We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about acceptable for a one night stay”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just about acceptable for a one night stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Motel comprised of three two storey blocks with outside access. The fact that it had recently changed its branding from Quality to Rodeway suggested it was a little in decline. Exterior and interior was in need of repair and refurbishment and it had a generally worn appearance - possibly from recent storms, but likely more long-standing. Room 131 was adequate - clean, but shabby - with King bed, TV, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer and air-con (it also had opening windows - but these had defective insect screens and very stiff opening mechanism) There was guest laundry available, but only one each washer and dryer were serviceable. Other guests tended to congregate on the verandah outside their rooms - both on the ground floor and upstairs - resulting in some noise nuisance. Breakfast room was totally inadequate for the size of the motel (90+ rooms), with only space to seat about 12 persons. Breakfast was just adequate with choice of 2 juices, 2 cereals, waffles, other hot items (eggs?), and pastries. Compared to other hotels visited on this trip (Sep 2011) it was somewhat over-priced - although this may reflect the location on a barrier island.

Room Tip: Arrive early and check out where the motorcycle enthusiasts are staying!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourmanagerSussex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
We are very sorry you're experience with us was not !00%. If we have known you had any issues we would have been happy to address them. Our gaul is to provide the best service possible!

Unfortunately, due to the many storms we had last fall we did look a bit tired. And again, I wish to apologize for that, but, it was not in our control.

Also, we do have many Motorcycle enthusiast stay with us either in groups or on there own.

As for the size of our breakfast area we have in our plans to update and extend it in the near future, but, in the meantime our guests are always welcome to enjoy breakfast by the pool or take it back to their rooms.

I do want thank you for your comments. Sincerely, Janet Guest Relations, Mgr.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    118
    48
    33
    26
See reviews for
114
104
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

While I was home on leave, my girlfriend and I made our way down to Chincoteague. She had never been there before so it was up to me to show her around. The hotel was great! We had only planned to stay for 3 nights but when we decided on a 4th night, the management was more than happy to work with us regarding room rates before the weekend price took effect. Even though we were there in the off season, the hotel was as busy as ever. The breakfast provided had to be the best I'd ever had while staying in a hotel. Needless to say, we'll definitely be returning to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACsmith88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! It is so nice to know it is appreciated and noticed; we do try so hard to make sure all of our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay with us.
Again, thank you. We look forward to seeing you and your Girlfriend again in the future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, pa
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

The hotel itself is ok. The bedding is very comfortable. In fact, I'd like to find out what kind of pillows they use because I want to purchase of couple of them. The pool area was nice--I really like the gazebos for the extra shade that they provide. The location is excellent. The best part was their customer service. Due to a family emergency, my sister and I had to check out a day early to come home and tend to our mother who was taken to the hospital. We explained our predicament to Raj, the desk clerk and he graciously did not charge us for the final night. We didn't even give him 24 hours notice. We figured that they'd charge us anyway. But they didn't. They were incredibly understanding. This seems to be a family-run hotel so perhaps that makes them a bit more understanding than other hotels--I don't know. So thank you Raj, for not charging us the extra night. It made a big difference. Namaste!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank genoac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
On Raj's behalf I want to thank you for your kind words about his service to you. He is a wonderful employee and we all think very highly of him. We are very forunate that all of our personnel are very helpful and understanding, however, we do seem to be a little more than average. As for our wonderful pillows I fully agree with you. We hope to see you again in the near future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

So many things to say about this great location and hotel. Summer getaway with family. This hotel has very friendly staff and nice amenities. Very nice continental breakfast daily, clean rooms, nice pool etc.! soft beds and great linens will return again.

Room Tip: stayed on first floor and had no complaints
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aroadmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you so very much for the great review. We all do try very hard to insure that all our guests are happy in every way. Again, we thank you and look forward to seeing in again in the near future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations Mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

we went to chincoteague for a weekend get away with our little chiuahua...we made the mistake of not locating a pet friendly hotel before arriving...everything was booked with the exception of quality inn

definitely not quality especially for $176 a night...the rooms smell of mildew/mold, the ac did not keep the room at a consistent temperature, we had to constantly adjust it...flies everywhere, bathtub not only dirty and stained but it didn't drain and the best part is finding stray hairs on the sheets...thankfully there were 2 beds...we slept on the one without hairs

overall this place was a rip off and we will never stay here again...it will be the pet friendly b&b not too far away

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shoniej74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chincoteaguequality, General Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for your recent review all comments are important to us. We are very sorry you had a problem during your stay with us. If we had known you had any issues at all, they would have been taken care of immediately. Your satisfaction is first and foremost! However, you must tell us so we can make it right. I do hope you will give us another chance and I hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Janet, Guest Relations mgr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chincoteague Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chincoteague Island hotels
0.1 km away
Chincoteague Inn
Chincoteague Inn
#12 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
160 reviews
0.7 km away
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
Comfort Suites Chincoteague
#3 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,189 reviews
1.6 km away
Waterside Inn
Waterside Inn
#5 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
Days Inn Chincoteague Island
#17 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
504 reviews
1.7 km away
Best Western Chincoteague Island
Best Western Chincoteague Island
#4 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
1,177 reviews
0.5 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - Chincoteague Island
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#19 of 19 in Chincoteague Island
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 6273 Maddox Blvd, Chincoteague Island, VA 23336-2618 (Formerly Quality Inn Chincoteague)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Chincoteague Island
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Chincoteague Island
Price range (per night): RM326 - RM913
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rodeway Inn, a hotel in Chincoteague VA near Assateague Island National SeashoreIdeally located in the center of town, the Rodeway Inn(R) hotel offers easy access to many exciting things to do and see. This Chincoteague, VA hotel is close to the Oyster and Maritime Museum, the Chincoteague National Wildlife Refuge, the Assateague Lighthouse and the NASA Visitor Center, Wallops Flight Facility. Assateague Island National Seashore is an amazing destination, offering pristine beaches and plenty of activities like swimming, surfing, shell collecting, biking, hiking, fishing and much more. During your visit, keep your eyes peeled for some of the island's beautiful wild horses. You won't know what to do first in this charming, seaside town: rent a bicycle, scooter or boat, or take a stroll through town and enjoy the many specialty shops, art galleries and restaurants. The local seasonal Island Trolley offers transportation around the area and is easily accessible from the hotel. This Chincoteague, VA hotel offers fabulous amenities and features, including: •Free continental breakfast with hot items & free coffee •Free wireless high-speed Internet access •Free local calls •Seasonal outdoor pool After a busy day of work or play, enjoy our picnic area with barbecue grills. Business travelers to this Virginia hotel will welcome additional conveniences like the on-site business center and access to copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Non-smoking rooms are offered. Be sure to ask about our cozy, cedar-lined cabin rooms. Ample parking and laundry facilities are provided on the premises for added guest convenience. The next time your travels bring you to the beautiful Virginia Eastern shore, the Rodeway Inn hotel in Chincoteague offers you everything you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Chincoteague Island
Quality Inn Chincoteague Island
Chincoteague Island Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing