We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best value - all around great place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
New Hartford, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best value - all around great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The tripadvisor reviews about the friendly staff led me to reserve a room for two nights during President's week (NY school vacation). The staff were friendly and gave us ski lift discounts that dropped the cost more than 20%! The free cookies in the afternoon, the included free breakfast buffet (with eggs, pancakes, bagels, and a ton of great fresh fruit!) just seemed like a bonus. The free shuttle to Stowe Mountain ran every twenty minutes - the Inn is the first stop, so it we got our choice of seats. On the 25 minute shuttle ride to the mountain, I was able to see all the other hotels and inns that were reviewed - the ones that are in the $400 range look very nice; the ones in the similar price range to the Commodores Inn looked like little motels. The village of Stowe is kind of spread out, so you can't walk it like you can a place like Lake Placid, so having the Commodores be slightly on the edge of town was no big deal. The pool was great and the hot tub was a bonus after a long day of awesome skiing. The room was fine - generally clean with no smell (the place is fully non-smoking). I'd recommend getting a 3rd floor room if you can. We were on the first floor and had the misfortune of a "walker" in the creaky room above us - that was the only downside of a great place, with great staff, in a great location.

Room Tip: get a top floor room so no one walks above you at night. bring a small fan or white noise app on yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FEN_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    172
    83
    28
    18
See reviews for
129
146
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This is very much a belated review as we realised today we had never left one after our stay in October 2010.

When we stayed the Inn was quiet - some rooms had been cleared out for the end of the season. The Inn is clean and the staff friendly. Free coffee is always available - along with cookies - in the reception area. There are also large sofas to sit and enjoy a warm by the amazing fireplace. If you are in a group and want entertainment then there are also tables and a selection of board games to play. Free WiFi is also provided.

Our room was at the back overlooking the large pond and part of a staff car park. But we were not troubled by any noise. The mattress on our bed did need replacing as it was coming to the end of its serviceable life and sagged in on itself.

We did eat a quick bar snack and whilst not the best it was more than passable considering the very reasonable cost.

Conclusion - the Inn is more a hit than a miss.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Plains, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We recently stayed at the Commodores Inn and found it a very nice place to stay. The rooms were large and comfortable. The food (breakfast and dinner buffet) was very good and much better than expected. And the facilities were good (swimming pool/jacuzzis.) The ‘public spaces’ (lobby/great room w/fire place & large screen tv, game area) were very ‘family’ comfortable. The cookies were a really excellent treat when we returned from skiing. But to me the most important aspect was the friendliness, helpfulness and professionalism of the staff (from the front desk, to the dinning room, to the housekeeping staff.) No request went unanswered and everyone on the staff was willing to go out of their way to satisfy the guests. I would gladly return to the Commodores Inn the next time I am in Stowe.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpny_skibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Spent a great New Year's weekend at Commodores Inn. A lavish breakfast buffet with sausages, bacon, eggs, fruit, pancakes, bagels, cereal, & danish was included with our very reasonable room rate. (menu varies) Cheerful staff promptly accommodated our requests for extra blanket, hair dryer, and help locating misplaced objects. Families were playing board games and enjoying cookies & hot chocolate in the retro main lobby - it felt quite welcoming to return after the day's activities.

My husband, a light sleeper, said he has slept on better mattresses, but I'm a heavy sleeper and didn't notice any difference. The Inn is clean, easy on the budget, and conveniently located a short distance from Stowe center.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MuddyShoesMedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

If you're looking for a place to lie your weary bones after a long day on the mountain, the Commodores Inn is the place for you. If you are looking for new, luxurious, or contemporary accommodations, look elsewhere.

Pros:
1. 7 mile/15 minute drive to Stowe Mountain
2. 3 hot tubs and a pool
3. Free breakfast each morning

Cons:
1. Not within walking distance of any sites, restaurants, bars, or ski locations
2. Hotel does not look like it has been updated since the 1970's

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EndlssSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.2 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
10.8 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
4.2 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#4 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
The Mountain Road Resort
2.5 km away
Stoweflake Mountain Resort & Spa
1.9 km away
Golden Eagle Resort
Golden Eagle Resort
#11 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Property: Commodores Inn
Address: 823 S Main St, Route 100, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price range (per night): RM455 - RM807
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous coconut chicken, sesame beef tips, salads, pastas, vegetables, seafood, beef, poultry and vegetarian specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing