We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place hidden away in the woods!”
Review of Bears Lair Inn

Bears Lair Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bears Lair Inn
Ranked #18 of 22 Stowe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Had to make a last minute reservation, found Bears Lair Inn, and was so happy. The Inn owners were great, very friendly and helpful with whatever we needed to know. This Inn is clean, very comfy bed and everything we needed was there. Great breakfast with many choices made to order. We will stay here again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Loved our room with the king bed with the 4 poster bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _themcfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2016

No amenities. I answered Expedia's query about check-in. I mentioned i was disappointed by the lack of tv, phone, extra blankets, etc. etc. Owner banged on our door and ranted and raved about my answering Expedia's email. Told us we could get out! Unbelieveably rude! Never, never, never again! Could not wait until morning so we could leave. Truly scary!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank babyroo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Found the innkeeper Bill and son Trevor to be very friendly and really helpful in directing us to the activities we were interested in. The inn was comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Good deal and close to everything!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 656FOODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here after spending the day skiing at Stowe mountain. This is a classic example of don't judge a book by it's cover. It looks a little rundown from the outside but inside it is very nice and exactly what I think of when I hear an inn in Vermont. Bill is the owner and provides you with great hospitality. He's also always available if you need anything. Our room was very cozy, and while there is no tv we did have a great little fireplace. There's also free wi-fi Everything was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast is included with the room price and Bill will provide you with a number of options which he cooks himself. It was delicious! I would absolutely recommend this inn if you are looking for a comfortable setting and don't want to pay the extremely high prices the rest of the lodgings in the area charge.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kaitf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Buyer beware. This place is a total dump.We drove up and turned around and went back home, very disappointed. (400 miles roundtrip)

On top of that, they had the audacity to charge us full price of the room, after we cancelled, and we didn't even step foot in the joint. Don't be scammed like we were.

(their cancellation fee is $179 but we were charged $208.)

PS We took photos, see below!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.6 km away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#15 of 24 in Stowe
454 reviews
4.4 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
0.4 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#10 of 24 in Stowe
1,150 reviews
3.7 km away
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift
4.6 km away
The Gables Inn
The Gables Inn
#5 of 22 in Stowe
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bears Lair Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bears Lair Inn

Address: 4583 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672-4802
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Stowe
Price Range: RM 399 - RM 673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bears Lair Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Inn with 8 rooms and 2 suites, suites have satellite TV, fireplaces, refirgerators and microwaves. Livingroom with gas fireplace, and separate TV room. We have 9 acres of landscaped and wooded property. Close to alpine skiing, mountain biking, alpine slide etc. Cross country skiing right from our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bears Lair Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing