We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and So So”

Denson's Grocery and R&B Oyster Bar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$39
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: Originally established in 1912, Denson's Grocery is a 3rd generation family owned and operated market and restaurant. We serve lunch and dinner. Open year round, we enjoy serving our community and our visitors. THE COURTYARD at R&B OYSTER BAR A True Chesapeake Bay Farm to Table Experience! Enjoy your lunch or dinner from our full service kitchen. Our oyster bar is open year round. We serve these tasty bivalves in a variety of ways. Roasted, fried, and for the purist, oysters served ice cold on the half shell, with lemon, cocktail sauce, mignonette, and Saltines. Our menu changes daily to reflect the freshest seafood, beef, poultry and vegetables available. Denson's talented culinary team is sensitive to dietary restrictions and strives to create an unmatched dining experience. Denson's is proud to support local waterman and farmers. "Family friendly service with a smile, gourmet grocery, carry-out, and outdoor oyster bar." Kurt Rabin, Free Lance-Star
Reviewed 23 December 2019 via mobile

My parents came and had lunch and said it was ok, the prices were good. They shared a Pimento cheese sandwich and a chicken salad sandwich. They thought gorge chicken salad sandwich was super great but the Pimento Cheese sandwich was below par. The atmosphere was very casual. stated they would go back and try something else the next time they came to town.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank MobBossesDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2019

Fantastic food, personalized service, small hometown/family feels! We love visiting Denson's - oysters are amazing and so is everything else that you may be lucky enough to try!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank asanford12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2019 via mobile

At first glance, you may think that this is a small town specialty grocer. When you enter, you will appear be in a “to go” looking tiny specialty food/wine shop. Don’t be fooled! You’ll be promptly greeted and once you say you’d like to eat in you’ll be seated in the side located restaurant. There are only a handful of tables, but make sure you get one. The food will be worth the wait. We ordered the Crab BLT, Fried Green Tomatoes and Lump Crab, and kid’s Grilled Cheese Sandwich. Our meals came with potato chips so if you want fries, you’ll have to order them separately. Everything was delicious. We peeked at the other food brought in for the patrons who had already ordered and everything was ample and delicious looking! The owner came out to each and every table and warmly greeted us and also bid us a farewell as we left. It added a nice touch. We will definitely return here. Their summer hours are Thursday-Saturday 11-2 for lunch and 5-8p for dinner. The menu changes often but I’m sure everything would be delicious!

Date of visit: September 2019
2  Thank normaf375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2019 via mobile

We haven't been inside the grocery/restaurant, but both times that we've been to Colonial Beach we've loved the ice cream that Denson's serves out their window. Reasonably priced, good quality real ice cream (not soft serve).

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Teachergardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2019 via mobile

We went for a drive this last beautiful Thursday and decided to have a late lunch here. We arrived at 1:30 pm as many diners were leaving, so our timing was perfect. They stop serving lunch at 2 pm. We had our choice of inside or outside and chose inside and we were seated within 5 minutes. There was about 4-5 small tables as well as bar stool seating for 8 or so on the enclosed porch. We ordered a cup of oyster stew, Crab Cake Sandwich with fries and a Crab Melt with chips. The oyster stew was Ok. There were 5 oysters which were tender and sweet. The milk broth could have used more spices for my liking, as I thought mine was lacking flavor. My Crab Cake was large, tasty with very little filler and I enjoyed very much. The hand cut fries with homemade ketchup was good. My fries were not overly salty. My wife thought the Crab melt was ok. We topped off our meal with the bread pudding which was very delicious. This is a fun, casual dining experience with a friendly staff that provided impeccable service. This appears to be a favorite spot with the locals as everyone seemed to know each other. The owner stopped by a few times to say hello and inquire about our food. The food is fresh and prepared when ordered, so the entrees take some time to arrive. I suggest you enjoy a couple appetizers while you wait. They have many to choose from on the menu. We recommend this place and we will be back.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Robertoisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denson's Grocery and R&B Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Denson's Grocery and R&B Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.