We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperation Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Front Royal
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Reviewed 26 September 2011

This hotel is located in downtown Front Royal, VA which provides for a great spot if being in the center of town matters. We ended up staying here because the price was $90 a night so we figured it would be a decent hotel for that price.

The hotel is very dated inside and old smelling. The lobby looks decent clean-wise and the hotel itself was not looking too bad on the outside.

The rooms are decent size, as we had one with 2 double beds. The bathroom is tiny and nothing fancy. The room itself was not filthy, but it needed a little going-over in the bathroom and was NOT a room to take your shoes off in. There was a huge beetle in the washrorom that scurried away from me when I went close to him.

The mattresses were completely covered in thick plastic cases which is a sign that they either had bedbugs or are accustomed to having them. I dont know. I took the chance, as I did not see any evidence of dead bugs, skins, blood spots etc and hoped to heck that this was for preventative reasons. Disgusting though. We did not end up with bed bugs at all..whew.

The breakfast was not much but great for a cup of juice, coffee or some cereal.

What turned me off the most was that for a 12 hour use (on the road traveling) this was so expensive and so completely uninviting. I would never stay there again unless my car blew up and I could not sleep in it.

It would be best not to stay there unless you are really desperate for a room or want to take a chance on catching something.

I would not recommend children to stay in this hotel but just weary travelers in dire need.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennyIceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 294 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

There is nothing special about this place. It is average.

My room was clean as were the grounds. The front desk was helpful and even let me park my motorcycle under the awning because it was raining.

This might be the best motel if you are wanting something downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Stayed here before driving on the Skyline. We arrived very late, the reception were very welcoming and the room was great. We had plenty of towels and complimentory toiletries. Breakfast was cereal, toast, muffins ect. The coffee was hot and the juice cold. Really excellent value as we only paid £42.00 for two of us. We would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunloverNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Nice, quiet place to rest, nothing special. Stayed in a King bad "suite", as least that's what they called it, far from being a suite. Bed was very firm and cable was in and out with static. Small bathroom, so small the sink was on the outside by door. Contiential breakfast was disappointing with only bite-sized entenmann's donuts, plain english muffins and foot loops cereal. Not much to choose from compared to other hotels and Super 8's I've stayed at. Still costs near 100 bucks will stay closer to Lurary next time for same amount per night.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marshall201107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed in the Super 8 in Front Royal two nights visiting Shenandoah national park. We got just what we wanted here: clean and calm room, friendly stuff and all this at reasonable price. If you want to have nice rest after your trip or hike - this is a perfect place for you. We have stayed in this motel a couple of years ago and we had the same nice experience.

Room Tip: The rooms with windows to the yard are calmer than the ones with windows to the front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Front Royal
0.8 km away
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
Quality Inn Skyline Drive
#3 of 10 in Front Royal
337 reviews
5.5 km away
Hampton Inn Front Royal
Hampton Inn Front Royal
#1 of 10 in Front Royal
886 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Inn Motel
Royal Inn Motel
#6 of 10 in Front Royal
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Front Royal Blue Ridge Shadows
2.9 km away
Relax Inn Front Royal
Relax Inn Front Royal
#8 of 10 in Front Royal
8 reviews
16.5 km away
Ramada Strasburg
Ramada Strasburg
#2 of 5 in Strasburg
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Front Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Front Royal

Address: 111 South St, Hwy 340 & 55, Front Royal, VA 22630-2221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Front Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Front Royal
Price Range: RM265 - RM344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Front Royal 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Super 8 Front Royal hotel near Shenandoah National Park. We are conveniently located off U.S. Highway 340, in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley. Situated in historic downtown Front Royal, our hotel makes it easy to visit area destinations with ease, including Randolph Macon Military Academy, and the U.S. Customs Training Center. Shenandoah National Park(Skyline Drive) Entrance is 1.2 miles away. Skyline Caverns is 1.5 miles from Super 8 Oasis Winery is 7 miles away Shenandoah Valley Golf Club is 8 miles away. Super 8 is also within a 10-minute walk of Blue Ridge Arts Council and Gallery and Front Royal Visitor's Center. Warren Rifles Confederate Museum and Belle Boyd Cottage are also within 15 minutes Several restaurants are within easy driving distance of the hotel, such as: Osteria 510 Italian Kitchen - 314ft Joe's Steakhouse -0.3 Miles Front Royal Diner -0.9 Miles Closest Airport: Washington Dulles International Airport - 40.2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Front Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Front Royal Hotel Front Royal
Super Eight Front Royal
Front Royal Super 8
Front Royal Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing