We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville
Nearby Hotels
US$192
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Charlottesville(Charlottesville)
US$190
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$191/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Garden Inn Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$144
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oakhurst Inn(Charlottesville)
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Foxfield Inn(Charlottesville)
US$235
US$205
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn at 400 West High(Charlottesville)
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairhaven Guesthouse(Charlottesville)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Monticello(Charlottesville)
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
119
101
33
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
119
101
33
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbarracks road shopping centermon wedtwo bedroom suitejag schoolan extended stayliving areasecond homebreakfast stafflaw schoolwithin walking distancethe staff was friendly and helpfulstores and restaurantsjohn paul jones arenabreakfast areafirst flooruva graduationuva grounds
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

This hotel is located right behind the Barracks shopping center area...it has a swimming pool with lounge chairs and tables. Very clean and typical Residence Inn..great for just an overnight...nice kitchenette..large refrigerator. Bed was good and firm. 2 TV ,
Large vanity area. Shower and tub iffy..felt like it needed some attention...Parking is free
Great location to get major fashion/clothing shopping done-great resturants nearby..all walking distance.

Room Tip: 232 in the middle , was quiet
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 2014firstclasstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind remarks regarding our hotel in Charlottesville. We hope to see you next time when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016

My husband had to go to a class at the JAG school, which is located directly behind the hotel. He was able to walk through the woods to class while I kept the car at the hotel with the kids. The hotel was wonderful for our kids! There were so many nice little touches that made it great--even easier than being at home. The meals on Monday and Tuesday were great. I think the chef's name is Corey. He does a wonderful job. While we were there, he served hamburgers, chicken soft tacos (yum!), and Italian sausage. One night it was just dessert: s'mores. The kids enjoyed all of the food.

Also, the hotel has a wonderful breakfast. Self-service waffles every day, plus eggs every day, usually some kind of hash browns and either sausage or bacon. All kinds of bread and cereal and juice. Many, many choices! The ladies at breakfast were very helpful and always kept the food hot and plentiful.

We had a one-bedroom suite. The kitchen was a great size. I made sandwiches each day. So easy with the sink and fridge--even a dishwasher.

The pool is about 5 feet deep, so there is no diving, but my kids loved it anyway. They bounced in and out of the hot tub on cloudy days, so that made it exciting.

All the staff was so kind and helpful. It's a friendly hotel.

One thing to know is that it's very easy to walk a block down to CVS at the shopping center and ride the bus anywhere in the city. The free UVA bus stop is a little bit farther, but we did that several times, too. There were tons of things to do in Charlottesville and the Residence Inn was a fantastic home base.
We just had a great time.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor in the middle of the hall and it was totally quiet. We slept great.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LTW1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in August - Marriott Rewards platinum elite member. Have stayed at other Residence Inns before and this one is my least favorite - not as clean (dirt and mildew in moldings around bath, hairball in cabinet), outdated decor and fittings, elevator out for four days - just not up to
par with newer hotels in the brand. AND it cost me 120,000 points for four nights, which is ridiculous - really highlights the inflation in the Marriott Rewards program - not long ago you could stay at the Paris Marriott Champs Elysées for a week for 150,000 points - now it takes 120K to stay four nights in a dreary Residence Inn in Charlottesville.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank arturorex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Mr. ajsheels,

Once again thank you for your feedback and again while I am unable to change the décor of the hotel, I can assure you that all cleanliness issues are taken very seriously. I have discuss this with my Housekeeping Supervisor and ensured appropriate actions were taken. Also the hotel does not decide the amount of points needed to purchase a night stay. This is based on occupancy levels and this particular location is very busy. Also the property had experienced the Lightning strike which effected the elevator. Although this was totally out of our control I do understand what an inconvenience this must have caused. Again, Please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Great location, spotless, had a a one bedroom and love the suite space, very quiet but near anything you need. Front desk great. Didn't use the pool but looked clean and inviting. Quiet room. Popcorn in the room hit the spot to tide us over before dinner. Thumbs up for breakfast. Lots of restaurants nearby. Beautiful area. Wish we had time to stay longer to explore area. Might be back to do that!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank patm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

I have stayed here 3 times for business.

Free hot breakfast every morning. And every M,T, W they have some type of hot dinner or desert.

They have an outdoor pool. They have bbq grills, picnic tables, and open green spaces to have parties (lots of family reunions were held there too).

Folks are nice. Clean rooms.

If you have business at UVA, you can walk depending where it is. If you are going to the law school, the JAG school, or Business school you can walk. It is a long walk - about 10 - 15 minutes depending where you are going. You must go through the woods on a well marked trail for about 30 seconds (if it is raining, wear tennis shoes because it is mucky and you can slip and ruing your clothes), then you end up at the softball fields, go across to get to the parking lot. Go up a million stairs to the JAG parking lot. You can either walk around the JAG barriers to get to the business school, or take more steps to get closer to the JAG school, law school, and business school.

You can also walk down the hill to Barracks Road shopping center. Lots of shopping and restaurants (on days you don't eat at the Residence Inn).

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tarainjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews