We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to get a break from all the beer!”
Review of Cork Wine Bar & Market - CLOSED

Cork Wine Bar & Market
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: European
Description: Waterbury's natural wine bar & retail shop! In addition to our wines by the glass or bottle & $4 local draft beers, we also offer a variety of cheese, charcuterie, small plates, toasts, & soups. We also offer Buck-a-Shuck oysters every Wednesday from 5pm on! Cork provides a relaxed atmosphere with eclectic wines, local fare, live music, and wine tastings. Oysters shucked to order every Wednesday. Private parties available.
Restaurant details
Description: Waterbury's natural wine bar & retail shop! In addition to our wines by the glass or bottle & $4 local draft beers, we also offer a variety of cheese, charcuterie, small plates, toasts, & soups. We also offer Buck-a-Shuck oysters every Wednesday from 5pm on! Cork provides a relaxed atmosphere with eclectic wines, local fare, live music, and wine tastings. Oysters shucked to order every Wednesday. Private parties available.
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Waterbury seems to be a beer town (at least with respect to Heady Topper) and Cork is a nice alternative if you're in the mood for wine (although they do have beer as well). We have been two or three times and have enjoyed our experience - and ended up speaking with both the bartender as well as other guests each time - all of whom were very friendly. The décor in the bar is perfect for a wine bar and the wine available to drink is also available for sale (to bring home).

The small plates of food are tasty - although probably not enough food for a full meal (more a snack or pre-dinner appetizer). If there is one negative it is that the wine list is a bit obscure and random (I had never really heard of anything) and the bartenders know the basics of the wines but not necessarily all of the details. It might be nice to have a few more mainstream (or US) wines in addition to the current selection. But overall - this is a great place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SMM38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle N, Owner at Cork Wine Bar & Market, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you for the great review. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourself. Come check out our new location at 40 Foundry street.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2014 via mobile

We visited this place for drinks and appetizers at least 6 times in the past year. The usually have some of our favorite beers available for purchase. Today they had 6 cases of one of a popular local craft beer, however, the would not sell any because she claimed they had already been "pre-purchased." The girl at the counter was rude and unpleasant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adkpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle N, Owner at Cork Wine Bar & Market, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2014

I am terribly sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Cork. We have had a busy beer week and since we sold out early in the week, we had a large number of unhappy Heady Topper customers that came in and saw a fridge full of sold beer. There is no excuse for rude customer service so I hope you will consider coming back and giving us another chance. If it makes you feel any better, a lot of customers weren't very nice to us either ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2014 via mobile

I stopped in here to discover a few new sips for my level 1 sommelier journey, and Danielle was delightful. While our group tried a beautiful Sangiovese and some locally brewed Heady Topper, she told us about her recent wine travels and what varietals and styles she is currently enjoying.
This is a great spot to learn about wine, taste wine by the glass and discover exciting bottles to take home. I will be returning the next time I visit Vermont. Thanks for a great experience!

Thank GlutenFreeFlying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle N, Owner at Cork Wine Bar & Market, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Have you had a chance to come back and visit us? We are in a new location now that is sure to please. 40 Foundry street. I hope your wine education is going well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Enjoyed our evening with Chip the bartender and some very nice locals. We felt very much "welcomed" and "at home".

Thank tkwhite6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle N, Owner at Cork Wine Bar & Market, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Thank you so much for the great review! We love Chip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This was a good first stop before heading to dinner down the road. The staff was friendly and helpful and the beverage selection was nice.

Thank Georgiatrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle N, Owner at Cork Wine Bar & Market, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

So glad to hear you enjoyed yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cork Wine Bar & Market also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing