We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$71
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Super 8 by Wyndham Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$99
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Hillsville(Hillsville)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
33
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
3
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbike trailbabbling brookcash or checklabor day weekendwifihomebakedvirginiaprivacydelita
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Tom has a very pleasant, clean and neat park. He and his wife Delita are both so kind and friendly. They treat you like old friends! Sites are level, bath house spotless, scenery is beautiful and very well maintained. We camped at site # 12 which has a nice deck, picnic table and small brook waterfall. Wifi and cable worked great! We are thankful that we found this park and will plan to return.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We visited friends while they stayed at the Fries New River RV Park and had a very enjoyable visit. Easy access to the New River State park for bicycling, fishing, canoeing and kayaking.
The site is located in a valley with a small stream. The RV's line up end to end with a stream/hillside view, some with decks and some pea gravel.
Much more pleasing than the typical sardine configuration in most RV parks. We frequently visit friends passing through the area at RV parks and this is the most pleasant site we have visited. Our hosts spoke very highly of the management and have become regular visitors.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BlueridgeCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016

I too found this campground while browsing on Tripadvisor and agree with all of the positive comments. If you are looking for a peaceful, restful and most enjoyable stay, this is the place for you. If you have children and/or require full activities such as a pool, planned activities, playground, laundry, then this campground will not be your cup of tea. Upon entering, we were greeted by the owner, Mr. Tom Guy who made us feel like old friends. He was so helpful in helping us back in and set up the cable box. His wife's famous muffins are as delicious as everyone says. Cable and wifi worked very well for us, however, we could not get service via ATT on our cell phones in the campground or even in the area. If you do not have a tow car to drive the 10 miles into Galax for provisions, I advise you to stock up prior to your arrival. Galax is a cute town with many antique and consignment shoppes downtown. There are also grocery stores, drug stores and WalMart for all of your needs. We camped in a 37 foot class A RV with four slide outs and had an overabundance of room. Credit cards are not accepted. Payment is either cash or check.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Very attractive spots in a little box canyon along a stream. Pea gravel sites are large and level. However XFinity cable did not work at all and ZERO Verizon cell service despite walking across the road into town. Wi-if was fast. Bike trail is gravel- good for mountain bikes but not road bikes although the owner offered to loan us one of his. No laundry. Owner is extremely friendly in that southern manner than can overwhelm. Expect to see him every time you step out of your rig. Overall pretty, pricey at $40 and a little let down on services.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Acooper913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Fries New River RV Park is a hidden gem! The park is nestled in a very quaint Holler. From the moment we pulled-in, I knew this park was special. The owner (Tom) was very friendly / informative. At the completion of our check-in he gave us some of his wife's homemade pumpkin muffins! This gesture was a very unique "Down Home Touch" from a campground that has become very special to us. The park is aesthetically pleasing. The owner takes great pride in all aspects of care and he's never to busy to stop and chat and make sure everything is ok. We had a great time and have already made reservations for this August!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank va22973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews