adding modern conveniences like private baths, cable TV, and air conditioning for all of the guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quechee Inn At Marshland Farm Hotel Quechee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing