We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great ski trip & stay @ the Commodores Inn”
Review of Commodores Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Commodores Inn
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Had a great stay & the the staff was very helpful & friendly ! They made sure that your stay was comfortable !

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeyanderson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was a great place to stay! Room was basic but what more do you need We came to snowboard not sit in a room. Staff was very friendly & did not make us feel uncomfortable because we had our dogs with us. We've stayed at other pet friendly hotels that were not friendly. Coffee & cookies available in nice lobby. We will definately stay there again when going to Stowe to board.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was our first trip to Stowe and we picked this hotel out of the blue. It was adequate enough to sleep in, but I wouldn't have really enjoyed staying there for a length of time.

The large whirlpools near our room were enticing, but the room didn't get as much care. The walls were pretty thin so we got to listen to our neighbors tv for a few hours (luckily not late). The king bed was nice, and the in-room fridge was a great place to put our leftovers from dinner. The bathroom had this odd tub with what looked to be a in-wall chair/shelf thing that actually got in the way while taking a shower.

What really got me was that they toted that they were a non-smoking hotel in all areas, but they had someone at the front door smoking who was there so much it seemed like she was the door person. She could have been a guest, but it was a bit frustrating to have to walk through the smoke every time we entered or exited the building. They should designate places for smoking that are not going to disrupt other guests as they check in.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

basic, comfortable room. had a fridge, cable tv. computer with internet connection in lobby for guest to use. hot tub, warm, but weak jets. There was a sauna, but I didn't use it. Food was buffet style. Breakfast was a full breakfast and quite good. Dinner was OK, but it was nice not to have to "go out" to eat after a long day of skiing. Was a shuttle but I didn't use it. A ways away from the mountain. Lovely, cozy lobby with fireplace. There was a bar, but I didn't go to it. They had cookies and juice when you came back from skiing-a nice touch.

Room Tip: Get a room at the far end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alis60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Our family of 5 (including 3 teenagers) stayed here for a 2 night (Sunday/Monday) stay. The front desk staff is helpful and friendly and lobby is cozy with fireplace and 55" TV. There is also free coffee, lemonade, and cookies throughout the day. There is secured storage for ski equipment, but we did not use this because we rented equipment. The buffet breakfast is excellent, with enough choices to satisfy all tastes. Dining room looks out over the large pond. You can't see it now because it's snow-covered, but it would be beautiful in summer and fall.
Several large bus groups were checking out as we arrived, so we practically had the hotel to ourselves. Pool area is nice, but not close to the jacuzzi/sauna area. This is the first stop on the free mountain shuttle, but we picked up the shuttle at the Pinnacle Ski rental shop. By the way, this is an excellent place to rent equipment, and the front desk provided discounts to this shop and many others.
Our room was basic, and a bit dated. With 2 queens and a rollaway cot, it was very crowded. Room was always too warm, and lower thermostat didn't seem to help. Bathroom was clean, and beds were comfortable. If you're looking for luxurious pillows, flatscreen TV's, and space to relax, go somewhere else and pay a lot more. We felt that the price for our stay was very fair, and we weren't planning to spend a lot of time in the room anyway. One suggestion: the floors are creaky, so ask for a 2nd floor room for better sleeping.
We didn't eat any other meals here, so I can't comment on the prime rib buffet.
Other suggestions:
Pie-casso's for pizza was great (both eat-in and take-out).
Stowe Cinema: cozy small theater, perfect to watch Oscar-winner "The Artist"
Trapp Lodge Deli/Bakery/Brewery: a bit pricey, but excellent sandwich/dessert menu. Seats at the bar provide a great view of the mountains

Overall: good value for the price. Friendly staff, adequate room, excellent breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilM2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stowe hotels
2.2 km away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
10.8 km away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
6.3 km away
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
Innsbruck Inn At Stowe
#13 of 24 in Stowe
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#5 of 24 in Stowe
1,381 reviews
5 km away
The Stowehof
The Stowehof
#12 of 24 in Stowe
156 reviews
6.3 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
Northern Lights Lodge
#10 of 24 in Stowe
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodores Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodores Inn

Address: 823 S Main St, Stowe, VT 05672-4656
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Price Range: RM449 - RM854 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Commodores Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your next vacation at our peaceful 30-acre lakeside setting at the edge of historic Stowe Village. Featuring modern comfort with country charm, the Commodores Inn has all the amenities you need to make your visit to Stowe a memorable one. All guest rooms are non-smoking, and pet friendly rooms are available by request. We invite you to join us in our Lighthouse Bar & Grill featuring traditional New England favorites including our Chef's famous Coconut Chicken, Shepard's Pie, Clam Chowder, Waldorf Salad, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Commodores Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Stowe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing