We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An oasis of calm, peace & nature. A gem.”
other travellers have booked this property
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
POOL IS OPEN!!! Come swim in privacy!
Light-filled room, Queen-sized bed, Fireplace                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Pretty spa bathroom with antique clawfoot tub
Welcome plate and complimentary wine                          Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Enjoy your wine near the pool                                                   Photo: Warren Salmon
Enjoy coffee on your private porch
Life is just a bowl of Breakfast Berries!                          Photo: Warren Salmon
Breakfast in your room                                                  Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Historic Main House, built 1810-1842
The Cottage adjacent to the Main House
Enjoy a picnic lunch poolside
The Pool House in April
Lunch under the wisteria
View from the hillside
One of two bridges connecting the property's 22 acres
Room for bocce and croquet!
Or play frisbee with Joe!                                                       Photo: Warren Salmon
Your hosts, Anne, Jim and Joe                                         Photo: Warren Salmon
Bedtime treats!                                                         Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
Homemade Blondies                                                   Photo: Melanie Marshall-Roth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Charlottesville, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
YvonneFoo...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of calm, peace & nature. A gem.”
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed for 3 nights at Jim & Anne's charming & delightful rural B&B. Beautifully appointed & decorated it was ideal in the midst of our busy busy touring schedule. Set in 26 acres, including walks down to the riverside (with bench for picnic) & across the bridges into the valley, we looked forward to returning each evening.The accommodation has its own entrance with a small area for fridge etc, door to the bedroom & a separate bathroom with a claw bath overlooking the back garden area. There is also your own private veranda ... ideal for that glass of wine into the evening and a swimming pool for the summer months. There are lots of thoughtful touches & our hosts were friendly, helpful & welcoming ......... all in all thoroughly recommended for those who like warm hospitality, a great nights sleep without hearing traffic noise or all movement from hotel rooms with thin walls. And of course breakfast is provided........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the privacy & quiet together with the obvious care taken by our hosts
Liked least: the Wi fi was signal was weak
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, Yvonne. I'm delighted to be able to tell you that we now have Square, which means I can invoice guests directly and they may pay by credit card. Alas, due to our rural location our WiFi can be spotty--we have been promise an area upgrade in the fall--fingers crossed!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmbender
bezerker1234
1 review
“A Beautiful Mountain Getaway”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My wife and I stayed at Sunnybanks while vacationing in the Charlottesville area. This cottage is perfectly situated to give you peace and quiet--as well as beautiful views and plenty of room to roam--while still being close to hiking, dining, historical sites, et cetera. The proprietors, Anne and Jim, make this place feel like a home away from home. They are friendly and helpful, while keeping the cottage fully stocked with breakfast treats, toiletries, and whatever else you need to be comfortable. Their dog, Joe, is also one of the friendliest dogs I've met. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
Thank you, Cory, for your lovely review. We truly enjoyed hosting you and Julia, and we all look forward to welcoming you back soon!

All Best,

Anne, Jim and Joe
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jess K
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven For a Perfect Romantic Getaway!”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

What a hidden gem this place is! My spouse and I went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we can't say enough great things about our experience. The owners, Anne and Jim, treated us like family and made our special weekend feel even more special with their kindness and hospitality.

The cottage is not fully equipped with a kitchen, but we didn't even miss having a kitchenette because there is a mini fridge that Anne makes sure is well-kept with yogurts, muffins, fruits, granola and a few other items based on your likes and dislikes. The location is a private home with your staying area separate from the house. The large bedroom is equipped with a fireplace, private back porch, private bathroom with a deliciously giant claw foot bathtub to soak in (I took 4 baths in a 2 night stay) and all of the cozy amenities needed to feel right at home. Anything you may have forgotten or needed, Anne is happy to provide with pleasure.

The land surrounding the area is stunning and we spent a full day hitting the different local wineries and upon returning to the cottage after dark, we spread out a blanket beneath the stars and soaked in every minute of this pure bliss. A perfect getaway for a couple looking to unplug and relax.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Thank you both so much--we just loved having you both here. Looking forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlhillian
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing retreat at the Sunnybank's Cottage”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great little cottage in the country with a pool, gracious host, and fantastic location to see the area. We traveled to Wintergreen, Blue Ridge, and Crozet.
Anne made the variety of food offered based on our needs/wants and continuously offered "Sweet Dreams" morsels at the end of the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2014
We so enjoyed meeting you both, Mike, and look forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kgg720
Clarksburg, Maryland
1 review
“Absolutely perfect for a weekend getaway!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Living in the DC/VA metro area, we wanted a quiet destination to escape to and decompress for an evening over Memorial Day weekend. The Cottage at Sunnybank was the perfect place. After a full day in Charlottesville, we were welcomed to the property by Anne and her friendly dog, Joe. Anne gave a tour of the property and provided us with everything and anything we could have needed for the evening. We were then left to explore at will and relax. Prior to our arrival, Anne had asked us to complete a food/snack preference sheet and the cottage was supplied with all of our choices. Also, to our surprise, Anne brought us a homemade bedtime treat which was absolutely delicious. The property itself is beautiful with a pool, creek, grassy area for games, bench swing and little patio that we utilized to eat breakfast and star gaze at night. Anne was extremely friendly and welcoming. All the little personal touches throughout our stay made the experience special and gave us the feel of being "at home". Our time spent at Sunnybank was exactly what we needed and we look forward to staying again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2014
Delighted you both left feeling refreshed--we look forward to seeing you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing