We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Butler House Stowe(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Motel & Snowdrift(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stowe Mountain Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$329
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Green Mountain Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Stowehof(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trapp Family Lodge(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$439
US$345
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brass Lantern Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$218
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timberholm Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$215
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stone Hill Inn(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Topnotch Resort(Stowe)(Great Value!)
US$339
US$318
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
24
6
6
4
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
24
6
6
4
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Had to make a last minute reservation, found Bears Lair Inn, and was so happy. The Inn owners were great, very friendly and helpful with whatever we needed to know. This Inn is clean, very comfy bed and everything we needed was there. Great breakfast with many choices made to order. We will stay here again next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Loved our room with the king bed with the 4 poster bed!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _themcfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2016

No amenities. I answered Expedia's query about check-in. I mentioned i was disappointed by the lack of tv, phone, extra blankets, etc. etc. Owner banged on our door and ranted and raved about my answering Expedia's email. Told us we could get out! Unbelieveably rude! Never, never, never again! Could not wait until morning so we could leave. Truly scary!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank babyroo2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Found the innkeeper Bill and son Trevor to be very friendly and really helpful in directing us to the activities we were interested in. The inn was comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Good deal and close to everything!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 656FOODIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here after spending the day skiing at Stowe mountain. This is a classic example of don't judge a book by it's cover. It looks a little rundown from the outside but inside it is very nice and exactly what I think of when I hear an inn in Vermont. Bill is the owner and provides you with great hospitality. He's also always available if you need anything. Our room was very cozy, and while there is no tv we did have a great little fireplace. There's also free wi-fi Everything was very clean and well maintained. Breakfast is included with the room price and Bill will provide you with a number of options which he cooks himself. It was delicious! I would absolutely recommend this inn if you are looking for a comfortable setting and don't want to pay the extremely high prices the rest of the lodgings in the area charge.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kaitf7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015

Buyer beware. This place is a total dump.We drove up and turned around and went back home, very disappointed. (400 miles roundtrip)

On top of that, they had the audacity to charge us full price of the room, after we cancelled, and we didn't even step foot in the joint. Don't be scammed like we were.

(their cancellation fee is $179 but we were charged $208.)

PS We took photos, see below!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bettina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews