We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Virginia Cliffe Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Glen Allen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Comfortable B&B not far from downtown Richmond. Beautiful grounds. Comfortable bed. Keurig machine and snacks near all rooms. Breakfast was excellent both days. Especially liked conversing with the inn keepers over breakfast each morning. History of house is fascinating. House is only 44 years old, but models George Washington's home in New York. Decorated with many antiques and conversation pieces. Easy locked entrance provided so we could come and go on our own time schedule. Also appreciated inn keeper's attention to possible food allergies..

Room Tip: All four rooms are on second level, accessed by fairly steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2014

Home and grounds are beautiful ! Also, easily reached from Route 295. The charming mother and daughter team (Margaret & Janice Clifton) gave us a tour of the house that husband/dad had built for the family years ago. The son had painted a beautiful scene on the dining room wall, and the ceiling of the entry "ala-Sistine Chapel." Wow. Lots of love and care went into the construction of this home. They were obviously proud of it and opened it to us as if we were dear family friends. A wedding was held there before we arrived, and the reception was in full swing as we checked in. The lawn outside our bedroom window was beautifully decorated and lit for the reception as the sun went down. I thought they might party until late in the night and keep us awake, but they were packed up and gone before 10 PM. Very delicious homemade breakfast, as one would expect from an establishment such as this.

Room Tip: The B&B is set back from the road far enough to be quiet. Any room is great. The bed configura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Denny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Virginia Cliffe Inn this past weekend. The rooms were comfortable and we were afforded access to restocking closets if needed. It was a beautiful Bed and Breakfast. The grounds were incredible and I felt like walking the six acres hourly, but we were kept busy with things to do for our Goddaughter's wedding. This was a beautiful venue for a wedding, so lush and serene. Margaret, the owner, is a precious lady who built this house with her husband on land that the family had owned for years. Margaret is a great cook and the breakfasts that she prepared for us were in no way lacking. She made us her special, family recipe for grits and they were delicious. I am not a grit person but I would eat those daily. Margaret has friends that help her run her home and they were precious too. I recommend this Inn for any travelers who long to experience the south in style. What a perfect place to hold a wedding and I know that my Goddaughter and her sweet husband will have a real chance for a "happily ever after" since they began their life together at The Virginia Cliffe Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 519lovetotravel316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We chose this B&B since it was very close to our niece's home in Glen Allen. She told us it looked beautiful so we booked a couple of nights there. The owner is a lovely Southern lady with impeccable manners. She is very helpful about the areas to visit there.
The grounds are great, just a gorgeous area. The room was nice, with very comfy bedding. I will say that the bathroom was small, with some outdated fixtures, but it was clean and adequate.
My only con to this was there was no shampoo! We had to go buy that, but, no big deal. That would be a great place for a wedding. The owner told us hat weddings have to be booked a year ahead of time. Pretty place.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ExTeach48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The Virginia Cliffe Inn is stunning in its beauty: a recently built stately home that fits romantic visions of Southern plantation living. The location, Glen Allen, is conveniently close to Richmond and the airport via freeways, yet quiet and peaceful. A cultural arts center sits nearby. The Innkeeper made us feel welcome and, since we were the only guests for the two nights, gave us a choice of rooms. They were both lovely; the bed in the one we chose was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was tasty and the dining room pleasant.

Given the positive impressions, imagine our surprise when we came back after our first night to a room that hadn't been touched! The bed was unmade, the towels unchanged, the bath uncleaned. That was a first time experience, and we have stayed at many first rate B&Bs and hotels in the U.S. and Europe.

We had to catch an early flight after the second night, and informed our host of that fact. We didn't expect her to be up at the crack of dawn to prepare a full breakfast, nor to adjust the rate. It would have been a gracious gesture if a cold breakfast or snack to take along had been offered, which it wasn't.

We left feeling that we were taken for granted or ignored. We were, after all, paying guests in someone's home. That's why we couldn't rate the Inn "Very Good" or "Excellent." Later we wrote to share our suggestions and received a friendly message thanking us for our feedback. That was professional.

Room Tip: The rooms are nice. Ask about services you expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolandGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glen Allen hotels
5 km away
Virginia Crossings Hotel & Conference Center, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
4.7 km away
Comfort Suites Glen Allen
Comfort Suites Glen Allen
#10 of 23 in Glen Allen
283 reviews
7.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Richmond Innsbrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Hampton Inn Richmond-West
Hampton Inn Richmond-West
#1 of 23 in Glen Allen
770 reviews
7.7 km away
Richmond Marriott Short Pump
Richmond Marriott Short Pump
#6 of 23 in Glen Allen
193 reviews
8.8 km away
Candlewood Suites Richmond West End Short Pump
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Virginia Cliffe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Virginia Cliffe Inn

Address: 2900 Mountain Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060-2154
Region: United States > Virginia > Glen Allen
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glen Allen
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Virginia Cliffe Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Virginia Cliffe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing