We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$51
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$139
US$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Motel 6 Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$69/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$61/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$103
US$99
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
33
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbike trailbabbling brookcash or checklabor day weekendwifihomebakedvirginiaprivacydelita
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2014

What a great, quiet, out of the way RV park adjacent to the 57 mile New River Bike Trail. We biked the trail 3 times in the one week we were there and attended 4 different mountain music "concerts" or jam sessions. Don't expect much in the town of Fries which appears to be an old mill town with lots of small houses with vinyl siding. But the New River State Park and the bike trail are wonderful - flat, shady and lots of beautiful scenery. There were very few bikers on the trail while we were there in September. The best part of this RV park are the owners: Tom and Delieta. We spent a lot of time talking to Tom and he was extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upstarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We spent three nights here and it is a very peaceful and well maintained campground. Very clean and the owners are incredibly nice. Tom even helped us with a problem we had with our travel trailer. The only negative I can say is that they do not allow campfires and to me camping isn't the same without a campfire. We would stay here again if we decide to visit the area during Autumn when I believe it would be prettiest.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Millers1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Here it is, 2014 and the owners are still providing muffins to the arriving guests! What a treat! We were about an hour away when Tom called us on our cell phone to give us our final campsite number. We contacted him over a month ago to make our reservation. No deposit, no credit card number (in fact, bring a check or cash - credit cards are not accepted) and no hassle. Our name and site number was posted on the BB at the office when we arrived.

Most sites can be pulled through or navigated with minimal backing. Sites are very level and consist of fine rock and stone. Peaceful and relaxing. Other campers were very courteous and this is the quietest RV park that we have ever stayed in. The hookups are street side and were at the exact center of our RV (driver's side). 50 amp service, water, and cable TV. Now, in order to receive TV, you needed a TV converter box which the owners provide to each camper "free of charge".

You have a private bath room at the office waiting for you. There is a men's and a ladies room and they are about 81 square feet apiece. Stand-up enclosed shower (4 or 5 foot long) with grab bars. Toilet Paper was "Charmin"...not the usual sandpaper 2000 sheets on a roll found at most campsites. Some may see the single bath as a deficiency; however, we found not sharing a bathroom with a dozen other campers at the same time - heavenly!

The campground is clean. The bathrooms were clean. The owners were super.

Directions are posted on the website. Follow them or you will probably regret it. Our GPS tried to send us off route 77 at exit 1 and over Piper's Gap Road. This road is steep and winding and only wide enough for 1 1/2 vehicles. How do we know this? We decided to try it on our way home. Fortunately, we have a small class B and it did OK. I shudder to think of all the problems if I were pulling a 24 footer or more. Go to exit 14 and head to Galax if you are traveling north on 77, just like Tom tells you.

We biked hard the first day, walked a lot on the second day and biked a little more on our third day. Access to the trail is very close to the RV park. The Park is up hill from the trail, so we walked our bikes back after our ride. The Dollar General is pretty well stocked outside of town. Evening walks to the river and the ice cream caboose were enjoyable. If you decide to wade in the river, wear something on your feet because the rocks are sharp and slippery.

Had a great time and can't wait to get back there for more muffins!

Room Tip: Bring your own!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim_Dianne47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I'm not sure there is anything I can add to the reviews already posted (except to say that the Mexican restaurant has moved to Galax, leaving Fries with no restaurant. DO shop for food BEFORE you arrive in town).

But even though it has been said already, I want to add my voice to those who have already spoken: this is a real gem of a campground and owner Tom and his muffin-baking, piano-playing wife Deleita and wonderful assets to the town of Fries and couldn't be more helpful and friendly to their campers. Tom acted like he had all the time in the world to sit and chat with us in some of the inviting rockers in the delightful "cabin office." We got some good insights on the area from him. Tom also was very accommodating in running a shuttle for us (back from Galax) when we found that the trail surface was a bit taxing on my husband's recumbent trike.

Tom and his wife are both active in the Methodist Church which is less than two blocks from the campground. Though I am not a Methodist, I was made to feel very welcome by all the congregation. Friendly folk who seemed glad to share the beauty of their area.

It is true, there isn't a lot going on in Fries (we arrived on a Friday, so missed the Thursday pm bluegrass), but accessibility to the trail is wonderful and the trail itself, wonderfully scenic. It took me 64 years to finally travel to Virginia, and I'm already wondering when I can get back to this little corner of the state.

We were camping in a conversion van, no bathroom, so we were dependent on the bathrooms (large room for men, another large for women, with shower, toilet, sink); they were nicely decorated with framed pictures and each had a sky light. Though we may have been the only campers using the facilities while we were there (3 nights), Tom had those rooms toasty warm at my request.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is a very nice and well taken care of park. The owner is very helpful, polite and cares about his campers. Close to town and the river which has beautiful scenery. We would definitely stay again if in the area! We stayed in a 5th wheel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ecbradburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews