We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but Dated Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charlottesville
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Charlottesvill...
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2017

The Residence Inn on Millmont Street is very convenient to UVA, especially the business school, law school, and Army JAG school, which is why it can be difficult to find a room here. There's even a short-cut through a small wooded area to "The Park" sports fields, which is just down the hill from these three UVA schools.

However, this Residence Inn hasn't been updated much at all in the last 20 years.

Room Tip: rooms with even numbers are on the back/quiet side of the hotel, away from the front entrance &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NavyJAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear NavyJAG, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. I'm glad to hear that you liked our location, but am sorry to hear that you didn't care for our design. We aim to provide a current, yet comfortable décor so our guests feel as though they are home. I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon. Thank you again for your comments! Sincerely, Elizabeth P.- General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017

We recently stayed in a two-bedroom suite when visiting UVA with our grandson. The hotel is older but very well maintained and equipped, better, in fact, than some newer Marriott properties we've stayed at recently. Because it's older, the rooms are more spacious than those found at some newer properties. The breakfast staff were terrific. We'll stay here again next time we are in Charlottesville.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Dear Nancy L, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate the nice comments about our staff and the maintenance and upkeep of the hotel. I hope you will visit us again soon on your next trip to UVA in Charlottesville! Sincerely, Elizabeth P.-General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

The friendliest staff ever!! They also have free food and booze Monday - Wednesday!! The breakfast staff are just wonderful!! They make sure your comfortable and treat you like family!! Love this place!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank SayyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth P, General Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear SayyV, Thank you very much for such a nice review! We appreciate the time you took to share your experience and especially for calling our staff the friendliest ever. They will love to hear that. We hope your travels bring you back to our hotel again very soon. Thanks again. -Elizabeth P., General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017

We visited the Residence Inn on Millmont Street for a long weekend ICW UVA graduation. I like the location of this Residence Inn (easy access to UVA Grounds, Barracks Road amenities, off 29 from our approach in from DC). I also like that parking is available and that the Residence Inn approach offers the 1-bedroom suite as well as the kitchen. There even is a small market in lobby for basics. When visiting in the summer/fall season, we have enjoyed the outdoor pool (wish it had been open in May). What I like best , particularly on this stay , is the exceptional service. The General Manager Elsie and her team aim to please and assisted us in many ways. We feel there like we have a home away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KVBSVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Stayed here because we were attending a concert at John Paul Jones Arena. Hotel employees were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean. Located just across from shopping center - convenient to the stores and restaurants. We walked to and from the arena from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank susan040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn M, Manager at Residence Inn Charlottesville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Thank you for reviewing our hotel , and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you pick our hotel again when you are in the Charlottesville area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charlottesville hotels
2.9 km away
Omni Charlottesville
Omni Charlottesville
#5 of 35 in Charlottesville
1,841 reviews
2.9 km away
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlottesville Downtown
Residence Inn by Marriott Charlo...
#17 of 35 in Charlottesville
92 reviews
1.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Charlottesville - UVA, VA
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson,...
#7 of 35 in Charlottesville
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
Hyatt Place Charlottesville
#2 of 35 in Charlottesville
776 reviews
1.6 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlottesville
Homewood Suites by Hilton Charlo...
#1 of 35 in Charlottesville
965 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlottesville - At The University
Hampton Inn and Suites Charlotte...
#4 of 35 in Charlottesville
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charlottesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charlottesville

Address: 1111 Millmont St, Charlottesville, VA 22903-4868
Region: United States > Virginia > Charlottesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#12 Romantic Hotel in Charlottesvill...
#13 Business Hotel in Charlottesvill...
Price Range: RM638 - RM1,429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charlottesville 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longer stays become even more convenient at Residence Inn Charlottesville. The lively downtown Charlottesville is located just minutes away, our hotel is also located near the University of Virginia, Monticello Wine Trail and Charlottesville Albemarle Airport. Feel at home as you cook your favorite meal in your in-room kitchen and relax on a plush sofa while watching a movie on a large flat-screen TV. In the morning, be sure to visit our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. For snacks and drinks during the week, drop by our evening social hour, The Residence Inn Mix™. We look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn Charlottesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Charlottesville Hotel Charlottesville
Charlottesville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing