We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Riverview Inn - Colonial Beach(Colonial Beach)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(King George)
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$77
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
34
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswarm hospitalitybed and breakfastgreat place to staybathbedroompillows
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

The evening before a funeral in Colonial Beach, we saw the snow forecast. We were not crazy about the conventional hotel choices in the immediate area, but staying out of town meant more driving in the snow after accumulation, so at 9:30 pm we turned to TripAdvisor and Shirley, the inn keeper here at Monroe B&B. She responded promptly and helpfully to our emails and agreed to stay up late for our arrival. She was kind and accommodating throughout our impromptu stay, and opened the door for us as the clock struck midnight.
The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The decorations were pretty and in keeping with the house's history but not overly "precious." The bath items were specialty products and the towels were especially nice. The room was warm and inviting, and she allowed us to adjust the heat (we turned it down a bit). I neglected to bring my special pillow but the pillows (and mattress) were comfortable. Although one plug didn't work, there were plenty more for our multiple electronics. The plumbing fixtures in the bathroom were charming but did need some TLC for the toilet to fully flush and for the faucet to turn off completely. We could not have been happier with the room.
She scheduled breakfast for our convenience, and at our request told us about the beautiful art all around the home - what a treat. Shirley is an accomplished sculptor herself. The multiple sunrooms were inviting, and the floors and furnishings were gleaming. She shoveled the walk repeatedly for us. We were able to meet our family for brunch and come back to change for the funeral before a late check out.
We highly recommend this beautiful property and thoughtful inn keeper.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 3 have king beds; others are queen.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank traveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

And you were the first guests of 2017! Thank you for the glowing review. I appreciate the thoroughness and helpfulness. Your descriptions make me want to stay at the Inn! Come back when you can stay longer and enjoy some warm weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We enjoyed our stay. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The Innkeeper was very nice and accommodating. We were late arrivals and she make it work for us, others I spoke with could not. The home was nicely decorated with local art, which we found interesting. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steele-Ayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We stayed here overnight while boating on the Potomac. Shirley was a great host. We were impressed that she is an artist and she has all types of art - different media around the very large house. Colonial Beach is a pretty small, but nice town. We rented a golf cart and jaunted around town.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank arlingt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Shirley was very helpful, personable and accommodating! Our room was clean , neat and comfortable! Great art work all over the house from local artist! We loved cruising the area in a golf we rented. Denson's grocery was delicious!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Desiree D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Monroe Bay Inn is a great place to stay. The innkeeper, Shirley, is full of information and makes great breakfasts! Our room and the entire Inn is spotless. Such beautiful art (some of it is Shirley's!). The beds and pillows were comfy. Nice fluffy towels and plenty of water pressure. There is a small fridge in the upstairs sitting area stocked with water and a microwave with popcorn. The only negatives were; the king bed didn't fit the frame so my husband kept rolling down hill, the door to the room didn't latch, the flat screen tv was really small, and the light in the shower kept going out. None of these things made the stay unbearable and are easily remedied. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms have private baths but only one has a tub instead of a small stand up shower.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shannon Pence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley H, Manager at Monroe Bay Inn Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and an excellent one at that. I enjoyed talking to you, especially about Colonial Beach, and hope to see you again, either here or at your place. My handyman is on his way to "fix" room 1. I appreciate the feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews