We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Ambrogia Caffe & Enoteca
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Cape Charles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$173
Description: EXPERIENCE THE FLAVORS OF ITALY IN CAPE CHARLES Authentic flavors made from scratch, with menus designed daily to feature our fresh ingredients.
Restaurant details
Description: EXPERIENCE THE FLAVORS OF ITALY IN CAPE CHARLES Authentic flavors made from scratch, with menus designed daily to feature our fresh ingredients.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time visitors to Cape Charles and I made three reservations per night. This was our absolute favorite. Christina was fabulous and the food, oh my!! Everything we had from the meat/cheese tray to salad with pears, gnocchi and clam dish were piping hot and delicious. I would do the five hour drive again just to go to this restaurant. It's very small so make advance reservations!

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank debbeut237
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina C, Owner at Ambrogia Caffe & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks so much for your review! Let us know when you are on your way next, and we will have our food ready ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2021

Ate outside - tables were comfortable with very tasty menu items. My wife had crab with homemade fettuccini and I had a special of the day which was sausage risotto. We split a tiramisu which was the lighter and tastiest we have ever had and my wife is a connoisseur of tiramisu. Service was very good!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ams5270
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina C, Owner at Ambrogia Caffe & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2021

Thanks so much for leaving us such a great review! Glad you loved our tiramisu as much as we do :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021

I had such high hopes for dining at Ambrogia. The problem is that it has suffered from not being able to hire help and Covid. I would have loved to have tried Ambrogia pre-covid. Right now there is a limited menu. We had a bottle of wine, and then shared a salad and risotto. The risotto was done perfectly but was a small portion as was the salad. And the bill came to over $75. This is not your value dinner by any means. Our young waiter forgot to tell us about specials that we overheard the owner telling another table. There are other better restaurants in Cape Charles that I would recommend before spending time or money at Ambrogia.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank ASPEC_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina C, Owner at Ambrogia Caffe & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2021

All restaurants are suffering from not being able to hire help. This is not a problem related to our restaurant alone and it is beyond our control. That said, COVID has nothing to do with the size of our menu. We always have a limited menu. We change our menu constantly and keep it small on purpose. Our portions are perhaps small in your opinion but they are European size, as we are an Italian restaurant. We make everything from scratch and our prices reflect that. It is unfortunate that we did not meet your high hopes, but from your own words it appears there was nothing wrong at all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2021 via mobile

We were able to make a same day reservation for Sunday brunch for our family of 4 and we were not disappointed. Our kids are pretty picky but were won over with the off-menu offerings for them of homemade fettuccine with tomato sauce and Parmesan cheese and the best grilled cheese ever made with fresh mozzarella. Our kids begged to go
back every night!

The adults enjoyed brunch cocktails and appetizers and delicious and perfectly portioned entrees. You won’t have leftovers but you won’t care because the experience is worth every penny. The adults were happy, the kids were happy; when dining out, most parents will understand that this is not often achieved. Thank you for a wonderful morning out to eat that became one of our family’s favorite Cape Charles experiences!

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank mrsmemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina C, Owner at Ambrogia Caffe & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2021

Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review! We are so glad we could accommodate you last Sunday. Thanks for trusting us for your first family meal indoors!! It was lovey meeting you all. Ciao!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2021 via mobile

Great dinner. Excellent menu. Excellent food. Super wine list- all Italian. Attentive service.

Had the fig appetizer and mixed tray (vegetables, cheeses, and meats) for starters. Just a wonderful sampler. My wife had the scallops and I had the stuffed pork chop. Superb. We split a wine flight and settled in on another glass each with our entrees.

We will not hesitate to eat here again on our next trip to Cape Charles. Easily the best restaurant in town and probably the best anywhere on the Eastern Shore.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank bkraeuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cristina C, Owner at Ambrogia Caffe & Enoteca, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2021

We are so glad you all had a great experience with us. Thanks for letting us know!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ambrogia Caffe & Enoteca also viewed

 

Been to Ambrogia Caffe & Enoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.