We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,048)
Filter reviews
1,048 results
Traveller rating
645
227
107
42
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
645
227
107
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflannel restaurantvisited topnotchtennis centertennis programspa servicessauna and steam roomfitness classesindoor poolshuttle servicefire pitviews of the mountainsnew englandmt mansfieldfall foliageoff seasoncookiesbike path
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 1,048 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

We visited this week for our honeymoon.

We really enjoyed the outdoor spaces - pool, hot tub, fire pit, and outdoor Resturaunt seating. We also tried a few spa treatments and - although they were very expensive - they were very very good. The couples massage was lovely. We also really enjoyed breakfast at Flannel - probably the best meal the hotel does.

As far as the room (executive deluxe King), the bed was very comfortable and the view of the mountains was beautiful. The room itself was a bit outdated which was disappointing at first, given the price.

As far as additional feedback, it would be around the staff. The resturaunt staff and spa technicians were very nice, but otherwise we found most of the staff (specifically front desk and spa reception) to be unpleasant and not wanting to help out in anyway.

With Stowe Mountain Resort right down the street, Topnotch's cozy and smaller feel is one of its biggest assets - friendly staff is key to ensuring they provide that welcoming experience.

And not that we deserved special treatment because it was our honeymoon, but the hotel did nothing beyond a simple acknowledgment to recognize it. Most of the other establishments we visited while in Stowe really went above and beyond to ensure we had a good time and felt special. It would have been nice for the hotel to do something - even something small - considering the money we spent on a 5 night stay... it would have been a nice gesture and would have gone a long way.

Overall, we may be back but may also try somewhere that feels a little more welcoming and worth the money.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hank115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Mountainside resorts are even nicer in summer: more to do; better weather, verdant. This resort has very nice amenities and friendly service. A Four Seasons it's not but very nice nonetheless. Excellent pool area and a few nice restaurants with close proximity to outdoor attractions and shops along Route 108. I would stay here again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperience_2016, Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us Richard P. We enjoy being part of the Stowe community and beautiful Vermont as well. Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers~

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We rented a three bedroom town home for the week. When we arrived we were told that the unit we reserved had been taken, but not to worry we had an 'upgrade'. If the unit we received was an upgrade than I would have hated to see the original one. You were first greeted by the smell of charred logs in the fireplace, anyone who has a fireplace knows what a poor burning fire smells like. There were cracks in the wall, poor fitting trim work, dirty carpet, and an HVAC system that screeched when it started and kept the place at a brisk 66 degrees even though it was set at 70 ( which by the way was what the hotel tod us to set it at ) The master bath had mold and the dishwasher was filthy. Broken slider glass door frame, drain in shower was broken, and not that it was a huge deal but the room had an old projection TV which was very dull and the room we originally rented had flat screen.
We ate one meal at the hotel dining and the service was slow, I think it was basically understaffed but with all the other great places to eat in Stowe it really wasn't an issue.
When we were checking out they asked about our stay and the nice young man wrote down our complaints and said someone would be in touch. Guess what, nobody has called us.
Nice location, poor views, not worth what they charge.

Room Tip: Don't stay in house 450A
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ctaylor232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Our family which includes our dog Tango really enjoyed our stay. Nice room and pools. The staff was very accomodating. The only issue was with one of the spa staff who was semi rude about access to the ladies locker room and also had failed to explain that I would have had access during a treatment at the spa at the time I had the treatment. Overall though, great experience and location and we all can't wait to go back.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank wpjennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestExperience_2016, Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

It is fabulous to hear that your whole family enjoyed their stay with us wpjennifer. We are sorry to hear about your interactions with our spa team. Your comments will be shared with them so they can reflect on what they could have done differently and improve. Thank you for taking the time to share this experience with us. Hopefully you and Tango will be back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

I went to Topnotch when I was a few months pregnant for a getaway and prenatal massage. The spa was great, and I wished I could have used the hot tub. The room had a really comfortable bed (important for a pregnant woman), and the food at the restaurant and bar was really good for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Pretty sleepy in January, but that made it pretty relaxing as well. Not easy to get into town unless you take the shuttle.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank libertina628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopnotchResortandSpa, Manager at Topnotch Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2016

We are so excited that we could provide some rest and relaxation before your family officially expanded libertina268. The Babymoon package is one of our favorites. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of many of the amenities and services that we are proud to offer our guests at Topnotch Resort. Hopefully, you can make it back after the baby and try out the hot tub.

Thanks for sharing this experience with us!

Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews