We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class BnB Hospitality”
Review of Brass Lantern Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brass Lantern Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The couple that run this place have combined high end amenities and BnB hospitality in this compact place. The location is within walking distance from the center of town (thus, quiet), overlooks the Mt. Mansfield ski mountain in the back (superb view from the back porch and rooms in the back). There is plenty of well equipped, comfy sitting areas, an expansive back porch, and afternoon tea time with delicious pastries. The hearty breakfasts in the dining room, both hot and cold, are served with perfection (notably the quiche). Although the rooms are small (I'd call them compact), they are fully equipped with amenities AND spotlessly clean. Our hosts even had portable chairs for us to take to a Mozart concert on the meadow at Trapp. This is a place that is worth the trip and to come back to anytime of the year in Vermont.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more quiet, and with a better view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brorat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Thank you for your extended stay and for your wonderful 5 star review of our Inn. We are especially thankful of your comments regarding our breakfast service (we take both the "Bed" & "Breakfast" parts very seriously!) as well as the several options you note for gathering spaces with fellow guests and in your case, friends traveling with you. That is the unique quality we feel we can bring to those traveling together in small to larger groups all in a "home like" setting.

As we may have explained to you, the Sugarloaf Mountain Room and the adjacent guestroom, Roundtop Mountain, are, in any given year, the two most requested rooms within our Inn. From that, we assume that guests must recognize the value of these rooms as you have confirmed that our guests, whether in our largest, or most compact rooms still receive the level of service, spotlessly clean rooms, the hearty breakfast, and are provided with the common area amenities that you note. All that you recognize in your very kind review comments and all at what you would expect from these rooms just at a lower nightly rate than that of our larger rooms come to those who book these two of our nine guestrooms.

Thank you for sharing your experience here with others and we do hope we have the opportunity to be of service to you again. And we of course would be happy to help you experience that stay in any of our 7 other larger rooms on your return stay.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Brass Lantern Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2017

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at the Brass Lantern Inn. Mary-Anne and George were so friendly, helpful and welcoming. The inn is located in the most beautiful setting. We loved the hot tub and enjoyed playing Scrabble on the deck in the evenings. Breakfast was amazing and I loved the cookies Mary-Anne put out in the afternoon. Highly recommend this place and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank courtneyferguson03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to host you and a gift of this review. Thank you so much. We are rewarded by your comments and we do look forward to your return.

We especially appreciated the opportunity to chat economics and opportunities with you, our Canadian neighbors!

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

There are so many good things to say about the Brass Lantern Inn! First, they sent a reminder email ~ 4 days before our stay; which is very helpful when you book so far in advance. Not that I didn't know we we going, but it mentioned check in/out times, and a few reminders as well. We picked this place because they offered a room with 2 beds as most B&B's in the area do not. They had fresh water in the room, amazing chocolates on our pillows, and the most wonderful cookies in the dining room! Beverages are available all day in the dining room along with several different cookies. The breakfast was also wonderful! Fresh fruit cup to start with at least 8 different types of fruit. The hosts knew of many local events going on which was helpful to us. When we arrived home, they was another email thanking us for our stay, which is another great small touch.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank newenglandhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your stay, for noticing our attention to the small things that we feel add up to a memorable stay, and for sharing your experience here. An invaluable gift that we hope you understand from our simple Thank You!

Of the many rewards we have of this lifestyle, hearing that our guests enjoyed their stay here in Stowe, is certainly tops on the list. We hope we have the opportunity to host you again.

Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

The Brass Lantern is conveniently located close to town. The back porch overlooks a large yard with distant views of Mt. Mansfield. Mary Ann and George are excellent hosts. The breakfasts are very tasty and quite large. The only negative was that our room #5 faced the busy road and we had to use earplugs at night.

Room Tip: Room #5 faces busy road and is noisy
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smokeylinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you for your recent extended stay and for your gift of a review. As you note, we are conveniently located close to town on Maple St. (as a direct extension of Stowe's Main Street). When our schedules allow, we enjoy the chance to walk the 1/2 mile into town. Many of our guest do the same.

We are so grateful to know that you enjoyed our hearty breakfasts and to hear of your appreciation of our intentions to provide you with a positively memorable stay. We do take our role as your host quite seriously and as while this is certainly a “dream of a lifestyle” to be at the service of our guests, it also is our livelihood and as such guest reviews here, elsewhere and of course, word or mouth, are critical to our ability to sustain this dream.

We recognize that each guest we host has a distinct awareness and specific acceptance to our location and the individual nature of each guest room so conveniently placed from the heart of Stowe. In reviewing this review in more detail, the lesson learned here is to “check-in” more regularly throughout our guest’s stay to assure that we are providing all with the level of stay we would expect for ourselves. Perhaps then we could hopefully identify and resolve any issues or concerns that may arise during the stay and resolve immediately.

Unfortunately, for both you and us, we were not aware of your discomfort and the disruption to your sleep until you were handing us the keys to your room on check-out, after your three night stay, and now reinforced here in this review. If we had had the opportunity to know of this issue, even on the first morning of your stay, we had several options for complete resolution, including the easiest; moving you to a different guest room.

To not be aware of what we feel is a significant impact to your stay leaves us with only the option of a response to your review here. Reactive response to any concern of our guests' stay is truly a lost opportunity for us. Thank you for that lesson.

We sincerely apologize for this lost opportunity to provide you with a relaxing retreat. We hope we can have the chance to host you again to show you how we have responded to your review for the comfort of our guests and for the sustainability of our business.

Kindest Regards,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Our stay at Brass Lantern was filled with small details of love that made us feel welcome and important. From excellent breakfasts and all the information we needed to make our stay ours to fresh flowers on the table, homemade cookies and tea every night, and beautiful sunsets overlooking the mountains, Mary Ann and George made their mission to serve us with warmth and care. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LouEle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasslantern, Owner at Brass Lantern Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

So glad we had the opportunity to host you. We feel that we could use that same headline in response! We are so richly rewarded by the chance to cross paths with you two here in our little corner of paradise. Thank you for your stay and these very kind words on our behalf.

Happy Travels,
George and Mary Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.5 km away
Edson Hill
Edson Hill
#2 of 24 in Stowe
216 reviews
2.7 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
10.7 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,315 reviews
1.2 km away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
1,837 reviews
3.3 km away
Timberholm Inn
Timberholm Inn
#3 of 22 in Stowe
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brass Lantern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brass Lantern Inn

Address: 717 Maple St, Stowe, VT 05672-4250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: RM578 - RM980 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brass Lantern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our ca. 1810 brick farmhouse that has been respectfully and warmly renovated into a nine guest room Bed & Breakfast. All of our guest rooms include private bathrooms. Most have gas fired fireplaces, cozy sitting areas and spectacular views of Mt. Mansfield and the Sterling Mountain Range. We understand how important and precious your time away is and we work diligently to meet those expectations. See our reviews then see for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Brass Lantern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brass Lantern Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing