We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$159
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Homewood
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$96
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$83
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
11
5
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
5
3
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Home and grounds are beautiful ! Also, easily reached from Route 295. The charming mother and daughter team (Margaret & Janice Clifton) gave us a tour of the house that husband/dad had built for the family years ago. The son had painted a beautiful scene on the dining room wall, and the ceiling of the entry "ala-Sistine Chapel." Wow. Lots of love and care went into the construction of this home. They were obviously proud of it and opened it to us as if we were dear family friends. A wedding was held there before we arrived, and the reception was in full swing as we checked in. The lawn outside our bedroom window was beautifully decorated and lit for the reception as the sun went down. I thought they might party until late in the night and keep us awake, but they were packed up and gone before 10 PM. Very delicious homemade breakfast, as one would expect from an establishment such as this.

Room Tip: The B&B is set back from the road far enough to be quiet. Any room is great. The bed configuration is noted on their website.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Virginia Cliffe Inn this past weekend. The rooms were comfortable and we were afforded access to restocking closets if needed. It was a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The grounds were incredible and I felt like walking the six acres hourly, but we were kept busy with things to do for our Goddaughter's wedding. This was a beautiful venue for a wedding, so lush and serene. Margaret, the owner, is a precious lady who built this house with her husband on land that the family had owned for years. Margaret is a great cook and the breakfasts that she prepared for us were in no way lacking. She made us her special, family recipe for grits and they were delicious. I am not a grit person but I would eat those daily. Margaret has friends that help her run her home and they were precious too. I recommend this Inn for any travelers who long to experience the south in style. What a perfect place to hold a wedding and I know that my Goddaughter and her sweet husband will have a real chance for a "happily ever after" since they began their life together at The Virginia Cliffe Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 519lovetotravel316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We chose this B&B since it was very close to our niece's home in Glen Allen. She told us it looked beautiful so we booked a couple of nights there. The owner is a lovely Southern lady with impeccable manners. She is very helpful about the areas to visit there.
The grounds are great, just a gorgeous area. The room was nice, with very comfy bedding. I will say that the bathroom was small, with some outdated fixtures, but it was clean and adequate.
My only con to this was there was no shampoo! We had to go buy that, but, no big deal. That would be a great place for a wedding. The owner told us hat weddings have to be booked a year ahead of time. Pretty place.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ExTeach48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The Virginia Cliffe Inn is stunning in its beauty: a recently built stately home that fits romantic visions of Southern plantation living. The location, Glen Allen, is conveniently close to Richmond and the airport via freeways, yet quiet and peaceful. A cultural arts center sits nearby. The Innkeeper made us feel welcome and, since we were the only guests for the two nights, gave us a choice of rooms. They were both lovely; the bed in the one we chose was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and the dining room pleasant.

Given the positive impressions, imagine our surprise when we came back after our first night to a room that hadn't been touched! The bed was unmade, the towels unchanged, the bath uncleaned. That was a first time experience, and we have stayed at many first rate B&Bs and hotels in the U.S. and Europe.

We had to catch an early flight after the second night, and informed our host of that fact. We didn't expect her to be up at the crack of dawn to prepare a full breakfast, nor to adjust the rate. It would have been a gracious gesture if a cold breakfast or snack to take along had been offered, which it wasn't.

We left feeling that we were taken for granted or ignored. We were, after all, paying guests in someone's home. That's why we couldn't rate the Inn "Very Good" or "Excellent." Later we wrote to share our suggestions and received a friendly message thanking us for our feedback. That was professional.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice. Ask about services you expect.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolandGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed at the Virginia Cliffe Inn during a trip to Richmond for a relative's wedding. The Inn has 4 delightful rooms which are decorated to make you feel like you're traveling back in time. The innkeeper is a wonderful woman, Mrs. Clifton, who also lives in the home with some friends who help her keep up the extensive grounds and gardens.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. One morning we were served strawberry topped croissant French toast, eggs, bacon, ham, biscuits, date bread, and fruit. The second morning we were served, waffles with a wonderful blueberry topping, eggs, fruit, bacon and sausage.

The gardens, duck pond, and walkways were beautiful. It certainly looks exactly like it does in the online pictures.

The Inn does host weddings throughout the year, so be prepared for them on the weekends. It didn't affect us because we were out all day, but if you like to go to bed early you may hear the reception from in your room. They like to have things completely quiet by 10pm, though, so it's not as if the noise went well into the night.

Overall, this was a great alternative to staying in a hotel while in the area. The food was great and we certainly felt welcomed. We're sure others would agree with us!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KEI2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews