We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just checked in and already problems...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clarksville
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

I didn't have huge expectations because I understand the hotel rating, however lack cleanliness is inexcusable not matter one star or five stars. I walked in and could immediately smell the sour shower curtain. As I went to use the commode, I looked down and there was a long red hair that was dangling from the toilet bowl. I looked down at the floor and I counted EIGHT HAIRS! I reluctantly pulled back the shower curtain to run the water and I can't even tell you how many other hairs I saw STUCK on the shower wall. Wow, just wow! Basic accommodations are understandable but over a dozen hairs in the bathroom, when I literally just checked in, is not! Stay with a family member, while here. I'm sure it'll be cleaner and less hair. Gross.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

This hotel has a stupid reservation policy.
They will not take reservations for travel in the summer,
Why would we drive for hours to a hotel that says they will rent a room if you walk in the door and they have space.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but we had a wonderful experience at the Magnusson. Just bear in mind that this area is not a resort location and this is not a luxury hotel and may not be as fancy as some reviewers seem to expect. But our lakeside room was exceptionally clean, very spacious, quiet and comfortable, and had a lovely view. The daily cleaning was perfect and all the staff were friendly and polite, going out of their way to help us out on a couple of instances. There really is WiFi, but it's weak and spotty...I found that to be the case at other places in town too...if I was patient it was enough to check my email but not much else. I also did not have cell phone coverage in town. But I don't think I can blame the hotel for that, and other phone carriers seem to have coverage. We didn't try the breakfast. The food was very good everywhere we tried tho a little pricey. The daily rate is a little high, but if you can use a discount or go during a special offer it is reasonable for a waterfront view. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Twew17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We ended up at this hotel after a bad experience with another in the area. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room. Nice, neat, and oh, did I mention clean? Thanks for the hospitality Magnuson!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JHSleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We arrived in town for a family reunion. The hotel is very clean with good rooms - it is a newer hotel. there is a very nice breakfast area with coffee and tea available all day long. Great place to stay and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarksville
30.9 km away
Quality Inn South Boston Virginia
30.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites South Boston
35.7 km away
Berry Hill Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - South Boston
34.2 km away
Hampton Inn Henderson
Hampton Inn Henderson
#1 of 9 in Henderson
562 reviews
34.4 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Henderson Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel on the Lake

Address: 103 2nd St, Clarksville, VA 23927-9252
Region: United States > Virginia > Mecklenburg County > Clarksville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Clarksville
Price Range: RM461 - RM587 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel on the Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Hotel on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing