We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnuson Hotel on the Lake
Nearby Hotels
US$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham South Boston VA(South Boston)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$80/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$60
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
5
13
12
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
13
12
11
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017

This hotel has a stupid reservation policy.
They will not take reservations for travel in the summer,
Why would we drive for hours to a hotel that says they will rent a room if you walk in the door and they have space.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

I wasn't sure what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but we had a wonderful experience at the Magnusson. Just bear in mind that this area is not a resort location and this is not a luxury hotel and may not be as fancy as some reviewers seem to expect. But our lakeside room was exceptionally clean, very spacious, quiet and comfortable, and had a lovely view. The daily cleaning was perfect and all the staff were friendly and polite, going out of their way to help us out on a couple of instances. There really is WiFi, but it's weak and spotty...I found that to be the case at other places in town too...if I was patient it was enough to check my email but not much else. I also did not have cell phone coverage in town. But I don't think I can blame the hotel for that, and other phone carriers seem to have coverage. We didn't try the breakfast. The food was very good everywhere we tried tho a little pricey. The daily rate is a little high, but if you can use a discount or go during a special offer it is reasonable for a waterfront view. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Twew17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We ended up at this hotel after a bad experience with another in the area. We were pleasantly surprised when we walked into our room. Nice, neat, and oh, did I mention clean? Thanks for the hospitality Magnuson!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JHSleva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We arrived in town for a family reunion. The hotel is very clean with good rooms - it is a newer hotel. there is a very nice breakfast area with coffee and tea available all day long. Great place to stay and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Hotel was nice and very adequate.Rooms were very large and had microwave,refrigerator etc.Refrigerator worked great and kept drinks nice and cold.Was nice and quiet and within walking distance of several restaurants.Beautiful lake right beside hotel made it peaceful.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews