We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
18
7
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
7
4
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel scene central location location is excellent main street uva campus beautiful hotel pedestrian mall front desk autographs onsite marriott closet bedroom noise lobby downtown
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile


We visited the new Draftsman Hotel and were happy with this modern addition to downtown Charlottesville. About two months old it is part of the Marriott’s Autograph brand. The fresh decor and location close to UVA campus make this a very winning location. The room rate was reasonable and we had a lovely, quiet room on the 8th floor. The bar and restaurant appear to be works in progress. We had two very expensive glasses of wine at the bar in the evening. Not to worry though. There are several good restaurants and bars within walking distance. We look forward to visiting the Draftsman again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RetiringCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We stayed at the Draftsman for a family event. This is a Marriott franchised property, open for about two months, with Marriott’s policies and pricing.

What we liked:
- The car valets, servers in the restaurant, and the cleaning staff were very friendly. Ditto the front desk, with a caveat below.
- Our room (separate couch and bed areas divided by a long hall) was well maintained and clean.
- There's an interesting innovation in the bathroom. The large shower area and separate small soaker tub are in a segregated, tiled room with a frosted exterior window and glass entry door. This keeps the heat and humidity in the shower room.
- Our trout dinner in the restaurant was excellent. And with the exception of the Crab Benedict at breakfast, the restaurant is highly recommended.
- The central location is good for those with business or relatives at the UVA campus.

What can be improved:
- The design of the motor court for valet parking has a very tight curve and accommodates only three cars. There's a proliferation of no parking signs on the city street making car drop off and pickup difficult.
- No workable desk and chair in the room. The interior designer placed a very small, pseudo drafting desk and tiny stool in the room for decoration. The desk is covered with mini-bar items and is completely useless.
- There's not enough lighting in the bedroom. I had to use the flashlight on my cell phone to figure out the USB electrical receptacles and coffee maker.
- The heavy, sliding, barn style door for the closet and bathroom is dangerous and will lead to pinched fingers.
- The high-end espresso coffee maker has no written instructions and no explanation of the various coffee pods. Our room was supplied with only espresso size pods, which led to the assumption that the coffee maker was defective. This is an easy fix – just write it down.

Why this hotel received only 3 stars:
- The Marriott reservation web site was exceptionally misleading about the rates and demand for the hotel. After a long, repetitive discussion with the Marriott central booking agent; it took a 50 minute wait to speak to a Marriott supervisor, who resolved the problem without hesitation. Unfortunately, his fix changed the booking from 2018 to 2019, requiring yet another call, this time directly to the Draftsman in Charlotte. A total of almost two hours of wasted time.
- Arriving at 4pm one afternoon, we discovered that our room had not been cleaned. The front desk attempted to blame us and then offered another factually incorrect excuse. The promise of “we’ll take care of it immediately” resulted in another call to the front desk after 45 minutes of inaction. What we discovered from the cleaning staff was that the hotel was short-handed for the day, and was just getting to our floor. This was confirmed as we saw other cleaning staff and their carts on our hall.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP R, General Manager at The Draftsman, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Dear traveler747,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a thorough review of your experience at The Draftsman. We appreciate the positive and candid feedback and we will use that to continuously refine and perfect our craft. And yes, the Japanese soaking tub experience is an interesting one to say the least.

I am sorry to hear about your experience in securing accommodations at The Draftsman as that is not at all what we want to hear. Should your travels bring you back to Charlottesville, I encourage you to contact us directly so we may personally facilitate your stay and experience.

Regards,

JP Roberts
General Manager
jp.roberts@thedraftsmanhotel.com
434.984.8001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

I cannot say enough about this amazing hotel. It was the best experience. As Marriott platinum members, we have stayed at a lot of hotels. Some great, some not so wonderful. From start the finish, this hotel was amazing. Everyone who works here made our stay perfect, especially Bullet. He is the greeter...a sweet puppy. It is in the perfect location by the university and historic district. The rooms are so clean and new. Loved the huge glass shower. Amazing!!!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Denade770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights with our family. The location is excellent, clean and modern. We did experience some hiccups but since it is a brand new facility we attributed it to start up pains. The staff is very nice and welcoming. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Luxtvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

In a world of blah customer experiences from branded hotel to the same identical experience across the street from a different brand, the Draftsman Hotel is exactly what a town like C'ville needed. Yes, I know it is a Marriott, and is not a locally owned boutique hotel, but the experience, the ambiance, the food, all feels like it is. And the guest experience is elevated above anything else that is local. It is all about the people working there and how they treat their clients.
The rooms are loaded with the local love. Whether you want a cold brewed coffee from Snowing In Space (brewed 1/4 mile away) or chocolates from Gearharts (made 1/2 mile away) these are the treats that are in your room waiting for you. Views of downtown or the University depending upon which side of the hotel you land. Fantastic.
Renewal (the lobby restaurant) is independently owned and managed, and the pair that have created it are doing an outstanding job. Service isn't quite what you'd expect from a farm to table high end experience, and the wine list is somewhat pedestrian... but, they had been open about a month when we had dinner, and deserve more time before any final verdict. What I can say is the food was already on point. Charred Brussel Sprouts were amazing. Hanger steak with crawfish etouffe... never thought of that pairing, but dang if it doesn't work amazingly well.
I need to point out that the highlight of our staff interactions was with the front desk clerk. I wish I had written down his name, because he really deserves to be called out. His love of the area, the hotel, the fine workings, were all evident in every part of our conversation. He could tell me about the design firms that were hired from Charlottesville to help in branding. He shared info on the companies that provided the treats in the rooms. He talked about the obstacles that the owners overcame in making this great hotel a reality.
Come stay, eat, enjoy... This is a great spot, and Charlottesville is lucky to have it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews