We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A real find!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Venards Lodge

Fully equipped modern kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fully equipped modern kitchen
The Linwood Room, double with ensuite shower room Venards Lodge, as seen from the driveway across the entrance lawn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Fully equipped modern kitchen
The Linwood Room, double with ensuite shower room
Venards Lodge, as seen from the driveway across the entrance lawn
The ensuite bathroom to the Gorley Room
The Gorley Room has a super king bed and ensuite bathroom with shower too
The bright sunny Sitting Room
Welcome Hamper and homemade cake for our guests
Awarded the coveted '5 Star Gold' rating from  Visit England
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
North Gorley, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robyn P
1 review
“A real find!”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Vernards Lodge is an absolute gem. Stunning setting. Enormous and extremely comfortable beds, and the finest lemon drizzle cake we've tasted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Glad the beds and lemon drizzle were to your liking. Thanks for taking the time to do the review, much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful surroundings yet plenty to see & do”
Reviewed 25 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

As a party of 4 adults and 2 children we stayed at Venards Lodge for 5 nights from the 29th August.
We arrived at the lodge much later than originally planned. After a dreadful 9 hour journey from the North West with a 3 year old and poorly 9 month old we were very relieved to arrive. Nadine was there to greet us. We were made to feel very welcome and Nadine even made sure to point out the telephone number for the local doctor should we have needed it for our son.
Due to the longer than anticipated journey it was dark when we arrived at the lodge and we were all feeling a little exhausted. There had been a mix up with our online shopping order earlier in the day which meant we had to travel approx 20 minutes into Bournemouth that evening to collect it. As a word of warning to anyone placing a grocery shopping order with Adsa ensure to put directions in the comments box as the driver had been unable to find the Lodge.
When we woke the next morning we could appreciate how idyllic and beautiful the Lodge was. It was in a beautiful quiet spot with wild donkeys and horses (which my eldest son adored) regularly stopping just outside to graze. We ate our meals together outside each evening enjoying the tranquility. The interior was classic, comfortable and practical. There was everything one may need during their stay e.g. dishwasher, tumbler dryer, an array of kitchen accessories, Sky Tv, children’s games and a computer console etc. The welcome hamper of fresh eggs, jams, spreads, delicious homemade cake and a keepsake spoon was very thoughtful!
There was plenty to see and do in the local area. There is a handy basket full to the brim of local maps and leaflets for local attractions. During our stay we visited Peppa Pig World (the main purpose of our trip), Dorset Donkey Farm, the Bournemouth AirShow and Exbury Gardens & Steam Railway. We were fortunate to have good weather except for one day. Looking through the leaflets provided we decided to visit Dorset Donkey Farm. My son really enjoyed it here. Having originally arrived with the expectation of staying for an hour or two, there was so much to do we ended up staying there all day!
In the handbook Nadine kindly requests that you ask should you wish to look at the horses that are kept in the stables. We knocked one afternoon and Nadine was kind enough to show us around and introduce us to the horses. She also gave my son a bucket of chicken feed. He became quite attached to the chickens which roamed freely around the grounds. They cottoned on very quickly that my son always had food and should the door unlock they came running round the corner very quickly! Nadine was very friendly even knocking on our last morning to take my son to collect some eggs. I came home wondering would I end up having to buy him a chicken!
This was my first ever break away in England (I'm almost ashamed to admit). After many years of continental holidays our stay near the New Forest was a refreshing change and I have promised my son that we shall definitely return to Venards Lodge!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Really hope we can welcome you all back here again, delighted that you had such a lovely stay after your dreadful journey.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucybaili...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, location and host!”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My family including two young children and grandparents really enjoyed our stay here - comfortable accommodation with plenty of room and wonderful location with donkeys, cows and horses strolling past. Nadine looked after us very well with a welcome basket, homemade cake and fresh eggs plus the opportunity to feed the chickens. Couldn't recommend it highly enough! Will try and be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: WIFI comes and goes but that could have been as we were running too much off it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Feb 2015
Thanks so much, really appreciate you taking the time to do the review, many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kylie G
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfect week”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Thank you Nadine and family for a great stress free week at Venards Lodge.
The house was the perfect size for us, especially as we had friends staying with 6 month old twins, plus our own 2 girls!
Everything was done to make our stay in the house as comfortable as possible. Furnishings were of a very high standard, the kitchen was well equipped including the essential nespresso coffee machine and 2 cots and high chairs for the twins!
We loved the Welcome basket, it added a really nice touch and was full of local produce.
We would highly recommend this house to our friends.
Ps our girls adored the chickens that visited on a 'regular basis!'

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general standard of the furnishings.
Liked least: Master bedroom mattress!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Was lovely to welcome you to the New Forest and thanks for the 'comment' on the bed, as we don't sleep in there we don't know what it's like and no-one else has said anything!! New mattress now in place!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed B
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Did not disappoint. A great house in a lovely spot.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A great spot. The house is furnished and kept to a very high standard. Nadine was professional and charming from beginning to end.
We were two families with toddlers and it suited us perfectly. The kids were happy feeding/chasing chickens and looking at passing donkeys. Meanwhile we were more than content with the lovely garden and the BBQ. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2014
Thanks so much, so glad you enjoyed your stay here in the New Forest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing